$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
115 reviews
business trip + holiday

The employees at this hotel are wonderful. Friendly, professional, and helpful. Room was pleasant,... See full review

  • Geo Prof
  • Oct 24, 2014
Vancouver Convention

Hotel was in great location, close to convention center. Clerks at desk were extremely helpful! See full review

  • Soroptimist Sister
  • Jul 28, 2014
Set against the waterways of Coal Harbour and the stunning peaks of the North Shore Mountains is the new Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. Welcoming and spacious, the Coast Coal Harbour Hotel combines city sophistication with West Coast comfort. Its fresh, its modern, and it has Vancouver at its doorstep with the best of everything the city has to offer. URBAN RETREAT IN DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER. Imagine flying into Coal Harbour from Victoria and checking into your hotel room within minutes of your floatplane landing. In the morning, you can pick up a cappuccino at the local coffee shop on the way to your first meeting of the day. The hotel is near Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre, and Robson Streets trendy shopping district. And gourmet food market Urban Fare just around the corner. ITS ALL IN THE DETAILS. Our new 20-storey hotel has 220 spacious rooms and all the amenities youve come to expect from us. The 5,000 square foot ballroom and conference centre includes 20-foot-high north-facing windows accented by coloured glass creating a bright and airy environment. Private boardrooms, business centre, fully equipped gym, locker room and the landscaped roof deck with an outdoor lap pool and hot tub have been designed with your comfort in mind. Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Youll feel rejuvenated by the vibrant yet serene energy in our contemporary hotel. Weve thought of everything you need. Please note that the pool will be closed from December 1st - 5th. Valet parking is available for $35.57 tax inclusive) daily with in and out privileges. Self Parking is not available at Coast Coal Harbour Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
PREMIUM - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

Dining

Prestons
Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Wall
Business
Maidstone, UK
Sep 12, 2013

Top notch

This is a seriously good hotel. Great rooms. World class staff. Great restaurant for breakfast and dining. Close to downtown for shopping and good restaurants. Close to the seawall and Stanley park for walking and stunning scenery. Close to coffee shops(important) and a terrific local supermarket/delicatessen. Al in all the perfect place to stay in downtown Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mill Marine Bar and Bistro is just 150 metres away for great casual dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yazzev
Business
London
Sep 2, 2013

Friendly service at great location

Stayed three nights at this very central hotel in Vancouver. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and knowledgeable, making very useful recommendations for restaurants and local attractions. The room was of excellent size (two double queens), clean and comfortable. It had coffee/tea-making facilities. Bathroom of very good size, great shower, with toiletries and generous towel supply. Did not have breakfast there, so cannot comment. Heated outdoor swimming pool of good size (but shallower than usual) and gym had good diversity of machines. Overall, a very positive experience and would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near central station, waterfront and marina, local park, shopping malls and restaurants and bar. Plenty of cafes and diners around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lol Gray
Business
Kingston, Ontario
Jul 19, 2013

Good business local

The staff were very helpful. The rooms were very clen and new. The SkyTrain was a little hike, perhaps a shuttle may be in order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elephant and Castle for good value food and drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drumchair
Business
Denver
Jun 27, 2013

Perfect Stay in Vancouver

I stayed at 2 hotels during my stay in Vancouver, and this one was the best by far. The other was on Granville, which is an area I love, but ends up being a little too chaotic after a night or so. The neighborhood surrounding this hotel I found to be much more conducive to relaxation and overall comfort, yet still only a 12 minute walk to the center of Granville. The part of the harbour area in front of the hotel is relaxing, has nice parks, a nice beer bistro, and a lot of tranquil benches to sit on. The hotel is literally spotless, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very affable. Its across the street from the bus stop that's a 10 min bus ride to the center of Stanley Park. The area surrounding the hotel is very safe and quiet, and rather upscale. The hot tub was hot, i.e. the desired temperature, and the pool wasn't too cold either. They also lend you nice umbrellas as much as you need them, which helped me out a lot, since it rained about 80% of my trip. I was literally unable to find one negative thing about this hotel. If you want a hotel that's in a quiet, central, and nice neighborhood, that's also walking distance to Granville, and has super easy access to Stanley Park, you will be very happy with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome organic market kitty-corner to the front hotel entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seeing the World Wonders
Business
Chicago
May 29, 2013

