$207 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
121 reviews
Better than the Marriott

I was going to book at the Marriott next door, but it was at capacity, so I chose Coast Caol, and... See full review

  • yamktm
  • Jun 19, 2015
cruise to alaska

We stayed at the Coast Harbor for one night prior to our cruise. The hotel was close to the harbor,... See full review

  • rsc
  • May 21, 2015

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Property features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily. Executive continental buffet breakfast is available at this cozy restaurant for an added fee.

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment
  • Executive continental buffet breakfast (at cost)

Nearby attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Policies
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.
  • Executive continental buffet breakfast fee is $18 CND per person. Tax and gratuity are not included.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

    Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

    STANDARD - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
    SUPERIOR - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
    PREMIUM - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Dining
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
    • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
    • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
    • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
    • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
    • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
    • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
    • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
    • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
    • General Motors Place: 1 mi
    • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
    • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
    • False Creek: 1.2 mi
    • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
    • English Bay: 1.8 mi
    • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
    • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
    • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
    • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
    • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
    • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
    • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
    • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
    • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
    • General Motors Place: 1 mi
    • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
    • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
    • False Creek: 1.2 mi
    • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
    • English Bay: 1.8 mi
    • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
    • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
    • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
    • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
    • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
    • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
    • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
    • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
    • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
    • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
    • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
    • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

    Dining

    Prestons
    Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    121 out of 121
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.8
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.6
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.3

    93% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    ChristineH8547
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA
    Jan 2, 2014

    Excellent Hotel and Staff!

    Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in Vancouver is excellent! The room and hotel are very clean and safe. The location is excellent with the harbour front practically across the street and is just a few blocks from all the downtown hustle and bustle. As a single female, I felt very safe in the neighborhood, even walking by myself late at night back to the hotel. Vancouver itself is very safe as well. It's a few blocks walk from the skytrain station, but not a bad walk at all. The neighborhood the hotel is in is the business district, so during the day it's busy, but at night it's pretty quiet and empty, but you'll feel completely safe walking to the hotel. I rarely even looked behind me, which is something I always do in the US. The biggest draw of this hotel is the staff. Each and everyone of the staff at this hotel are so friendly, kind, and helpful. Their customer service goes above and beyond. I wish all companies would take a lesson in customer service from the hotel staff here. I was there for a week and they made me feel like this was my home away from home. Always greeted with a smile and given great help with directions and suggestions. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Although I can't remember everyone's names who helped me, I do remember Luiz, Sheron, Jin, David, and Jeremy. These were just a few of the staff who were so great, but really, everyone was great (I just don't remember their names). I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to Vancouver.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is a market kitty corner from the hotel called Urban Faire that you can get food from if you want to save some money from eating at restaurants. Very convenient and their food is delicious too!

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Roge
    Business
    Haverhill, MA, USA
    Sep 2, 2011

    Hotel was in the perfect spot for view of the Harbor and walking distance to everything

    Treated great, the staff was always cheerful, the Hotel was spotless as were our rooms. Our view of the harbor was a plus we did not expect. We will definitely use this hotel for our next trip to Vancouver.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    TomH
    Business
    Muncie, IN, USA
    Oct 10, 2011

    Very nice hotel, well located

    Very much enjoyed our stay. Easy walking distance to convention center. Room had nice open feel with big windows, and our room had a very nice view, even from the relatively low 7th floor. Comfortable bed. Would have liked move vending machines or a snack bar other than room service, but the 7-11 on the corner provided the snacks we needed.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Jenn K
    Business
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Dec 12, 2011

    1st in city on a business trip.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Nice area to walk around. Close to water. Rooms were nice. Would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    hrispb
    Business
    Washington, DC
    Apr 8, 2012

    great modern (yet cozy) hotel

    The location of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel is perfect-only couple of blocks away from Robson St., Gaztown, and Stanley park. It's not on a busy street yet very close (walking distance) to all major attractions. We spent two nights there with our ten years old daughter. The stuff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is new, very clean, with modern decor. The only downside was the very expensive parking but this is an issue for the whole downtown Vancouver area. We did not try the hotel's restaurant. Our overall expericence was great! We felt very welcomed during our stay at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    short trip traveller
    Business
    Nevada
    Jan 5, 2013

    Green & clean

    Finally, a hotel that provides large containers with bathroom supplies (shampoo, conditioner, soap and lotion) - no need to use the small plastic ones! Stayed in January 2013

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Cherry678
    Business
    B.C.
    Apr 1, 2013

    GREAT HOTEL!!

    Everything was great about this hotel. Staff was amazing, beds were comfortable, great location, great price. Would highly recommend.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    drumchair
    Business
    Denver
    Jun 27, 2013

    Perfect Stay in Vancouver

    I stayed at 2 hotels during my stay in Vancouver, and this one was the best by far. The other was on Granville, which is an area I love, but ends up being a little too chaotic after a night or so. The neighborhood surrounding this hotel I found to be much more conducive to relaxation and overall comfort, yet still only a 12 minute walk to the center of Granville. The part of the harbour area in front of the hotel is relaxing, has nice parks, a nice beer bistro, and a lot of tranquil benches to sit on. The hotel is literally spotless, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very affable. Its across the street from the bus stop that's a 10 min bus ride to the center of Stanley Park. The area surrounding the hotel is very safe and quiet, and rather upscale. The hot tub was hot, i.e. the desired temperature, and the pool wasn't too cold either. They also lend you nice umbrellas as much as you need them, which helped me out a lot, since it rained about 80% of my trip. I was literally unable to find one negative thing about this hotel. If you want a hotel that's in a quiet, central, and nice neighborhood, that's also walking distance to Granville, and has super easy access to Stanley Park, you will be very happy with this hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Awesome organic market kitty-corner to the front hotel entrance.

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Yazzev
    Business
    London
    Sep 2, 2013

    Friendly service at great location

    Stayed three nights at this very central hotel in Vancouver. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and knowledgeable, making very useful recommendations for restaurants and local attractions. The room was of excellent size (two double queens), clean and comfortable. It had coffee/tea-making facilities. Bathroom of very good size, great shower, with toiletries and generous towel supply. Did not have breakfast there, so cannot comment. Heated outdoor swimming pool of good size (but shallower than usual) and gym had good diversity of machines. Overall, a very positive experience and would definitely return.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Near central station, waterfront and marina, local park, shopping malls and restaurants and bar. Plenty of cafes and diners around.

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Jim Wall
    Business
    Maidstone, UK
    Sep 12, 2013

    Top notch

    This is a seriously good hotel. Great rooms. World class staff. Great restaurant for breakfast and dining. Close to downtown for shopping and good restaurants. Close to the seawall and Stanley park for walking and stunning scenery. Close to coffee shops(important) and a terrific local supermarket/delicatessen. Al in all the perfect place to stay in downtown Vancouver.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The Mill Marine Bar and Bistro is just 150 metres away for great casual dining.

    Back to menu Return to top