Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
157 reviews
Excellent hotel

Great service and location. Spacious and comfortable room. See full review

  • TBBB
  • Jul 14, 2014
Wonderful stay

Vancouver is a beautiful city and this hotel is located near the ocean, Stanley Park, a grocery, a... See full review

  • mmeb
  • Jul 12, 2014
Coal Harbor arrival brings sophisticated style and comfort to downtown

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
PREMIUM - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

49.2886 -123.1222
Area served
Vancouver
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport - 9 Miles/ 15 Kilometres.Vancouver Float Plane Terminal - 2 blocks
Area description
Set against the waterways of Coal Harbour in beautiful downtown Vancouver is the new Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. Imagine flying into Coal Harbour from Victoria and checking into your hotel room within minutes of your floatplane landing. In the morning, you can pick up a cappuccino at the local coffee shop on the way to your first meeting of the day. The hotel is near Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre, and Robson Street's trendy shopping district, with gourmet fare just around the corner.

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

Dining

Prestons
Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GT55
Rochester, NY
Oct 20, 2013

Amazing views of the harbor

Very good hotel: modern, clean, excellently well located. Room service is provided by Preston's Restaurant, which is on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Hon's House of Noodles. Very tasty Chinese food.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TomH
Business
Muncie, IN, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Very nice hotel, well located

Very much enjoyed our stay. Easy walking distance to convention center. Room had nice open feel with big windows, and our room had a very nice view, even from the relatively low 7th floor. Comfortable bed. Would have liked move vending machines or a snack bar other than room service, but the 7-11 on the corner provided the snacks we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
VA
May 19, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price!

We were taking a cruise to Alaska and decided to spend a few extra days in the beautiful city of Vancouver. What an awesome trip! Great location, hotel, staff, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel resturant, Preston's, was great!!!

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yazzev
London
Sep 2, 2013

Friendly service at great location

Stayed three nights at this very central hotel in Vancouver. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and knowledgeable, making very useful recommendations for restaurants and local attractions. The room was of excellent size (two double queens), clean and comfortable. It had coffee/tea-making facilities. Bathroom of very good size, great shower, with toiletries and generous towel supply. Did not have breakfast there, so cannot comment. Heated outdoor swimming pool of good size (but shallower than usual) and gym had good diversity of machines. Overall, a very positive experience and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near central station, waterfront and marina, local park, shopping malls and restaurants and bar. Plenty of cafes and diners around.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad Pitt's brother Stew Pitt
Seattle WA
Feb 1, 2010

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel,Awesome place!

Great place,I know where to stay when I'm Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad Pitt's brother Stew Pitt
Seattle WA
Feb 1, 2010

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel,Awesome place!

Great place,I know where to stay when I'm Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business in SD
Business
Cape May, NJ
May 15, 2010

Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is great

The staff made the experience wonderful. No matter what I asked the, they solved every issue and with a smile. I was so happy, I joined the frequent stay program for this hotel series (Coast Hotels). I hope they are all like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hrispb
Washington, DC
Apr 8, 2012

great modern (yet cozy) hotel

The location of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is perfect-only couple of blocks away from Robson St., Gaztown, and Stanley park. It's not on a busy street yet very close (walking distance) to all major attractions. We spent two nights there with our ten years old daughter. The stuff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is new, very clean, with modern decor. The only downside was the very expensive parking but this is an issue for the whole downtown Vancouver area. We did not try the hotel's restaurant. Our overall expericence was great! We felt very welcomed during our stay at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Hampshire
May 29, 2011

Bright clean room.

We got there at noon directly from the airport and they had a room ready for us (Before the check in time). We had a corner room so 2 of the 4 walls were all windows. It was the best hotel room we've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can easily walk to the pier with luggage if you are leaving on a cruise.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hctravelers
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 25, 2011

Great location with an amazing view

Stayed here for one night pre-cruise. Couldn't have chosen a better location. Arrived earlier than the designated check in time, but it wasn't a problem. We had pre-booked the least expensive room. Upon arrival we asked for a room with a great view as this was our first time to Vancouver. We were told that our room was in the back of the hotel looking at the city, but the great views are in the front of the hotel, which is an upgraded room. So they ask us if we wanted to upgrade for $30 and we did so (when we checked out, they actually did not even charge us for the upgrade). Our room was on floor 11 and it was looking out over the Coast Coal Harbour. Even though the view was between 2 buildings, it was still a great view. The check in staff was very friendly, and the bellhop delivered our bags for us promptly. We walked along the harbour, viewed the incoming/outgoing ships and seaplanes. Got coffee and pastries at Tim Hortons, ate a late lunch as there were numerous choices all within walking distance. We returned for a nap late afternoon, but the beds were so comfortable that we slept thru the night. Rooms are decorated with minimal accessories, but had everything we needed. One of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I have ever seen. We caught a taxi to cruise terminal the next morning, although we could have walked as it was only a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi from the airport, as we waited for 45 minutes on the airport shuttle and finally gave up and took the taxi. More expensive, but well worth the few extra dollars.

Back to menu Return to top