Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
115 reviews
business trip + holiday

The employees at this hotel are wonderful. Friendly, professional, and helpful. Room was pleasant,... See full review

  • Geo Prof
  • Oct 24, 2014
Vancouver Convention

Hotel was in great location, close to convention center. Clerks at desk were extremely helpful! See full review

  • Soroptimist Sister
  • Jul 28, 2014
Coal Harbor arrival brings sophisticated style and comfort to downtown

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.
  • The pool will be closed from 1-5 December 2014 for emergency repairs.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
PREMIUM - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

49.2886 -123.1222
Area served
Vancouver
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport - 9 Miles/ 15 Kilometres.Vancouver Float Plane Terminal - 2 blocks
Area description
Set against the waterways of Coal Harbour in beautiful downtown Vancouver is the new Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. Imagine flying into Coal Harbour from Victoria and checking into your hotel room within minutes of your floatplane landing. In the morning, you can pick up a cappuccino at the local coffee shop on the way to your first meeting of the day. The hotel is near Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre, and Robson Street's trendy shopping district, with gourmet fare just around the corner.

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

Dining

Prestons
Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoaoS
Business
Chciago
Dec 6, 2013

Worst experience ever

Hi, I had the worst experience at the COAST hotel in Vancouver. I was there for my break. Horrible odor, noise next door neighbor at 1am and 6:30 am. Requested a taxi from front desk guy, waited for 30 minutes, never showed up - had to grab a cab from the street. Management not helpful - traded rooms, as they should have, for I had 2 more nights at this horrible hotel. Overall, really bad experience. Joao

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunz
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 10, 2014

Less Than Expected

The staff was fine. The room was big .. but Empty .. The furniture was very low end Ikea-ish. The room looked like they had forgotten some furniture. The chair while a high end piece was horribly stained. So much so that I refused to sit in it. The night stands were old and very basic. The lamps slid across tables (meaning they had no weight to them). The room accommodations really need some work. Again the size was great. The staff was very friendly and professional. IT was just the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hys Steak House. Great Steak recommended to me. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ganga
Business
Edmonton
Mar 26, 2012

It was ok.

I could't sleep the whole night as it was warm. The air condition was on, but was not cold enough to be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

convenience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vegas92a
Business
San Jose, Ca
Dec 24, 2012

Fantastic hotel

It is so lexuary and the stuff is very helpful specially kem the car or the package service man

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JOrbitz
Business
Orange County, California
Feb 19, 2013

Nice Hotel - Inferior Location

This was our first time in Vancouver, so I can't really compare against other Vancouver hotels. But I've certainly had much better stays in the U.S. for much better prices. The hotel looks beautiful and has some nice amenities. However, our "view" of the ocean was obscured by a big, ugly black office building. We asked the front desk if they had any other rooms, but all that we were shown had the same problem. The worst part was that the office across the way didn't shut off their lights at night! Light was blazing right into our room; a good thing we had some thick curtains. The size of the room was nothing to be impressed with either. But the bed was comfortable, the room was tasteful. It was nice that we were downtown, within a short walk of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ssob
Business
Seattle Wa.
Apr 2, 2013

First romantic date

My experience has been better at hotels that were rated with less stars,just as clean with the same amenities.......and decent location. The hotel representative seem to be put off by me staying at the hotel through a hotel value finder. Never smiled never addressed me by name at all,no eye contact. Every question I had asked I was replied back to with self ritcheousness it seems. I chose to pay with my debit card,and immediately the representative got very firm with me about a 6 week hold on my debit for incidentals,and and that she would have to put a hold of 245.72$ the regular price of the room since I used A hotel value site, She seemed to be discouraged by the hotel value finder i used to book tge hotel,and their value. So I agreed I had a special evening plan,I informed it would be ok,due to my banking institution releasing the funds quickly as soon as the hotel released it. She REPLIED OH NO! IM TELLING YOU SIR AMERICANS WHO COME SAY IT TAKES SIX WEEKS THAT'S WHY YOU SHOUKD HAVE CREDIT CARD......it has nothing to do with us here at the hotel. I wanted to go to another hotel but I believe in my agreement I would've still had to pay since there were no refunds through a hotel value site,due to the great value. So I asked if the room I was getting was nice,she said "IT'S ON THE SIXTH FLOOR FACING PENDER STREET WITH NO VIEW YOU BOOKED THROUGH A HOTEL VALUE FINDER AND THIS IS THE TYPE OF ROOM YOU GET THROUGH THEM,IF YOU WANT A DIFFERENT YOU CAN PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE" All while never smiling or looking at me. My colleague was with me,we drive up together he was on business that day and with during my check in and just shook his head and said to me that's why I don't use travel sites or stay anywhere but the otger hotel just up tge street,I can't believe you're going to still stay here. I will not stay there again. It's been more than 24 hours since I checked out and my says that transaction has been released by that hotel and that hotel is known for taking a bit of time releasing funds that are held. So for that reason I rate them as a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Obsydion
Business
Calgary, Alberta Canada
Nov 2, 2013

October weekend away

Walking distance to Coal Harbor and Stanley Park. 10 minute walk to/from Skytrain. Foyer/Lobby is a little clinical but staff very friendly and helpful. Room was nice, clean, nice big bathroom. Decent wifi. Gym is very sparse and the pool tiny but functional. The hot tub is very popular. Situated on (far) West Hastings you may be lucky enough to get a room with a view of the harbor (between two tall buildings). Nice array of cable channels but audio was faulty. If you want a business hotel close to the aforementioned locations, then look no further.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson St has plenty of great restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 17, 2008

weekend trip

The hotel is showing it's age and could use some updating...check in was interesting, the lobby doors are closed at 9p and check in is done through a window like paying for gasoline at a gas station and you had to put down a $30 deposit for a TV remote which you get back at check out, I have never had to do that before...house keeping was great the rooms were neat and very clean just a bit run down...Also, the swimming pool was unusable...hotel does has great freeway access and the location was great...However I don't think I will be staying at this hotel again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to spring training baseball fields.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Nov 18, 2010

nice but loud

Enjoyed hot tub, was nice. Pool was chilly. Room was clean, finished with modern touches but not high end. I could hear elevator chimes all night and loud traffic from people going in and out their rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yellowknife NT
Apr 14, 2010

All right for an overnight

Hotel is new, but very ordinary. Bed is too soft and pillows extremly uncomfortable. Location good if you like to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top