$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
154 reviews
Agreeable stay

Room pretty clean, quitet and spacious. Good location with easy access to many attractions. Worthy... See full review

  • Jane Mom
  • Jul 11, 2014
Excellent Hotel and Staff!

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in Vancouver is excellent! The room and hotel are very clean and safe. The... See full review

  • ChristineH8547
  • Jan 2, 2014
Coal Harbor arrival brings sophisticated style and comfort to downtown

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
PREMIUM - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2886 -123.1222
Area served
Vancouver
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport - 9 Miles/ 15 Kilometres.Vancouver Float Plane Terminal - 2 blocks
Area description
Set against the waterways of Coal Harbour in beautiful downtown Vancouver is the new Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. Imagine flying into Coal Harbour from Victoria and checking into your hotel room within minutes of your floatplane landing. In the morning, you can pick up a cappuccino at the local coffee shop on the way to your first meeting of the day. The hotel is near Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre, and Robson Street's trendy shopping district, with gourmet fare just around the corner.

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

Dining

Prestons
Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drumchair
Denver
Jun 27, 2013

Perfect Stay in Vancouver

I stayed at 2 hotels during my stay in Vancouver, and this one was the best by far. The other was on Granville, which is an area I love, but ends up being a little too chaotic after a night or so. The neighborhood surrounding this hotel I found to be much more conducive to relaxation and overall comfort, yet still only a 12 minute walk to the center of Granville. The part of the harbour area in front of the hotel is relaxing, has nice parks, a nice beer bistro, and a lot of tranquil benches to sit on. The hotel is literally spotless, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very affable. Its across the street from the bus stop that's a 10 min bus ride to the center of Stanley Park. The area surrounding the hotel is very safe and quiet, and rather upscale. The hot tub was hot, i.e. the desired temperature, and the pool wasn't too cold either. They also lend you nice umbrellas as much as you need them, which helped me out a lot, since it rained about 80% of my trip. I was literally unable to find one negative thing about this hotel. If you want a hotel that's in a quiet, central, and nice neighborhood, that's also walking distance to Granville, and has super easy access to Stanley Park, you will be very happy with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome organic market kitty-corner to the front hotel entrance.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BC Chillin
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2011

The Best View, Service and Amenities

It's one of the best locations in near downtown and I love the the view from my room, 17th floor. It's a great place to stay for Business Travels Free Wi-Fi, Clean room, Fresh new hotel vibe, crisp and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great near by restaurants.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dorie
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 3, 2011

Wonderful hotel!

The rooms were very clean and the hotel was very convenient to the waterfront area and restaurants. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChristineH8547
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2014

Excellent Hotel and Staff!

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in Vancouver is excellent! The room and hotel are very clean and safe. The location is excellent with the harbour front practically across the street and is just a few blocks from all the downtown hustle and bustle. As a single female, I felt very safe in the neighborhood, even walking by myself late at night back to the hotel. Vancouver itself is very safe as well. It's a few blocks walk from the skytrain station, but not a bad walk at all. The neighborhood the hotel is in is the business district, so during the day it's busy, but at night it's pretty quiet and empty, but you'll feel completely safe walking to the hotel. I rarely even looked behind me, which is something I always do in the US. The biggest draw of this hotel is the staff. Each and everyone of the staff at this hotel are so friendly, kind, and helpful. Their customer service goes above and beyond. I wish all companies would take a lesson in customer service from the hotel staff here. I was there for a week and they made me feel like this was my home away from home. Always greeted with a smile and given great help with directions and suggestions. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Although I can't remember everyone's names who helped me, I do remember Luiz, Sheron, Jin, David, and Jeremy. These were just a few of the staff who were so great, but really, everyone was great (I just don't remember their names). I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market kitty corner from the hotel called Urban Faire that you can get food from if you want to save some money from eating at restaurants. Very convenient and their food is delicious too!

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hctravelers
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 25, 2011

Great location with an amazing view

Stayed here for one night pre-cruise. Couldn't have chosen a better location. Arrived earlier than the designated check in time, but it wasn't a problem. We had pre-booked the least expensive room. Upon arrival we asked for a room with a great view as this was our first time to Vancouver. We were told that our room was in the back of the hotel looking at the city, but the great views are in the front of the hotel, which is an upgraded room. So they ask us if we wanted to upgrade for $30 and we did so (when we checked out, they actually did not even charge us for the upgrade). Our room was on floor 11 and it was looking out over the Coast Coal Harbour. Even though the view was between 2 buildings, it was still a great view. The check in staff was very friendly, and the bellhop delivered our bags for us promptly. We walked along the harbour, viewed the incoming/outgoing ships and seaplanes. Got coffee and pastries at Tim Hortons, ate a late lunch as there were numerous choices all within walking distance. We returned for a nap late afternoon, but the beds were so comfortable that we slept thru the night. Rooms are decorated with minimal accessories, but had everything we needed. One of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I have ever seen. We caught a taxi to cruise terminal the next morning, although we could have walked as it was only a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi from the airport, as we waited for 45 minutes on the airport shuttle and finally gave up and took the taxi. More expensive, but well worth the few extra dollars.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desperately Seeking Moose
Berkeley, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Good Deal - Clean and Green

Easy walking distance to some great shops and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Greedy Pig is delightful. Tourist firnedly but local popular

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffd2X
Boston MA
Aug 31, 2010

Would return in a heartbeat!!!

Excellent room, new, clean,wonderful view of the ocean inlet. If your not looking for the hotel;you'll walk right by it, thinking that it is a office building. But once up into your room, you will be pleasantly surprised!! I would really stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is a don't miss;Stanley Park. We were there in the end of August. The Rose Gardens were is full bloom. None better, if you want to walk in the gardens. Plan on spending one entire day within the park. Words can't really describe the beauty and awe of this wonderful park. Don't miss it!!

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
University Park, PA
Mar 18, 2011

nice hotel

It is a nice hotel be honest. I travelled with my friend to Vancouver during my spring break and the hotel did provide high quality service. I really like the hotel personally. But the only thing is that is a little bit far from waterfront skytrain station. It took me to walk about 10 to 15 mins. Anyways this is my own feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can1
Georgia
May 5, 2010

Coal coast harbour

Great location close to the convention center ... But rooms were underwhelming and sparesly furnished and the bedding was not great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Robson St

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOrbitz
Orange County, California
Sep 6, 2012

Great Hotel - Not-So-Great Location

Beautiful hotel and the staff were fantastic. The price was a bit on the high side, but it was our first time staying in Vancouver, so it may be that Vancouver hotels are just expensive. The view/location definitely were not 4-star. A plus was that it was close the the harbor. But our "view" was of an office building directly across the street, whose workers could see directly into our room. In addition, said office building never shut off their lights at night! We asked the front desk to see a better "view" room, but it wasn't much better... same office building across the way, but with a sliver of ocean visible to the left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top