$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2010

Great first time experience in Vancouver

The front desk was excited to help us out with our first experience in Vancouver. They quickly got out a map and circled all the MUST SEE activities in the city with great enthusiasm, so much that it was rather comical. The rooms are very modern and simple with the the much needed corkscrew you don't normally see next to the glasses. HA! Eco-friendly as they have 3 types of trash cans, which I admired. And the ice is not on every floor which is unfortunate, but understood. HA. Great hot tub, small pool.. Great fitness center and great location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I will mention that they were also flexible on check in and check out times for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Skytrain Station is a short 10 minute walk, as are the important bus stops to get to Granville Island (#50) and Stanley Park is a quick 10 minute bus ride on the #19. Gas Town is a 15 minute walk. Good shopping and great local pubs. I suggest The Greedy Pig.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 15, 2011

Great location & great price

The location of Coast Coal Harbor Hotel was excellent! About 1 block from the harbor & about 5 mins from the Convention Center. It was great to be able to walk along the seawall in the mornings with the beautiful scenery. The rooms were very crisp, clean, & quite, the staff was friendly & was available to assist in making reservations for tours, always very helpful. Overall the experience at the hotel, and the city in general, was great & I would defniately return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Sep 15, 2010

Nice stay at a nice hotel!

Staff was first rate. Asked several times for their recommendations for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each restaurant was excellent. I wish that the rooms included a mini-refrigerator to keep cool liquids for our young son. The hotel was very modern and clean. Felt very safe because needed a room key to be able to operate the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta, GA
May 8, 2010

Great hotel

Room was nice and clean - view was of an office building but overall stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle 69
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 6, 2010

Great Spot for the Cyclist!

Hotel was wonderful. Staff was amazingly helpful. The hotel is right by the sea wall so long beautiful walks or bike rides along the sea and through the many parks around Vancouver were easy! No worries about finding parking or anything, just walk out the door and get going!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Yaletown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atl, GA
May 12, 2010

Great location, nice hotel.

First trip to Vancouver. Nice hotel in a great location. Room was very affordable for the area. The room was big and comfortable. The air conditioner was not too noisy at all. All the facilities were maintained well and the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants on Robson road and Granville road. Subway is very convenient from the hotel as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 13, 2010

Weekend Trip

Pleasant staff, a nice modern lobby, a simple, clean room. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub were great, and the gym was really well maintained. Parking was extremely expensive. Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC (outside of Vancouver)
Dec 10, 2010

Good for Convention Access

We chose the Coal Harbor hotel for its convenience to the new Convention Center (the one with the grass roof.) It's an easy 2-block walk there. The hotel is in a quiet area between other hotels (Renaissance and Marriott) and business skyscrapers. The room we had faced west towards town, but because we had a corner room we also could see a bit of Coal Harbor. The rooms are a bit stark but large enough, modern furniture and art with no extra frills. Good lighting for reading in bed or in the comfy chairs, and the floor-to-ceiling windows add some glamour. The bathroom is nice - but not overly fancy. Staff always smiled, and seemed very welcoming. (The two-handed conveyance of cards and bills is a very nice Asian courtesy touch.) Breakfast in Preston's restaurant in the hotel was very good - salmon benedict on cranberry bread - yum! There's also an Urban Fare cafe/grocery at the corner which is super for snacks and even meals if you want to eat in without room service costs. The bed was very comfortable, with a warm down blanket - almost too warm. They had an extra pillow and blanket in the closet so you can fix up your bed to suit yourself. And plenty of closet space. Only downside - the heater was a bit noisy when it kicked in during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try a Japanese dinner at Irashai Grill, 1368 W. Pender St. Not too many veggies on the menu, but wonderful grilled fish, chicken, and many fresh sushi options. Delicious sauces on some of the options. No wines by the glass, but the beers are Japanese. Try the red bean ice cream for dessert. Not cheap, but the quality of the food is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
University Park, PA
Mar 18, 2011

nice hotel

It is a nice hotel be honest. I travelled with my friend to Vancouver during my spring break and the hotel did provide high quality service. I really like the hotel personally. But the only thing is that is a little bit far from waterfront skytrain station. It took me to walk about 10 to 15 mins. Anyways this is my own feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffd2X
Business
Boston MA
Aug 31, 2010

Would return in a heartbeat!!!

Excellent room, new, clean,wonderful view of the ocean inlet. If your not looking for the hotel;you'll walk right by it, thinking that it is a office building. But once up into your room, you will be pleasantly surprised!! I would really stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is a don't miss;Stanley Park. We were there in the end of August. The Rose Gardens were is full bloom. None better, if you want to walk in the gardens. Plan on spending one entire day within the park. Words can't really describe the beauty and awe of this wonderful park. Don't miss it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top