$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Empire Landmark Hotel

3 stars
1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1B9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
134 reviews
Great location!

It's not fancy. But a great value for the price. Great location. See full review

  • Regis C
  • Jun 13, 2014
CAN'T THANK THE MANAGER ENOUGH

On our first day my friend that I was travelling with fell and broke his hip ice skating. We had to... See full review

  • gene the dream
  • May 4, 2014
Luxury accommodations and dining go to new heights in downtown tower

See Vancouver from a new perspective at this downtown tower hotel. All rooms have private balconies with stunning unobstructed views, but the panoramic city, mountain, and ocean vistas from the revolving Cloud 9 restaurant are truly breathtaking. Guests can also see the city up close with all of the best attractions right around the corner from the Empire Landmark Hotel. In addition, a well-equipped business center means that those who need to get some work done are as well-served as their leisure-travel counterparts.

Highlights
  • Award-winning, revolving Cloud 9 restaurant on-site
  • Fantastic West End location
  • Exclusive shopping discounts available to guests
Location

Robson Street, with trendy boutiques, fine and causal dining, and art galleries, is just beyond the hotel doors. Not much further than that, guests can enjoy a day at Stanley Park, a game at BC Place, or a special event at Canada Place. Jump on the nearby skytrain for an easy commute to venues beyond walking distance.

Rooms

Spacious guest rooms and suites are tastefully decorated in warm colors and with classic furnishings at the Empire Landmark Hotel. All accommodations include flat-screen TVs, mini-refrigerators, complimentary coffee and tea, high-quality linens and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Executive and bi-level suites also include a wet bar and superior views from private balconies. Bi-level suites have two bathrooms.

Features

Guest rooms and suites are equally well appointed with modern amenities and luxurious details. Successful business trips are almost guaranteed with the well-equipped Business Centre and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). In addition, the meeting space, which accommodates up to 350 people, boasts gorgeous views.

Dining

The view from the Empire Landmark Hotel' award-winning revolving Cloud 9 Restaurant is phenomenal. When paired with the fantastic seasonal menu, it's a recipe for a perfect, romantic or business dinner.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9.2 mi/ 14.8 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard Station (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (on the same block)
  • Stanley Park (0.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Vancouver Aquarium (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Granville Island (3 mi/ 5 km)
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge (4.5 mi/ 8 km)
Business
  • Business Centre
  • Over 13,500 square feet of meeting space available
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • The Empire Landmark Hotel no longer allows pets.
  • There will be power interruptions on 7-8 February 2013 from 11PM to 7AM due to electrical system improvements. A backup generator will be provided for the elevator and backup lights.
  • Discover card and Dinners Club International are no longer accepted at this hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

49.288 -123.1308
Area served
We are conveniently on the trendy Robson Street in downtown Vancouver. Dining and shopping are right at your doorsteps; whereas major attractions such as Stanley Park & Vancouver Art Gallery are within a 15 - 20 minute stroll.
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport.
Area description
Location is the key to this downtown Vancouver hotel. Everything you need is just a step outside the doors. Shop along trendy Robson Street and utilize our exclusive SHOP & STAY discounts offered to our guests from 70+ retail stores, enjoying the numerous choices of international cuisine the city has to offer, visit the major tourist attractions such as Stanley Park, English Bay, Gastown and Chinatown. Relax at a nearby day spa or enjoy a latte at a sidewalk cafe in the vibrant downtown neighborhood of the West End in Vancouver.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Empire Landmark Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Empire Landmark Hotel Rooms

Standard
Room offers a queen bed or a king bed or two twin bed with amenities like Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access w/ charge, Iron / Ironing board subject to availability, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voicemail, Coin-operated Washers/Dryers on 22nd floor.
Deluxe Room
Room offers two double bed with amenities like Air conditioning , Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access w/ charge, Iron / Ironing board subject to request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Radio, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Voicemail, Coin-operated Washers/Dryers on 22nd floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.9 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.2 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.2 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We can arrange for a meeting of 5 people to a conference of 300 people, with over 13,500 square footage of flexible meeting space. Meeting package available for full day meeting of 30 people or more.

Dining

Cloud 9 Revolving Restaurant
The Cloud 9 Revolving Restaurant is set 42 stories above; enjoy the panoramic views of the City of Vancouver as you revolve 360 degrees. The Executive Chef will tempt and delight you with his award-winning internationally inspired Pacific Northwest Cuisine. Elevate your senses at C9 Live Lounge with the lofty cool drinks every night and soaring live entertainment every Friday & Saturday evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Empire Landmark Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryouta
Boulder CO
Nov 25, 2011

Great View

I stayed on 31th floor, so i could see the magnificent view. In addition to this, the amenities made me comfortable. The room keeps clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you enjoy shopping, you have to use the bus to go around the shopping area because it's so wide, or you may be lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim trip
Yonkers, NY
Dec 31, 2012

Jim's trip

Hotel was nice but the rooms could use an upgrade. The view was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winn Winn
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Its Okay

-Amazing view of Vancouver. -Rooms are decent. Beds were nice, but carpet was old. This hotel needs to be renovated. -Staff was rude, there was no sense of urgency. -There is a $15.00 charge for parking when you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bens993
Business
San Marcos CA
Jan 31, 2013

run down rooms

im from states so i am not sure if i am making a fair comparison. Reviews said it was newly renovated. Maybe the lobby but not the rooms. Beds were sagging and although room was clean they could use new carpet and fresh paint. It was a good value..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, WA
Oct 29, 2009

