$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Empire Landmark Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1B9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Empire Landmark Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MillDA
Business
Seattle
Mar 3, 2013

Nice location

This hotel is located right by downtown vancouver. For those who love to walk around, this is a perfect location. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Security is pretty firm. Parking is a little expensive, but no better alternative nearby. The room, though smelling old was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around the marine bay, walking trail, and lots of site funn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard of Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 4, 2013

reasonably good stay

Front desk clerks are very friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable in such an expensive area as west end Vancouver. The bed sheets are clean. But the room needs a renovation, since everything is functional but looks very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keep On Flying
Business
Vancouver
Jun 26, 2013

Not a bad deal

Good location with lots of restaurant choices around the hotel. The hotel needs a facelift. The rooms are old. The balconies need a new coat of paint. No complimentary breakfast. It was nice of the hotel to give me a high floor with a great view of Stanley Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maruko Japanese Noodle House across the hotel. Great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeontheRoad
Business
St. Louis
Jul 16, 2013

Probably a Shadow of Its Former Self

Billed as one of the city's premiere hotels, The Empire Landmark just isn't. It's location is fantastic, and I imagine that all rooms have as stunning a view as ours did. However, the building isn't in great condition and the staff was only intermittently helpful. Upon check in, I was asked to confirm several times that I and my travel companion did want one bed and not two beds - which rubbed me the wrong way from the start. Upon check out, I waited a solid twenty minutes for a front desk clerk to be available, with a line of folks ahead of me who each had a problem requiring lengthy conversation with the clerk. Further, the hotel's rotating restaurant on the top floor is billed as one of it's greatest selling points. A breakfast buffet (whose price was simply never given in advance) was offered to hotel guests in the rotating restaurant. The bacon was soggy, the eggs were runny, and juice was watered down at the buffet -- and the restaurant wasn't rotating that morning... all for $18 per person plus tax. However, the views and the balconies that come with each room almost make up for these other problems - just don't go in with high expectations or they probably won't be met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stanley Park is magnificent, but rent a bicycle to get around if you want to see most of it, as it's quite large and the shuttle within the park has been discontinued, so the only "hop on" / "hop off" option is close to $40 per person and covers the entire city instead of just the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJSEA
Business
USA
Aug 20, 2013

Overall good experience

I'm the type of traveler who just wants a decent place to sleep at night. I don't care for all the extra stuff. I'm going to be out and about the whole day. Empire Landmark Hotel fit the bill and is set in a good location, close to lots of dining options, which is one of the main reasons I like to travel. Some things I personally feel they could improve upon is to offer complimentary parking for guests (it's $15CAD/night), and complimentary wireless internet (it costs money, but I don't remember how much). Overall, these weren't total deal breakers for me. The internet would have been nice to look up addresses and directions to places, and having to pay for that type of low level access is pretty inconvenient. Staff was friendly but I didn't have a need to talk to them that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mobile Bodywork
Business
Hawaii
Aug 19, 2013

it was just good enough

I went for my conference and I needed the hotel has good enough workout room, but the machine was old and not maintained. it was not safe condition. no free weights. Disappointed... no towels in the workout room either. you need to bring your own from the room. i would expect better facility than that, if it is listed good stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A and K travelers
Business
Port Townsend WA
Sep 2, 2013

Lacks comfort

The location of the hotel is great but the rooms lack comfort. The bed was terrible and the condition of the bathroom was very worn. It needs to be upgraded and cleaned up. Surprisingly you still have to ask for a code for Internet access. The parking is odd too. The staff were nice and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Stanley Park and the wonderful sea wall which is a beautiful walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pdxguy2
Business
Portland, Oregon
Oct 2, 2013

Okay for short stay

I think the hotel has seen better days and probably was nicer many years ago. Everything was very dated; the walls are thin; the coffee maker didn't work. If you just want a place to stay and don't spend much time in the room, it was fine -- but it is quite off the beaten track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shubba
Business
Seattle, WA
May 27, 2014

Stay over

Friendly staff greeted us on arrival, and we were happy to learn that our rooms were upgraded. Convenient location is ideally located on Robson, and many places are easily walkable. 24 hour parking is reasonably priced. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tanmanjt
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jun 8, 2014

2 star hotel in a great area

My wife and I just got back from 4 nights in Vancouver at The Empire Landmark. We wanted to stay on Robson Street but wanted to keep the room budget low so we stayed at the Landmark. There is absolutely nothing special about this hotel. It was built in 70's and it looks and feels like it was built in the 70's. The standard rooms are tiny, much smaller then modern hotels rooms. The beds are terrible and hard as a rock. We had to call the front desk and complain, and they brought a mattress pillow topper up, which made the bed better. The air conditioner did not work. So we complained and they sent the maintainence man up who fixed it fairly quick. The bathrooms are very small. Not enough counter space to put your toiletries on, especially if you are a woman. Constantly dropping toiletries on the floor. The shower was nice. Good water pressure. Overall, if you plan on being out in Vancouver the whole day, and just need a place to crash in the heart of the city, this is the place due to its price. If you plan on spending more time in the room and hotel, beware. There are no amenities other the view and balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top