Great Location

Clean and efficient. Great location. Easy access to public transport and close walking distance to Stanley Park, the water front, down town, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Is this name long enough
Business
Seattle, Washington
May 13, 2013

great location, clean hotel

This hotel is in a great location and is very clean. I'd recommend it especially for business stays. Also a great location if you're walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ssob
Business
Seattle Wa.
Apr 2, 2013

First romantic date

My experience has been better at hotels that were rated with less stars,just as clean with the same amenities.......and decent location. The hotel representative seem to be put off by me staying at the hotel through a hotel value finder. Never smiled never addressed me by name at all,no eye contact. Every question I had asked I was replied back to with self ritcheousness it seems. I chose to pay with my debit card,and immediately the representative got very firm with me about a 6 week hold on my debit for incidentals,and and that she would have to put a hold of 245.72$ the regular price of the room since I used A hotel value site, She seemed to be discouraged by the hotel value finder i used to book tge hotel,and their value. So I agreed I had a special evening plan,I informed it would be ok,due to my banking institution releasing the funds quickly as soon as the hotel released it. She REPLIED OH NO! IM TELLING YOU SIR AMERICANS WHO COME SAY IT TAKES SIX WEEKS THAT'S WHY YOU SHOUKD HAVE CREDIT CARD......it has nothing to do with us here at the hotel. I wanted to go to another hotel but I believe in my agreement I would've still had to pay since there were no refunds through a hotel value site,due to the great value. So I asked if the room I was getting was nice,she said "IT'S ON THE SIXTH FLOOR FACING PENDER STREET WITH NO VIEW YOU BOOKED THROUGH A HOTEL VALUE FINDER AND THIS IS THE TYPE OF ROOM YOU GET THROUGH THEM,IF YOU WANT A DIFFERENT YOU CAN PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE" All while never smiling or looking at me. My colleague was with me,we drive up together he was on business that day and with during my check in and just shook his head and said to me that's why I don't use travel sites or stay anywhere but the otger hotel just up tge street,I can't believe you're going to still stay here. I will not stay there again. It's been more than 24 hours since I checked out and my says that transaction has been released by that hotel and that hotel is known for taking a bit of time releasing funds that are held. So for that reason I rate them as a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cherry678
Business
B.C.
Apr 1, 2013

GREAT HOTEL!!

Everything was great about this hotel. Staff was amazing, beds were comfortable, great location, great price. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JOrbitz
Business
Orange County, California
Feb 19, 2013

Nice Hotel - Inferior Location

This was our first time in Vancouver, so I can't really compare against other Vancouver hotels. But I've certainly had much better stays in the U.S. for much better prices. The hotel looks beautiful and has some nice amenities. However, our "view" of the ocean was obscured by a big, ugly black office building. We asked the front desk if they had any other rooms, but all that we were shown had the same problem. The worst part was that the office across the way didn't shut off their lights at night! Light was blazing right into our room; a good thing we had some thick curtains. The size of the room was nothing to be impressed with either. But the bed was comfortable, the room was tasteful. It was nice that we were downtown, within a short walk of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agua Dulce Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 16, 2013

Nice room, nice view

We started with a double room because our daughter was with us, but switched to a king room after one night. Definitely better to stay in one of the king rooms. They're much more spacious and comfortable and have views of the water. There is a nice bar and restaurant in the hotel. Parking was expensive, but there were car rental places nearby so you could theoretically get a car for only the days you need one and save a little that way. The location is a bit out of the way, but if you don't mind a healthy walk, you can get to Robson Street, the art museum, and Stanley Park without a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top