$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Empire Landmark Hotel

3 stars
1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1B9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
149 reviews
Great location!

It's not fancy. But a great value for the price. Great location. See full review

  • Regis C
  • Jun 13, 2014
CAN'T THANK THE MANAGER ENOUGH

On our first day my friend that I was travelling with fell and broke his hip ice skating. We had to... See full review

  • gene the dream
  • May 4, 2014
Luxury accommodations and dining go to new heights in downtown tower

See Vancouver from a new perspective at this downtown tower hotel. All rooms have private balconies with stunning unobstructed views, but the panoramic city, mountain, and ocean vistas from the revolving Cloud 9 restaurant are truly breathtaking. Guests can also see the city up close with all of the best attractions right around the corner from the Empire Landmark Hotel. In addition, a well-equipped business center means that those who need to get some work done are as well-served as their leisure-travel counterparts.

Highlights
  • Award-winning, revolving Cloud 9 restaurant on-site
  • Fantastic West End location
  • Exclusive shopping discounts available to guests
Location

Robson Street, with trendy boutiques, fine and causal dining, and art galleries, is just beyond the hotel doors. Not much further than that, guests can enjoy a day at Stanley Park, a game at BC Place, or a special event at Canada Place. Jump on the nearby skytrain for an easy commute to venues beyond walking distance.

Rooms

Spacious guest rooms and suites are tastefully decorated in warm colors and with classic furnishings at the Empire Landmark Hotel. All accommodations include flat-screen TVs, mini-refrigerators, complimentary coffee and tea, high-quality linens and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Executive and bi-level suites also include a wet bar and superior views from private balconies. Bi-level suites have two bathrooms.

Features

Guest rooms and suites are equally well appointed with modern amenities and luxurious details. Successful business trips are almost guaranteed with the well-equipped Business Centre and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). In addition, the meeting space, which accommodates up to 350 people, boasts gorgeous views.

Dining

The view from the Empire Landmark Hotel' award-winning revolving Cloud 9 Restaurant is phenomenal. When paired with the fantastic seasonal menu, it's a recipe for a perfect, romantic or business dinner.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9.2 mi/ 14.8 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard Station (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (on the same block)
  • Stanley Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Vancouver Aquarium (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Granville Island (3 mi/ 5 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (4.5 mi/ 8 km)
Business
  • Business Centre
  • Over 13,500 square feet of meeting space available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • The Empire Landmark Hotel no longer allows pets.
  • There will be power interruptions on 7-8 February 2013 from 11PM to 7AM due to electrical system improvements. A backup generator will be provided for the elevator and backup lights.
  • Discover card and Dinners Club International are no longer accepted at this hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

49.288 -123.1308
Area served
We are conveniently on the trendy Robson Street in downtown Vancouver. Dining and shopping are right at your doorsteps; whereas major attractions such as Stanley Park & Vancouver Art Gallery are within a 15 - 20 minute stroll.
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport.
Area description
Location is the key to this downtown Vancouver hotel. Everything you need is just a step outside the doors. Shop along trendy Robson Street and utilize our exclusive SHOP & STAY discounts offered to our guests from 70+ retail stores, enjoying the numerous choices of international cuisine the city has to offer, visit the major tourist attractions such as Stanley Park, English Bay, Gastown and Chinatown. Relax at a nearby day spa or enjoy a latte at a sidewalk cafe in the vibrant downtown neighborhood of the West End in Vancouver.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Empire Landmark Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Empire Landmark Hotel Rooms

Standard
Room offers a queen bed or a king bed or two twin bed with amenities like Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access w/ charge, Iron / Ironing board subject to availability, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voicemail, Coin-operated Washers/Dryers on 22nd floor.
Deluxe Room
Room offers two double bed with amenities like Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access w/ charge, Iron / Ironing board subject to request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voicemail, Coin-operated Washers/Dryers on 22nd floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Cloud 9 Revolving Restaurant
The Cloud 9 Revolving Restaurant is set 42 stories above; enjoy the panoramic views of the City of Vancouver as you revolve 360 degrees. The Executive Chef will tempt and delight you with his award-winning internationally inspired Pacific Northwest Cuisine. Elevate your senses at C9 Live Lounge with the lofty cool drinks every night and soaring live entertainment every Friday & Saturday evening.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We can arrange for a meeting of 5 people to a conference of 300 people, with over 13,500 square footage of flexible meeting space. Meeting package available for full day meeting of 30 people or more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Empire Landmark Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 149
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Darron M
Washington
Apr 4, 2014

Ok for a night

The room was good for the price, but the lack of air condition control made it very warn with no option. The exterior of the room could also use a cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Print maps/directions of destinations beforehand (unless you have navigation ) to reduce travel stress.

Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington state
Dec 29, 2013

Empire Landmark Hotel

Right from the get-go, computer system had me down for 3 rooms, suppose to be 2 rooms. Charged the wrong room for the parking fee. Room was run down, noisy, free wi-fi was a joke. Extreme difficulty maintaining a connection. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cassiechen
Edmonton
Dec 23, 2013

perfect location

Great place and great value to stay for several days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A and K travelers
Port Townsend WA
Sep 2, 2013

Lacks comfort

The location of the hotel is great but the rooms lack comfort. The bed was terrible and the condition of the bathroom was very worn. It needs to be upgraded and cleaned up. Surprisingly you still have to ask for a code for Internet access. The parking is odd too. The staff were nice and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Stanley Park and the wonderful sea wall which is a beautiful walk.

Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fpalmer321
Charleston, WV
Aug 21, 2013

Great views

Our room had a nice view of the harbor area. Desk service was a bit slow, and our room was not ready when we arrived. The location is good. The Robson Market and coffee shops were nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Robson Market has reasonable Asian food

Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MillDA
Seattle
Mar 3, 2013

Nice location

This hotel is located right by downtown vancouver. For those who love to walk around, this is a perfect location. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Security is pretty firm. Parking is a little expensive, but no better alternative nearby. The room, though smelling old was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around the marine bay, walking trail, and lots of site funn

Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kress
Maine
Dec 2, 2012

Great View, good location, nice restaurant!

Vancouver Empire Landmark Hotel Our Basic info: Family of 4, stayed in Nov 2012, somewhat off-season, I believe. Just here to hang out in Vancouver for a couple of days. Why Stay Here? The view, good location. The Good: The view from the upper floors is great! We stayed on the 35th floor, gorgeous view of the water and the city. Good location, a few blocks from the pier, plenty of food and shops within walking distance on Robson. Our room was very spacious, 2 beds, a little tv/sitting room, small sink/kitchenette with a fridge and a decent sized closet. Some may not consider this a positive, but the alarm clock in our room was straight out of 1982, big buttons, full of win… Delicious restaurant on the top floor, rotating style where you get a full rotation every 80 minutes. The restaurant is fine dining and is priced accordingly high. I saw a limited-time deal where if you eat a meal in the restaurant, you could get a cheaper room rate. That may be worthwhile, but we had booked and paid in advance, so I didn't pursue it. Maybe good to remember if you plan on eating there anyway and you're looking for a place to stay. The front desk and housekeeping personnel were VERY helpful to us, though, when we forgot an item after checking out. We drove back, and I spoke with the front desk and they were very quick to help us out. Found our item and sped us on our way within 10 minutes or so. Very positive experience. Nice RFID room keys, elevators only ascend to guest floors if you have a room key and swipe it, nice security feature. The Bad: Some adjectives that come to mind to describe the room itself: drab, old, 70's, out of date. Small elevators. Parking garage elevator is somewhat complicated if you have a stroller or rolling luggage - not all entrances to the central elevator area are stroller accessible, so either you have to carry the stroller up a few stairs, or find another way. Not a huge problem, and likely typical of hotels in the area. The service was mixed. Checking into the hotel, I walked in and had trouble even finding an individual to assist me. The reception desk is hiding behind a wall separating the main lobby from the reception desk. Funny thing is there were NO employees anywhere except for that hidden reception desk… it was a bit disconcerting at first, but again, we came in the "off season," which may explain that. The Ugly: Why Avoid This place? Everything was pretty good overall, can't think of anything that would keep us away. For the price, we found it to be a pleasant place to stay. The beds were not very comfortable, and the room didn't give us a modern/clean feeling, if that's a priority to you, but it was ok overall. The Bed: Stiff, hard springs, older, not very comfortable. The Bathroom: Medium sized. Not enough space for 2, but the kitchenette area made it ok for getting ready in the mornings and such. The View: Awesome. Higher floors have a great view of the area. Good for Family? (We travel now with 2 adults and 2 kids under 6) Spacious room, which was nice. No problems for family here. Modern Electronics? Plenty of exposed electric outlets to charge our gadgets, although they weren't placed in overly convenient places. Not great, but not bad. Flat-panel TV from 2001 or so, and an alarm clock from the 70's or 80's. Interesting juxtaposition, we only used the TV to entertain the kids some. It is placed rather distant from the beds, so not great for laying down and watching a show, if you were inclined to do that… although there's so much more to do in Vancouver, I don't imagine this is a big issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The waterfront is about 4 blocks away, fun walk and some good food.

Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCH1
Canton, Connecticut
Jul 21, 2012

Awesome end to a West Coast Tour

I randomly chose the Empire Landmark Hotel...mainly based on location and price. I wasn't sure what to expect, and because I was traveling with my mother and two daughters, I was hoping for the best. We were all very happy with the hotel. The staff was very accomodating, the room was spotless, the location was perfect, and the view from our room was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lotus
Los Angeles, California
May 16, 2012

Good location

The location is very convenient (about 1/2 mile to down town). Get out on the street, we have access to different main streets of Vancouver with many good restaurants, coffee shops and shopping stores. People are friendly, the streets are safe and transportation is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the walking distance from this hotel, we can go to fast foods, Asian or French restaurants.

Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shmoogerfu
Kirkland, WA
Jul 28, 2011

Not so great

Don't be fooled by the pictures, this hotel is run down and uncomfortable. The check in and out process is so slow, over 15 minute wait in line. Then there is the garage and the hallway/elevator to the lobby, not well kept to say the least. We were booked into a room on the 7th floor, in one word...SCARY. I complained and was bumped to the 19th floor, which was about 15% improvement in cleanliness. During our stay we rode the elevator to the higher floors noticing that they barely improved as you went up (in price). The location was ok if you have transportation to get around the city; this is at the end of town which is old and run down. I recommend to stay somewhere closer to downtown core.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top