$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
152 reviews
Excellent Hotel and Staff!

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in Vancouver is excellent! The room and hotel are very clean and safe. The... See full review

  • ChristineH8547
  • Jan 2, 2014
Great Rooms with Beautiful views

I stayed here for 6 days and my experience could not have been any better. I was in a standard room... See full review

  • Jose Mr. International
  • Dec 27, 2013
Coal Harbor arrival brings sophisticated style and comfort to downtown

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
PREMIUM - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

49.2886 -123.1222
Area served
Vancouver
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport - 9 Miles/ 15 Kilometres.Vancouver Float Plane Terminal - 2 blocks
Area description
Set against the waterways of Coal Harbour in beautiful downtown Vancouver is the new Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. Imagine flying into Coal Harbour from Victoria and checking into your hotel room within minutes of your floatplane landing. In the morning, you can pick up a cappuccino at the local coffee shop on the way to your first meeting of the day. The hotel is near Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre, and Robson Street's trendy shopping district, with gourmet fare just around the corner.

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

Dining

Prestons
Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2010

Great first time experience in Vancouver

The front desk was excited to help us out with our first experience in Vancouver. They quickly got out a map and circled all the MUST SEE activities in the city with great enthusiasm, so much that it was rather comical. The rooms are very modern and simple with the the much needed corkscrew you don't normally see next to the glasses. HA! Eco-friendly as they have 3 types of trash cans, which I admired. And the ice is not on every floor which is unfortunate, but understood. HA. Great hot tub, small pool.. Great fitness center and great location. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I will mention that they were also flexible on check in and check out times for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Skytrain Station is a short 10 minute walk, as are the important bus stops to get to Granville Island (#50) and Stanley Park is a quick 10 minute bus ride on the #19. Gas Town is a 15 minute walk. Good shopping and great local pubs. I suggest The Greedy Pig.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One that likes to travel
Seattle
Feb 18, 2014

Day getaway

The Hotels was great, good location and staff. The only thing I remember asking for a king side bed and we got queens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson Street is 4 blocks away!

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eristring
Business
Chicago
Oct 22, 2012

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Clean and friendly staff. Easy to walk to entertainment and restaurant. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to dining and entertainment.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawaii
Sep 15, 2010

Nice stay at a nice hotel!

Staff was first rate. Asked several times for their recommendations for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each restaurant was excellent. I wish that the rooms included a mini-refrigerator to keep cool liquids for our young son. The hotel was very modern and clean. Felt very safe because needed a room key to be able to operate the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mtstomach
Business
Edmonton
Feb 5, 2014

SOS

I just got back and thank God the staff at the hote were kind enough to help me fix my oversight in booking my room. I forgot the fact that due to medical reasons I need a fridge for meds and also a microwave in my room. They were both there the next morning and were very kind and helpful thoughout the rest of my stay. Thank you Christine and all who helped me out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Its less expensive to order 2 glasses of wine from room service than the price of an inexpensive bottle of wine in DT Vancouver. Something wrong with that as they can actutally grow their own grapes!

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta, GA
May 8, 2010

Great hotel

Room was nice and clean - view was of an office building but overall stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicolaspl
Bogota
Dec 29, 2012

Good hotel, great breakfast

We had a good stay at the coast coal harbour hotel. Well located, comfortable and with a nice restaurant to enjoy a good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballroom dancer
Youngstown, OH
Jul 8, 2011

West Coast Swing

My wife and I enjoyed a comfortable stay of four nights. The hotel seemed like a newly built one and was modern, clean, and very quiet. It is in good location, slightly off the heart of the downtown with a pleasant in-hotel retaurant and many other restraunts near by. The staff was courteous and very helpful. The room was a bit small compared to hotels in other cities. We will not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N1ck
Swansea UK
Sep 29, 2013

Nice hotel efficient rather than romantic/beautiful

Clean, comfortable and efficient, not cute or pretty, but a really nice place to stay for business or as a tourist. Our room was large and very comfortable, and this hotel has managed to provide air con that is efficient and QUIET. Not many others manage this. Bathroom was very clean and functional rather than luxurious, but we were in a basic room. I found the decor in the restaurant to be a bit depressing, and there was a hiccup in the service, our mains arrived before the starters, then to "make up" for this we were offered a free dessert, this is ok, but we were only offered the dessert that was being offered free with a main course anyway, so this was a bit of an insult! The food was very good, and the staff were pleasant, both in the restaurant and especially in the reception area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Micco, FL
Jul 8, 2011

Great hotel, [...]

Hotel was great in nice location, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to picturesque harbor and overlooking sidewalk cafe.

Back to menu Return to top