$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
115 reviews
business trip + holiday

The employees at this hotel are wonderful. Friendly, professional, and helpful. Room was pleasant,... See full review

  • Geo Prof
  • Oct 24, 2014
Vancouver Convention

Hotel was in great location, close to convention center. Clerks at desk were extremely helpful! See full review

  • Soroptimist Sister
  • Jul 28, 2014
Coal Harbor arrival brings sophisticated style and comfort to downtown

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
PREMIUM - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

Dining

Prestons
Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hctravelers
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 25, 2011

Great location with an amazing view

Stayed here for one night pre-cruise. Couldn't have chosen a better location. Arrived earlier than the designated check in time, but it wasn't a problem. We had pre-booked the least expensive room. Upon arrival we asked for a room with a great view as this was our first time to Vancouver. We were told that our room was in the back of the hotel looking at the city, but the great views are in the front of the hotel, which is an upgraded room. So they ask us if we wanted to upgrade for $30 and we did so (when we checked out, they actually did not even charge us for the upgrade). Our room was on floor 11 and it was looking out over the Coast Coal Harbour. Even though the view was between 2 buildings, it was still a great view. The check in staff was very friendly, and the bellhop delivered our bags for us promptly. We walked along the harbour, viewed the incoming/outgoing ships and seaplanes. Got coffee and pastries at Tim Hortons, ate a late lunch as there were numerous choices all within walking distance. We returned for a nap late afternoon, but the beds were so comfortable that we slept thru the night. Rooms are decorated with minimal accessories, but had everything we needed. One of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I have ever seen. We caught a taxi to cruise terminal the next morning, although we could have walked as it was only a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi from the airport, as we waited for 45 minutes on the airport shuttle and finally gave up and took the taxi. More expensive, but well worth the few extra dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
May 29, 2011

Bright clean room.

We got there at noon directly from the airport and they had a room ready for us (Before the check in time). We had a corner room so 2 of the 4 walls were all windows. It was the best hotel room we've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can easily walk to the pier with luggage if you are leaving on a cruise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 13, 2011

Great, classy, no poblems

Great, very classy place. Although this hotel is a bit fancier than the 2-star places I usually stay, I found the rooms to be very large and comfortable, and extremely clean. I had to make a couple presentations while I was there, and I found the little desk and chair in the room to be very comfortable and reasonably spacious. The beds are wonderfully comfortable too, and many of the rooms have great views. Mine only had a view of some other buildings, but even that was pretty nice. The bathrooms were extremely clean and large, with big, full bathtubs and fluffy towels. The only complaints were pretty trivial: 1) they didn't appear to provide a tissue box in the room, and 2) there was no mini-fridge (though I'm not even sure if those are typical in high class hotels). Overall though, this was a really great hotel with awesome, friendly staff, nice views, comfortable rooms, and which was very clean. I'd strongly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Islington
Business
Fresno Ca
Mar 29, 2011

great Hotel. Great service

great people at reception. Room was quiet , large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
University Park, PA
Mar 18, 2011

nice hotel

It is a nice hotel be honest. I travelled with my friend to Vancouver during my spring break and the hotel did provide high quality service. I really like the hotel personally. But the only thing is that is a little bit far from waterfront skytrain station. It took me to walk about 10 to 15 mins. Anyways this is my own feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver bc
Mar 6, 2011

weekend getaway

We enjoyed our stay, The hotel gave us an upgrade to the top floor which offered spectacular views of the northshore mountains and teh snow capped Lions. It was lovely and a well deserved night away with my husband.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Drain, Oregon
Feb 23, 2011

Great location near convention center

I attended a symposium at the convention center on the waterfront. The location made it very convienent to attend the symposium. The hotel and surrounding area is very clean. The parking is rather pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ched and Dorothy
Business
Orange, CA
Feb 20, 2011

Coast Coal Harbor hotel, Vancouver BC

We were there for a conference nearby. Perhaps because the hotel is only about two years old, the staff were all young, enthusiastic, and eager to accommodate us at every opportunity. The facility was kept spotlessly clean, and the room was a bit sparse but very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant, although small, was surprisingly good. The selections were a bit limited, but everything we ordered was very well prepared and presented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
djclimb
Business
Evergreen, CO
Feb 18, 2011

Great Experience

Clean, friendly staff, safe, great value and easy access to Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 15, 2011

Great location & great price

The location of Coast Coal Harbor Hotel was excellent! About 1 block from the harbor & about 5 mins from the Convention Center. It was great to be able to walk along the seawall in the mornings with the beautiful scenery. The rooms were very crisp, clean, & quite, the staff was friendly & was available to assist in making reservations for tours, always very helpful. Overall the experience at the hotel, and the city in general, was great & I would defniately return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top