$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
152 reviews
Excellent Hotel and Staff!

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel in Vancouver is excellent! The room and hotel are very clean and safe. The... See full review

  • ChristineH8547
  • Jan 2, 2014
Great Rooms with Beautiful views

I stayed here for 6 days and my experience could not have been any better. I was in a standard room... See full review

  • Jose Mr. International
  • Dec 27, 2013
Coal Harbor arrival brings sophisticated style and comfort to downtown

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

49.2886 -123.1222
Area served
Vancouver
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport - 9 Miles/ 15 Kilometres.Vancouver Float Plane Terminal - 2 blocks
Area description
Set against the waterways of Coal Harbour in beautiful downtown Vancouver is the new Coast Coal Harbour Hotel. Imagine flying into Coal Harbour from Victoria and checking into your hotel room within minutes of your floatplane landing. In the morning, you can pick up a cappuccino at the local coffee shop on the way to your first meeting of the day. The hotel is near Stanley Park, Gastown, the Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Convention Centre, and Robson Street's trendy shopping district, with gourmet fare just around the corner.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
SUPERIOR - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
PREMIUM - ROOM
Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

Dining

Prestons
Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
Nov 18, 2010

nice but loud

Enjoyed hot tub, was nice. Pool was chilly. Room was clean, finished with modern touches but not high end. I could hear elevator chimes all night and loud traffic from people going in and out their rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ssob
Seattle Wa.
Apr 2, 2013

First romantic date

My experience has been better at hotels that were rated with less stars,just as clean with the same amenities.......and decent location. The hotel representative seem to be put off by me staying at the hotel through a hotel value finder. Never smiled never addressed me by name at all,no eye contact. Every question I had asked I was replied back to with self ritcheousness it seems. I chose to pay with my debit card,and immediately the representative got very firm with me about a 6 week hold on my debit for incidentals,and and that she would have to put a hold of 245.72$ the regular price of the room since I used A hotel value site, She seemed to be discouraged by the hotel value finder i used to book tge hotel,and their value. So I agreed I had a special evening plan,I informed it would be ok,due to my banking institution releasing the funds quickly as soon as the hotel released it. She REPLIED OH NO! IM TELLING YOU SIR AMERICANS WHO COME SAY IT TAKES SIX WEEKS THAT'S WHY YOU SHOUKD HAVE CREDIT CARD......it has nothing to do with us here at the hotel. I wanted to go to another hotel but I believe in my agreement I would've still had to pay since there were no refunds through a hotel value site,due to the great value. So I asked if the room I was getting was nice,she said "IT'S ON THE SIXTH FLOOR FACING PENDER STREET WITH NO VIEW YOU BOOKED THROUGH A HOTEL VALUE FINDER AND THIS IS THE TYPE OF ROOM YOU GET THROUGH THEM,IF YOU WANT A DIFFERENT YOU CAN PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE" All while never smiling or looking at me. My colleague was with me,we drive up together he was on business that day and with during my check in and just shook his head and said to me that's why I don't use travel sites or stay anywhere but the otger hotel just up tge street,I can't believe you're going to still stay here. I will not stay there again. It's been more than 24 hours since I checked out and my says that transaction has been released by that hotel and that hotel is known for taking a bit of time releasing funds that are held. So for that reason I rate them as a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desperately Seeking Moose
Berkeley, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Good Deal - Clean and Green

Easy walking distance to some great shops and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Greedy Pig is delightful. Tourist firnedly but local popular

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffd2X
Boston MA
Aug 31, 2010

Would return in a heartbeat!!!

Excellent room, new, clean,wonderful view of the ocean inlet. If your not looking for the hotel;you'll walk right by it, thinking that it is a office building. But once up into your room, you will be pleasantly surprised!! I would really stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is a don't miss;Stanley Park. We were there in the end of August. The Rose Gardens were is full bloom. None better, if you want to walk in the gardens. Plan on spending one entire day within the park. Words can't really describe the beauty and awe of this wonderful park. Don't miss it!!

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
University Park, PA
Mar 18, 2011

nice hotel

It is a nice hotel be honest. I travelled with my friend to Vancouver during my spring break and the hotel did provide high quality service. I really like the hotel personally. But the only thing is that is a little bit far from waterfront skytrain station. It took me to walk about 10 to 15 mins. Anyways this is my own feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can1
Georgia
May 5, 2010

Coal coast harbour

Great location close to the convention center ... But rooms were underwhelming and sparesly furnished and the bedding was not great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Robson St

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOrbitz
Orange County, California
Sep 6, 2012

Great Hotel - Not-So-Great Location

Beautiful hotel and the staff were fantastic. The price was a bit on the high side, but it was our first time staying in Vancouver, so it may be that Vancouver hotels are just expensive. The view/location definitely were not 4-star. A plus was that it was close the the harbor. But our "view" was of an office building directly across the street, whose workers could see directly into our room. In addition, said office building never shut off their lights at night! We asked the front desk to see a better "view" room, but it wasn't much better... same office building across the way, but with a sliver of ocean visible to the left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prex
Seattle, WA, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Good, affordable hotel in a convenient location

Stayed 3 nights as a solo traveler. The stay was uneventful in the best way - comfortable, convenient, clean, etc. Free wifi is available in room as well as a premium wifi that has a per day charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BC (outside of Vancouver)
Dec 10, 2010

Good for Convention Access

We chose the Coal Harbor hotel for its convenience to the new Convention Center (the one with the grass roof.) It's an easy 2-block walk there. The hotel is in a quiet area between other hotels (Renaissance and Marriott) and business skyscrapers. The room we had faced west towards town, but because we had a corner room we also could see a bit of Coal Harbor. The rooms are a bit stark but large enough, modern furniture and art with no extra frills. Good lighting for reading in bed or in the comfy chairs, and the floor-to-ceiling windows add some glamour. The bathroom is nice - but not overly fancy. Staff always smiled, and seemed very welcoming. (The two-handed conveyance of cards and bills is a very nice Asian courtesy touch.) Breakfast in Preston's restaurant in the hotel was very good - salmon benedict on cranberry bread - yum! There's also an Urban Fare cafe/grocery at the corner which is super for snacks and even meals if you want to eat in without room service costs. The bed was very comfortable, with a warm down blanket - almost too warm. They had an extra pillow and blanket in the closet so you can fix up your bed to suit yourself. And plenty of closet space. Only downside - the heater was a bit noisy when it kicked in during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try a Japanese dinner at Irashai Grill, 1368 W. Pender St. Not too many veggies on the menu, but wonderful grilled fish, chicken, and many fresh sushi options. Delicious sauces on some of the options. No wines by the glass, but the beers are Japanese. Try the red bean ice cream for dessert. Not cheap, but the quality of the food is worth it.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desperately Seeking Moose
Berkeley, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Good Deal - Clean and Green

Easy walking distance to some great shops and clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Greedy Pig is delightful. Tourist firnedly but local popular

Back to menu Return to top