$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Empire Landmark Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1B9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Empire Landmark Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryouta
Boulder CO
Nov 25, 2011

Great View

I stayed on 31th floor, so i could see the magnificent view. In addition to this, the amenities made me comfortable. The room keeps clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you enjoy shopping, you have to use the bus to go around the shopping area because it's so wide, or you may be lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
garrich
Business
phoenix, Arizona
Feb 20, 2012

Great couple getaway

Excellant views, walking to city shops and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lotus
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 16, 2012

Good location

The location is very convenient (about 1/2 mile to down town). Get out on the street, we have access to different main streets of Vancouver with many good restaurants, coffee shops and shopping stores. People are friendly, the streets are safe and transportation is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At the walking distance from this hotel, we can go to fast foods, Asian or French restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shubba
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 13, 2012

Weekend in Vancouver

The hotel is located on Robson, providing great accessibility to the main shopping areas. It is also very close to Stanley Park, which is very appealing. Loved the location and its convenience Hotel is rated at 3 stars, and that's about right for it. The rooms were reasonably clean, but definitely not great for the $. It seemed the hotel was overpriced. But it was ok enough to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlJir
Business
Sarasota, FL
Sep 15, 2012

Well Located

The hotel is in a hopping Asian district and it's pretty easy to walk downtown from it. You have to enjoy walking though, but that's true for Vancouver in general. Fortunately everything is beautiful to look at and there are great shops along the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the bar on the 42nd floor---the views are amazing and the drinks really aren't that expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Passenger fm MD
Business
Maryland
Oct 11, 2012

Fun Visit

I was very happy about the location of the hotel. Everything within walking distance including a niice park by the water for walking. Room was clean and provide enough necessaties. Hotel is bit old but they have tried to please their customer. Good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many types of asian food available right around the corner. Inside of the grocery store "Whole Foods" has very healthy take out food available just 3 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kress
Business
Maine
Dec 2, 2012

Great View, good location, nice restaurant!

Vancouver Empire Landmark Hotel Our Basic info: Family of 4, stayed in Nov 2012, somewhat off-season, I believe. Just here to hang out in Vancouver for a couple of days. Why Stay Here? The view, good location. The Good: The view from the upper floors is great! We stayed on the 35th floor, gorgeous view of the water and the city. Good location, a few blocks from the pier, plenty of food and shops within walking distance on Robson. Our room was very spacious, 2 beds, a little tv/sitting room, small sink/kitchenette with a fridge and a decent sized closet. Some may not consider this a positive, but the alarm clock in our room was straight out of 1982, big buttons, full of win… Delicious restaurant on the top floor, rotating style where you get a full rotation every 80 minutes. The restaurant is fine dining and is priced accordingly high. I saw a limited-time deal where if you eat a meal in the restaurant, you could get a cheaper room rate. That may be worthwhile, but we had booked and paid in advance, so I didn't pursue it. Maybe good to remember if you plan on eating there anyway and you're looking for a place to stay. The front desk and housekeeping personnel were VERY helpful to us, though, when we forgot an item after checking out. We drove back, and I spoke with the front desk and they were very quick to help us out. Found our item and sped us on our way within 10 minutes or so. Very positive experience. Nice RFID room keys, elevators only ascend to guest floors if you have a room key and swipe it, nice security feature. The Bad: Some adjectives that come to mind to describe the room itself: drab, old, 70's, out of date. Small elevators. Parking garage elevator is somewhat complicated if you have a stroller or rolling luggage - not all entrances to the central elevator area are stroller accessible, so either you have to carry the stroller up a few stairs, or find another way. Not a huge problem, and likely typical of hotels in the area. The service was mixed. Checking into the hotel, I walked in and had trouble even finding an individual to assist me. The reception desk is hiding behind a wall separating the main lobby from the reception desk. Funny thing is there were NO employees anywhere except for that hidden reception desk… it was a bit disconcerting at first, but again, we came in the "off season," which may explain that. The Ugly: Why Avoid This place? Everything was pretty good overall, can't think of anything that would keep us away. For the price, we found it to be a pleasant place to stay. The beds were not very comfortable, and the room didn't give us a modern/clean feeling, if that's a priority to you, but it was ok overall. The Bed: Stiff, hard springs, older, not very comfortable. The Bathroom: Medium sized. Not enough space for 2, but the kitchenette area made it ok for getting ready in the mornings and such. The View: Awesome. Higher floors have a great view of the area. Good for Family? (We travel now with 2 adults and 2 kids under 6) Spacious room, which was nice. No problems for family here. Modern Electronics? Plenty of exposed electric outlets to charge our gadgets, although they weren't placed in overly convenient places. Not great, but not bad. Flat-panel TV from 2001 or so, and an alarm clock from the 70's or 80's. Interesting juxtaposition, we only used the TV to entertain the kids some. It is placed rather distant from the beds, so not great for laying down and watching a show, if you were inclined to do that… although there's so much more to do in Vancouver, I don't imagine this is a big issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The waterfront is about 4 blocks away, fun walk and some good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sohale
Business
Los Angels, California
Dec 10, 2012

Great Location, Ok Hotel

Older building, great views, in room wifi would not work, had to sit in lobby. Other than that location is great and gets the job done for a business trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim trip
Business
Yonkers, NY
Dec 31, 2012

Jim's trip

Hotel was nice but the rooms could use an upgrade. The view was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bens993
Business
San Marcos CA
Jan 31, 2013

run down rooms

im from states so i am not sure if i am making a fair comparison. Reviews said it was newly renovated. Maybe the lobby but not the rooms. Beds were sagging and although room was clean they could use new carpet and fresh paint. It was a good value..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casual Traveler Marc
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 4, 2013

Good budget, Low Amenities

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a little weekend trip. Based on other reviews I thought it would be a good central place to stay. Since we traveled in the winter the price was pretty low and there was not as much to do around the hotel. It is right on the main street with some shops near by. We parked our car in the parking garage and took the elevator to our room. When we checked out of the hotel we tried taking the stairs to our car but there is a lack of labeling to indicate a floor or which way to parking versus the lobby. The room had an okay bed and bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy. It had a good size HD tv but the room did not include Wifi internet (additional price). I was a little disappointed at that. There is a internet cafe across the street. For amenities it has a cool revolving top floor restaurant and bar. On a clear day there is probably a great view of the city. Unfortunately, it was foggy when we were there. Also the hotel has a fair workout room. If I had to choose though I would rather have a spa/hot tub over a workout room. Overall this hotel is good for the price and in the summer is probably a little more fun. Along with the rest of the city. It is pretty central to the city and is brief walk or easy taxi or car ride to many of the downtown shopping or attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top