$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Empire Landmark Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1400 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1B9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Empire Landmark Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fpalmer321
Business
Charleston, WV
Aug 21, 2013

Great views

Our room had a nice view of the harbor area. Desk service was a bit slow, and our room was not ready when we arrived. The location is good. The Robson Market and coffee shops were nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Robson Market has reasonable Asian food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travis Wimsett
Business
Berkeley, CA
Aug 21, 2013

Great spot for downtown adventure

Had a great stay here, staff was attentive, location excellent. Hotel was clean, well-maintained, and the room was quite comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJSEA
Business
USA
Aug 20, 2013

Overall good experience

I'm the type of traveler who just wants a decent place to sleep at night. I don't care for all the extra stuff. I'm going to be out and about the whole day. Empire Landmark Hotel fit the bill and is set in a good location, close to lots of dining options, which is one of the main reasons I like to travel. Some things I personally feel they could improve upon is to offer complimentary parking for guests (it's $15CAD/night), and complimentary wireless internet (it costs money, but I don't remember how much). Overall, these weren't total deal breakers for me. The internet would have been nice to look up addresses and directions to places, and having to pay for that type of low level access is pretty inconvenient. Staff was friendly but I didn't have a need to talk to them that much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mobile Bodywork
Business
Hawaii
Aug 19, 2013

it was just good enough

I went for my conference and I needed the hotel has good enough workout room, but the machine was old and not maintained. it was not safe condition. no free weights. Disappointed... no towels in the workout room either. you need to bring your own from the room. i would expect better facility than that, if it is listed good stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wimmer
Business
Seattle
Aug 18, 2013

Excellent location

This is ideally located for tourists, the service is good and the only constructive advise I would have, having stayed there a number of times is that the check-in is too slow. This is of course a result of giving each and every customer the complete attention, but there must be a way of speeding up the check-in procedure. It is also a bit confusing at the front desks as too where the lines start and end. All in all a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeontheRoad
Business
St. Louis
Jul 16, 2013

Probably a Shadow of Its Former Self

Billed as one of the city's premiere hotels, The Empire Landmark just isn't. It's location is fantastic, and I imagine that all rooms have as stunning a view as ours did. However, the building isn't in great condition and the staff was only intermittently helpful. Upon check in, I was asked to confirm several times that I and my travel companion did want one bed and not two beds - which rubbed me the wrong way from the start. Upon check out, I waited a solid twenty minutes for a front desk clerk to be available, with a line of folks ahead of me who each had a problem requiring lengthy conversation with the clerk. Further, the hotel's rotating restaurant on the top floor is billed as one of it's greatest selling points. A breakfast buffet (whose price was simply never given in advance) was offered to hotel guests in the rotating restaurant. The bacon was soggy, the eggs were runny, and juice was watered down at the buffet -- and the restaurant wasn't rotating that morning... all for $18 per person plus tax. However, the views and the balconies that come with each room almost make up for these other problems - just don't go in with high expectations or they probably won't be met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stanley Park is magnificent, but rent a bicycle to get around if you want to see most of it, as it's quite large and the shuttle within the park has been discontinued, so the only "hop on" / "hop off" option is close to $40 per person and covers the entire city instead of just the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juniorrette
Business
boise, id
Jul 13, 2013

Great experience, affordable price

We arrived by foot off the skytrain. We were tired but the staff was very welcoming and nice. They quickly checked us in and gave us a map with some recommendation on where to eat and places to visit. Our room was on the 16th floor, we would have liked higher but it was still a pretty view. The bed was comfortable enough and everything appeared clean. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keep On Flying
Business
Vancouver
Jun 26, 2013

Not a bad deal

Good location with lots of restaurant choices around the hotel. The hotel needs a facelift. The rooms are old. The balconies need a new coat of paint. No complimentary breakfast. It was nice of the hotel to give me a high floor with a great view of Stanley Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maruko Japanese Noodle House across the hotel. Great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
davidhorp
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jun 12, 2013

Bare essentials, Great location

The location was exceptional, easy walk to Coal Harbor, Stanley Park, Downtown Shopping. City and tour busses stop right out front. Fantastic restaurant (Cloud 9) that revolves to see city. Miniature beds (full size, barely room for the 2 of them) my head up against headboard with feet off the end. One small pillow for each bed (feather- so if allergic suffer), small bath, balcony with standing room only abutting neighbor balcony. Thin walls so could hear neighbors doors. Nice lobby with acceptable internet stations (2) but couldn't connect to weak WiFi in room. Checked out day early; bad beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Coal Harbor and seawall one direction 4 blocks; Stanley Park 8 blocks (15 minutes) down street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Empire Landmark Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard of Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 4, 2013

reasonably good stay

Front desk clerks are very friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable in such an expensive area as west end Vancouver. The bed sheets are clean. But the room needs a renovation, since everything is functional but looks very old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top