$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2015 Check-out: Sep 29, 2015

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 15, 2011

Great location & great price

The location of Coast Coal Harbor Hotel was excellent! About 1 block from the harbor & about 5 mins from the Convention Center. It was great to be able to walk along the seawall in the mornings with the beautiful scenery. The rooms were very crisp, clean, & quite, the staff was friendly & was available to assist in making reservations for tours, always very helpful. Overall the experience at the hotel, and the city in general, was great & I would defniately return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NYC
Jan 15, 2011

Nice hotel

Service is very very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Dec 13, 2010

Weekend Trip

Pleasant staff, a nice modern lobby, a simple, clean room. The outdoor heated pool and hot tub were great, and the gym was really well maintained. Parking was extremely expensive. Overall a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
BC (outside of Vancouver)
Dec 10, 2010

Good for Convention Access

We chose the Coal Harbor hotel for its convenience to the new Convention Center (the one with the grass roof.) It's an easy 2-block walk there. The hotel is in a quiet area between other hotels (Renaissance and Marriott) and business skyscrapers. The room we had faced west towards town, but because we had a corner room we also could see a bit of Coal Harbor. The rooms are a bit stark but large enough, modern furniture and art with no extra frills. Good lighting for reading in bed or in the comfy chairs, and the floor-to-ceiling windows add some glamour. The bathroom is nice - but not overly fancy. Staff always smiled, and seemed very welcoming. (The two-handed conveyance of cards and bills is a very nice Asian courtesy touch.) Breakfast in Preston's restaurant in the hotel was very good - salmon benedict on cranberry bread - yum! There's also an Urban Fare cafe/grocery at the corner which is super for snacks and even meals if you want to eat in without room service costs. The bed was very comfortable, with a warm down blanket - almost too warm. They had an extra pillow and blanket in the closet so you can fix up your bed to suit yourself. And plenty of closet space. Only downside - the heater was a bit noisy when it kicked in during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try a Japanese dinner at Irashai Grill, 1368 W. Pender St. Not too many veggies on the menu, but wonderful grilled fish, chicken, and many fresh sushi options. Delicious sauces on some of the options. No wines by the glass, but the beers are Japanese. Try the red bean ice cream for dessert. Not cheap, but the quality of the food is worth it.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto
Nov 18, 2010

nice but loud

Enjoyed hot tub, was nice. Pool was chilly. Room was clean, finished with modern touches but not high end. I could hear elevator chimes all night and loud traffic from people going in and out their rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tacoma, Washington
Oct 3, 2010

Excellent Location and Experience

We arrived early from a cruise ship and they expedited our room well before the check in time. They upgraded us for the inconvenience and then spent a half hour providing us with maps and attractions for our short stay in this wonderful city. You can't ask for better service and the room was perfect for our minimalist taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olympic Cauldron along the Coal Harbour Walk, Robson Street, and fine dining was within a 10 minute walk.

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Hawaii
Sep 15, 2010

Nice stay at a nice hotel!

Staff was first rate. Asked several times for their recommendations for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each restaurant was excellent. I wish that the rooms included a mini-refrigerator to keep cool liquids for our young son. The hotel was very modern and clean. Felt very safe because needed a room key to be able to operate the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington State
Sep 10, 2010

Coal Coast Hotel, Vancouver, BC

Great location! Some rooms overlook the water and have superior views. Walking distance to major tourist areas and Canada Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful dining also just a short walk!

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RIVERSIDE,CA.
Sep 7, 2010

The Best bang for your $$$ THETRAVELBUG

Most of the building are glass exteriors. The views are fantastic of the Bay. The Crusie Ships use this Harbor for the Alaska Cruises. It's a nice new hotel. The staff are helpful and take time to tell you some of the wonderful day trips from Vancouver. We did the Tram ride to the top of Gross Mountain. We use a excellent tour company. They picked us up from the Hotel Lobby and we had a fun day. Pool and Spa in the evening. It was clean and very relaxing. Towels are at the Pool. The Gym is next to the Pool. Everything is neat and Clean. The Hotel was built for the 2010 Olympics. So it's Modern and Clean. The beds are comfortable and the Linens are nice quailty. The Vancouver Coast Hotel is a Lovely Hotel&price. Suzette and Jim Stringer Riverside CA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is Close. Dinning, Shopping, Entertainment. Vancover has it all!! Put on your most Comfortable walking shoes and go have fun. Shop till U drop. Stanley Park is close. The Train/Shuttle runs daily till 12:00 midnight. It goes to the airport. For $7.00 USD we rode the train from the Vancouver airport. It's new, clean and safe. Very busy day and night. The train dropped us off close to the hotel and we walked to the Coast Hotel. It's very Modern and you buy your ticket with cash or credit card. It cost 40.00 USD to take a taxis from the airport. The train is at the airport. you can decide which way to travel. The train is faster and cheaper!! BUY A BUS PASS $9.00 RIDE THE BUS ALL OVER VANCOUVER FOR THE DAY. TRAVEL TIPS FROM SUZETTE STRINGER THE TRAVELBUG

Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeffd2X
Couples
Boston MA
Aug 31, 2010

Would return in a heartbeat!!!

Excellent room, new, clean,wonderful view of the ocean inlet. If your not looking for the hotel;you'll walk right by it, thinking that it is a office building. But once up into your room, you will be pleasantly surprised!! I would really stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is a don't miss;Stanley Park. We were there in the end of August. The Rose Gardens were is full bloom. None better, if you want to walk in the gardens. Plan on spending one entire day within the park. Words can't really describe the beauty and awe of this wonderful park. Don't miss it!!

Back to menu Return to top