$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 21, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
118 reviews
business trip + holiday

The employees at this hotel are wonderful. Friendly, professional, and helpful. Room was pleasant,... See full review

  • Geo Prof
  • Oct 24, 2014
Vancouver Convention

Hotel was in great location, close to convention center. Clerks at desk were extremely helpful! See full review

  • Soroptimist Sister
  • Jul 28, 2014
Coal Harbor arrival brings sophisticated style and comfort to downtown

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment
  • Executive continental buffet breakfast (at cost)

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily. Executive continental buffet breakfast is available at this cozy restaurant for an added fee.

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and Fees
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.
  • Executive continental buffet breakfast fee is $18 CND per person. Tax and gratuity are not included.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

    Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

    STANDARD - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
    SUPERIOR - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
    PREMIUM - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Dining
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
    • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
    • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
    • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
    • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
    • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
    • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
    • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
    • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
    • General Motors Place: 1 mi
    • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
    • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
    • False Creek: 1.2 mi
    • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
    • English Bay: 1.8 mi
    • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
    • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
    • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
    • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
    • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
    • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
    • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
    • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
    • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
    • General Motors Place: 1 mi
    • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
    • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
    • False Creek: 1.2 mi
    • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
    • English Bay: 1.8 mi
    • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
    • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
    • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
    • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
    • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
    • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
    • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
    • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
    • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
    • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
    • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
    • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

    Dining

    Prestons
    Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (118)

    Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    118 out of 118
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.8
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.5
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.3

    93% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Midood
    Business
    New York
    Oct 14, 2013

    Wonderful hotel, Great staff!!

    We came to this hotel after getting married in Vancouver. The hotel is in a prime downtown location, near the water and a very short distance from restaurants and great shopping. The hotel is modern, our room was very clean and the bed was more than comfortable. The gym and pool area are well kept, and were a pleasure to use. Yet, what makes this hotel really stand out from most hotels I've stayed in, are the exceptional staff. From the valet guys to the staff at the front desk, housekeeping to concierge. Every staff member we came across was friendly, caring, helpful and attentive. And so, the next time I'm in Vancouver there is no question about where I would stay, if only for the staff.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Go to Robson st, or ask for directions to the closest shopping mall which is a 5 minutes from the hotel.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    N1ck
    Business
    Swansea UK
    Sep 29, 2013

    Nice hotel efficient rather than romantic/beautiful

    Clean, comfortable and efficient, not cute or pretty, but a really nice place to stay for business or as a tourist. Our room was large and very comfortable, and this hotel has managed to provide air con that is efficient and QUIET. Not many others manage this. Bathroom was very clean and functional rather than luxurious, but we were in a basic room. I found the decor in the restaurant to be a bit depressing, and there was a hiccup in the service, our mains arrived before the starters, then to "make up" for this we were offered a free dessert, this is ok, but we were only offered the dessert that was being offered free with a main course anyway, so this was a bit of an insult! The food was very good, and the staff were pleasant, both in the restaurant and especially in the reception area.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Hilary S
    Business
    NYC
    Sep 23, 2013

    Vancouver Rocks!

    Coast Coal Harbor Hotel was lovely and very convenient to the cruise ship terminal where we were to catch our ship to Alaska. Plenty of reasonable restaurants nearby and you can walk everywhere.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Jim Wall
    Business
    Maidstone, UK
    Sep 12, 2013

    Top notch

    This is a seriously good hotel. Great rooms. World class staff. Great restaurant for breakfast and dining. Close to downtown for shopping and good restaurants. Close to the seawall and Stanley park for walking and stunning scenery. Close to coffee shops(important) and a terrific local supermarket/delicatessen. Al in all the perfect place to stay in downtown Vancouver.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Mill Marine Bar and Bistro is just 150 metres away for great casual dining.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Yazzev
    Business
    London
    Sep 2, 2013

