Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

3 stars
1393 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
26 reviews
Fantastic staff and location

My wife and I had a fantastic experience at the Greenbrier. The hotel is right in the middle of... See full review

  • Matt L80
  • Jun 11, 2013
Vancouver Trip

We were happy to have a kitchen in the room. Whole Foods was just a few blocks away, so we could... See full review

  • David from Calgary
  • Nov 17, 2013
Spacious suites and cozy details equal comfort on trendy Robson Street

Recently renovated rooms in the mostly-suite Greenbrier Hotel are large and comfortable with modern d├ęcor and amenities to make travelers feel at home. With the trendiest boutiques and hippest restaurants lining the street, guests can spend the day shopping and sampling world cuisine without ever stepping into a cab. The on-site spa keeps guests close to the Greenbrier, with a variety of in-room treatments available. Of course, Vancouver presents hundreds of reasons to venture out and many are only minutes from the Greenbrier's central location.

 

Highlights
  • Excellent location on trendy Robson Street
  • Spacious, newly redecorated suites
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

 

Rooms

Guestrooms and suites at the Greenbrier Hotel are generously sized and most include kitchenettes, separate sitting areas and large bathrooms. All guestrooms and suites have a flat-screen TV, pillow-top mattress and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Guests are also invited to enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon coffee and tea service. Club suites have spectacular views of Coal Harbor.

 

Features

Robson Street is undoubtedly Vancouver's most famous district, offering incredible shopping, dining and cultural points of interest. Guests of the Greenbrier Hotel stay in the midst of this trendy district and within walking distance to haute boutiques, creative culinary delights and exciting nightlife. But venturing out further couldn't be easier with Vancouver's convenient and well-run transit system. Hop on the skytrain and be across town in minutes. Forested urban parks, beaches on the bay, historic neighborhoods and iconic landmarks are all easily accessed from this excellent, central location. And after a day of exploring the city, guests appreciate home-like comforts in these tasteful suites. To really kick back, make an appointment for an en-suite massage, watch a movie on the large flat-screen TV or connect via complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Transportation
  • Skytrain, Burrard Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Vancouver International Airport (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (in the same block)
  • Stanley Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Queen Elizabeth Theatre (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • English Bay beaches (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Grouse Mountain (7.3 mi/11.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access

 

Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Deluxe room featuring either a queen bed or 2 double beds 32 LCD HDTV, coffee/tea, private bath/shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer.
EXECUTIVE - SUITE
Beautiful suite most with separate bedrooms, featuring a large living room, 32 LCD HDTV, coffee/tea, microwave, large refrigirator, dinning room, convertible sofa, private bath/shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer.
SUPERIOR - SUITE
Beautiful suite most with separate bedrooms, featuring a large living room, 32 LCD HDTV, coffee/tea, microwave, large refrigirator, dinning room, convertible sofa, private bath/shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and wonderful city views.
CLUB - SUITE
Beautiful suite with separate bedrooms and one queen bed, featuring a large living room, 32 LCD HDTV, coffee/tea, microwave, large refrigirator, dinning room, convertible sofa, private bath/shower, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, upgraded bath amenities, velour deluxe bathrobes, slippers, turndown service, room service on request and either Harbour or city views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

49.2879 -123.1298
Area served
Vancouver
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport.
Area description
On Robson Street in the heart of Vancouver.

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ottawa Senators
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Jun 13, 2011

Do not go- very poor amenities & service

We were upgraded to deluxe suite, however to our horror the room was dated, no AC, facing the street and very noisy, shower was a trickle of cold water and no microwave, utensils or silverware in the attached kitchenette.If this is not convincing enough, other reasons not to go include no elevators & no bell boys(we had to haul our luggage to 3rd floor ourselves), people do not answer the phone, you get dried quarters of bagel for breakfast and horrible coffee. Avoid at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson street and Burrard street have tons of restaurents to meet every taste and budget.

Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ottawa Senators
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Jun 13, 2011

Do not go- very poor amenities & service

We were upgraded to deluxe suite, however to our horror the room was dated, no AC, facing the street and very noisy, shower was a trickle of cold water and no microwave, utensils or silverware in the attached kitchenette.If this is not convincing enough, other reasons not to go include no elevators & no bell boys(we had to haul our luggage to 3rd floor ourselves), people do not answer the phone, you get dried quarters of bagel for breakfast and horrible coffee. Avoid at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson street and Burrard street have tons of restaurents to meet every taste and budget.

Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 3, 2011

Sad Stay at the Greenbrier

Problem #1 - Immediately upon arriving, lobby was stuffy, carpet was very worn with cigarette burn marks. Problem #2 - Room was exceptionally hot - only way to control air temperature was to open or close the window. Problem #3 - No food Only good thing was the sheets were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 3, 2011

Sad Stay at the Greenbrier

Problem #1 - Immediately upon arriving, lobby was stuffy, carpet was very worn with cigarette burn marks. Problem #2 - Room was exceptionally hot - only way to control air temperature was to open or close the window. Problem #3 - No food Only good thing was the sheets were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland OR
Apr 25, 2010

No Frills

Clean room but right next to reception. No coffee making facilities in room. Offered free continental breakfast but not worth staying in for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland OR
Apr 25, 2010

No Frills

Clean room but right next to reception. No coffee making facilities in room. Offered free continental breakfast but not worth staying in for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
agentspex
Seattle, WA
Feb 12, 2014

minimally decent

If you are looking for a clean place JUST to sleep and shower, than this is your hotel. They missed my wake-call by 25 minutes causing me to frantically get ready but thank God I didn't have a flight to catch. Be sure to stay on the higher floors--I got placed on the first floor and the power went out and in the middle of the night when I was sleeping the staff had to come in my room for to switch the pilot light to back on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Get way driver
Sebastopol, CA, USA
Jul 22, 2012

Basic service, great location, no elevator

We were looking for a relative inexpensive hotel for a family on a budget. The Greenbriar meet those needs, but it is not the hotel for people looking for pampering. The major drawback to the hotel is the lack of air conditioning. We were in Vancouver during a hot spell and you had to have the windows open or roast. Unfortunately Robson street is pretty noisy until after midnight. The Greenbriar also does not have an elevator, so you have to lug your luggage up a couple of flights of stairs. The suite served very well for three (two adults and a child) and we cooked many of our meals. The full-size refrigerator was very handy and there are grocery stores a couple blocks away on Robson St. However, the provided dishes were rudimentary so it was fortunate that we had brought some with us. We had a car with us and paid the extra $20 per day for parking. There is no street parking in the neighborhood and the local public garage closed at night, so plan on paying for parking if you have a car. In summary- if you have ear plugs and you're looking for a relatively inexpensive apartment-like acommodations then the Greenbriar is for you. If you're traveling with someone who is disabled or are looking for a full-service modern hotel, the Greenbriar is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Musick Chick
Dallas, TX
May 12, 2010

Good location

We chose a hotel to fit our "recession honeymoon" and this was beyond a great match! When we arrived, the staff was immediately helpful and upgraded us to a suite. A suite consists of a living area and kitchenette, however, our room had no microwave. This is not a big deal if you are staying a short time. It was great to have the fridge though - because you are by a TON of restaurants on Robson Street and will have leftovers. In addition to the restaurants, you have every shop you need at your fingertips. Don't worry if you forget anything while packing...you can get it within a 5 minute walk. Also, if you are a tourist, the Big Bus company has a bus stop across the street. For $37 you can loop the city and get off whereever you need for 2 days. We could also walk to beautiful Stanley park. We also chose to go to the grocery store for snacks and drinks to save money. Location, location, location! The hotel is clean, they provide lock boxes, there is parking under the building, they provide robes and the rooms are cleaned daily (if you wish) by their very nice staff. I have stayed in Vancouver before at the Sheraton Wall Centre...it is a nice hotel, but again, I enjoyed the location of the Greenbriar. This is where you want to stay if your goal is good service, clean rooms and the ability to get to the sites quickly and safely - all while staying budget concious! We enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Safeway or Capers and get your breakfast, snacks and drinks to save money. You can even go to the liquor store nearby and have your own happy hour in your room. This way you can spend your money on shopping, renting a car to see Grouse or Whistler, or any forms of entertainment!

Review of Greenbrier Hotel Vancouver

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Musick Chick
Dallas, TX
May 12, 2010

Good location

We chose a hotel to fit our "recession honeymoon" and this was beyond a great match! When we arrived, the staff was immediately helpful and upgraded us to a suite. A suite consists of a living area and kitchenette, however, our room had no microwave. This is not a big deal if you are staying a short time. It was great to have the fridge though - because you are by a TON of restaurants on Robson Street and will have leftovers. In addition to the restaurants, you have every shop you need at your fingertips. Don't worry if you forget anything while packing...you can get it within a 5 minute walk. Also, if you are a tourist, the Big Bus company has a bus stop across the street. For $37 you can loop the city and get off whereever you need for 2 days. We could also walk to beautiful Stanley park. We also chose to go to the grocery store for snacks and drinks to save money. Location, location, location! The hotel is clean, they provide lock boxes, there is parking under the building, they provide robes and the rooms are cleaned daily (if you wish) by their very nice staff. I have stayed in Vancouver before at the Sheraton Wall Centre...it is a nice hotel, but again, I enjoyed the location of the Greenbriar. This is where you want to stay if your goal is good service, clean rooms and the ability to get to the sites quickly and safely - all while staying budget concious! We enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Safeway or Capers and get your breakfast, snacks and drinks to save money. You can even go to the liquor store nearby and have your own happy hour in your room. This way you can spend your money on shopping, renting a car to see Grouse or Whistler, or any forms of entertainment!

Back to menu Return to top