Great beds...Lots of add on prices

The rooms were well kept, the beds were very comfortable and had wonderful linens, and the view from the 33rd floor was nice. But, we were only able to get a room with 2 twin beds. And there were a lot of extra charges for things I expect to be part of the room charge. $14 a day for internet? $10 a day for parking? I would come back, but would be very careful in booking early to get a room with only one bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk into Stanley Park from the hotel with very little work. It was a nice way to relax after a long drive from the US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pjotr
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Great Location, Excellent Value

Average hotel in great location at Robson. Room was roomy but outdated; especially the bathroom was showing it;s age. Upper floor rooms have unbeatable views. Bottom line; Room was decent, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeontheRoad
St. Louis
Jul 16, 2013

Probably a Shadow of Its Former Self

Billed as one of the city's premiere hotels, The Empire Landmark just isn't. It's location is fantastic, and I imagine that all rooms have as stunning a view as ours did. However, the building isn't in great condition and the staff was only intermittently helpful. Upon check in, I was asked to confirm several times that I and my travel companion did want one bed and not two beds - which rubbed me the wrong way from the start. Upon check out, I waited a solid twenty minutes for a front desk clerk to be available, with a line of folks ahead of me who each had a problem requiring lengthy conversation with the clerk. Further, the hotel's rotating restaurant on the top floor is billed as one of it's greatest selling points. A breakfast buffet (whose price was simply never given in advance) was offered to hotel guests in the rotating restaurant. The bacon was soggy, the eggs were runny, and juice was watered down at the buffet -- and the restaurant wasn't rotating that morning... all for $18 per person plus tax. However, the views and the balconies that come with each room almost make up for these other problems - just don't go in with high expectations or they probably won't be met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stanley Park is magnificent, but rent a bicycle to get around if you want to see most of it, as it's quite large and the shuttle within the park has been discontinued, so the only "hop on" / "hop off" option is close to $40 per person and covers the entire city instead of just the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 12, 2011

good to stay

it was a good experience in downtown, Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kress
Maine
Dec 2, 2012

Great View, good location, nice restaurant!

Vancouver Empire Landmark Hotel Our Basic info: Family of 4, stayed in Nov 2012, somewhat off-season, I believe. Just here to hang out in Vancouver for a couple of days. Why Stay Here? The view, good location. The Good: The view from the upper floors is great! We stayed on the 35th floor, gorgeous view of the water and the city. Good location, a few blocks from the pier, plenty of food and shops within walking distance on Robson. Our room was very spacious, 2 beds, a little tv/sitting room, small sink/kitchenette with a fridge and a decent sized closet. Some may not consider this a positive, but the alarm clock in our room was straight out of 1982, big buttons, full of win… Delicious restaurant on the top floor, rotating style where you get a full rotation every 80 minutes. The restaurant is fine dining and is priced accordingly high. I saw a limited-time deal where if you eat a meal in the restaurant, you could get a cheaper room rate. That may be worthwhile, but we had booked and paid in advance, so I didn't pursue it. Maybe good to remember if you plan on eating there anyway and you're looking for a place to stay. The front desk and housekeeping personnel were VERY helpful to us, though, when we forgot an item after checking out. We drove back, and I spoke with the front desk and they were very quick to help us out. Found our item and sped us on our way within 10 minutes or so. Very positive experience. Nice RFID room keys, elevators only ascend to guest floors if you have a room key and swipe it, nice security feature. The Bad: Some adjectives that come to mind to describe the room itself: drab, old, 70's, out of date. Small elevators. Parking garage elevator is somewhat complicated if you have a stroller or rolling luggage - not all entrances to the central elevator area are stroller accessible, so either you have to carry the stroller up a few stairs, or find another way. Not a huge problem, and likely typical of hotels in the area. The service was mixed. Checking into the hotel, I walked in and had trouble even finding an individual to assist me. The reception desk is hiding behind a wall separating the main lobby from the reception desk. Funny thing is there were NO employees anywhere except for that hidden reception desk… it was a bit disconcerting at first, but again, we came in the "off season," which may explain that. The Ugly: Why Avoid This place? Everything was pretty good overall, can't think of anything that would keep us away. For the price, we found it to be a pleasant place to stay. The beds were not very comfortable, and the room didn't give us a modern/clean feeling, if that's a priority to you, but it was ok overall. The Bed: Stiff, hard springs, older, not very comfortable. The Bathroom: Medium sized. Not enough space for 2, but the kitchenette area made it ok for getting ready in the mornings and such. The View: Awesome. Higher floors have a great view of the area. Good for Family? (We travel now with 2 adults and 2 kids under 6) Spacious room, which was nice. No problems for family here. Modern Electronics? Plenty of exposed electric outlets to charge our gadgets, although they weren't placed in overly convenient places. Not great, but not bad. Flat-panel TV from 2001 or so, and an alarm clock from the 70's or 80's. Interesting juxtaposition, we only used the TV to entertain the kids some. It is placed rather distant from the beds, so not great for laying down and watching a show, if you were inclined to do that… although there's so much more to do in Vancouver, I don't imagine this is a big issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The waterfront is about 4 blocks away, fun walk and some good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shubba
Seattle, WA
Aug 13, 2012

Weekend in Vancouver

The hotel is located on Robson, providing great accessibility to the main shopping areas. It is also very close to Stanley Park, which is very appealing. Loved the location and its convenience Hotel is rated at 3 stars, and that's about right for it. The rooms were reasonably clean, but definitely not great for the $. It seemed the hotel was overpriced. But it was ok enough to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard of Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 4, 2013

reasonably good stay

Front desk clerks are very friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable in such an expensive area as west end Vancouver. The bed sheets are clean. But the room needs a renovation, since everything is functional but looks very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search