    Friendly service at great location

    Stayed three nights at this very central hotel in Vancouver. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and knowledgeable, making very useful recommendations for restaurants and local attractions. The room was of excellent size (two double queens), clean and comfortable. It had coffee/tea-making facilities. Bathroom of very good size, great shower, with toiletries and generous towel supply. Did not have breakfast there, so cannot comment. Heated outdoor swimming pool of good size (but shallower than usual) and gym had good diversity of machines. Overall, a very positive experience and would definitely return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Near central station, waterfront and marina, local park, shopping malls and restaurants and bar. Plenty of cafes and diners around.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Lol Gray
    Business
    Kingston, Ontario
    Jul 19, 2013

    Good business local

    The staff were very helpful. The rooms were very clen and new. The SkyTrain was a little hike, perhaps a shuttle may be in order.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Elephant and Castle for good value food and drink.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    drumchair
    Business
    Denver
    Jun 27, 2013

    Perfect Stay in Vancouver

    I stayed at 2 hotels during my stay in Vancouver, and this one was the best by far. The other was on Granville, which is an area I love, but ends up being a little too chaotic after a night or so. The neighborhood surrounding this hotel I found to be much more conducive to relaxation and overall comfort, yet still only a 12 minute walk to the center of Granville. The part of the harbour area in front of the hotel is relaxing, has nice parks, a nice beer bistro, and a lot of tranquil benches to sit on. The hotel is literally spotless, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very affable. Its across the street from the bus stop that's a 10 min bus ride to the center of Stanley Park. The area surrounding the hotel is very safe and quiet, and rather upscale. The hot tub was hot, i.e. the desired temperature, and the pool wasn't too cold either. They also lend you nice umbrellas as much as you need them, which helped me out a lot, since it rained about 80% of my trip. I was literally unable to find one negative thing about this hotel. If you want a hotel that's in a quiet, central, and nice neighborhood, that's also walking distance to Granville, and has super easy access to Stanley Park, you will be very happy with this hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Awesome organic market kitty-corner to the front hotel entrance.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Seeing the World Wonders
    Business
    Chicago
    May 29, 2013

    Great Location

    Clean and efficient. Great location. Easy access to public transport and close walking distance to Stanley Park, the water front, down town, etc

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Is this name long enough
    Business
    Seattle, Washington
    May 13, 2013

    great location, clean hotel

    This hotel is in a great location and is very clean. I'd recommend it especially for business stays. Also a great location if you're walking around.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Ssob
    Business
    Seattle Wa.
    Apr 2, 2013

    First romantic date

    My experience has been better at hotels that were rated with less stars,just as clean with the same amenities.......and decent location. The hotel representative seem to be put off by me staying at the hotel through a hotel value finder. Never smiled never addressed me by name at all,no eye contact. Every question I had asked I was replied back to with self ritcheousness it seems. I chose to pay with my debit card,and immediately the representative got very firm with me about a 6 week hold on my debit for incidentals,and and that she would have to put a hold of 245.72$ the regular price of the room since I used A hotel value site, She seemed to be discouraged by the hotel value finder i used to book tge hotel,and their value. So I agreed I had a special evening plan,I informed it would be ok,due to my banking institution releasing the funds quickly as soon as the hotel released it. She REPLIED OH NO! IM TELLING YOU SIR AMERICANS WHO COME SAY IT TAKES SIX WEEKS THAT'S WHY YOU SHOUKD HAVE CREDIT CARD......it has nothing to do with us here at the hotel. I wanted to go to another hotel but I believe in my agreement I would've still had to pay since there were no refunds through a hotel value site,due to the great value. So I asked if the room I was getting was nice,she said "IT'S ON THE SIXTH FLOOR FACING PENDER STREET WITH NO VIEW YOU BOOKED THROUGH A HOTEL VALUE FINDER AND THIS IS THE TYPE OF ROOM YOU GET THROUGH THEM,IF YOU WANT A DIFFERENT YOU CAN PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE" All while never smiling or looking at me. My colleague was with me,we drive up together he was on business that day and with during my check in and just shook his head and said to me that's why I don't use travel sites or stay anywhere but the otger hotel just up tge street,I can't believe you're going to still stay here. I will not stay there again. It's been more than 24 hours since I checked out and my says that transaction has been released by that hotel and that hotel is known for taking a bit of time releasing funds that are held. So for that reason I rate them as a 3 star.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top