$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1180 West Hastings St., Vancouver, BC V6E 4R5

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
121 reviews
Better than the Marriott

I was going to book at the Marriott next door, but it was at capacity, so I chose Coast Caol, and... See full review

  • yamktm
  • Jun 19, 2015
cruise to alaska

We stayed at the Coast Harbor for one night prior to our cruise. The hotel was close to the harbor,... See full review

  • rsc
  • May 21, 2015

Opened in January 2010, this upscale downtown hotel showcases luxury, comfort and urban style. Set in the heart of the city, the Coast Coal Harbor Hotel is minutes from the best of everything Vancouver has to offer. Sweeping views of Coal Harbor, the North Shore Mountains, and the cityscape enhance the sleek, contemporary decor of the spacious guestrooms and suites. It offers quick access to the Vancouver Convention Center and Canada Place, and it is only a short distance from Stanley Park, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and Robson Street.

Rooms

All suites are tastefully decorated and offer luxury bedding, sitting areas with comfortable sofas, full kitchens and free Internet access. Superior, Deluxe, and Penthouse suites also boast balconies with fantastic views of downtown, surrounding mountains and the bay.

Property features

After experiencing the lively pace and exciting pulse of downtown Vancouver, escape to an urban retreat with contemporary style, comfortable furnishings, and free Internet access. Some suites also have balconies with expansive views of Coal Harbor. Prestons, the on-site restaurant, features a Euro-Asian menu and is open daily. Executive continental buffet breakfast is available at this cozy restaurant for an added fee.

The Coast Coal Harbor's zero waste policy lets all guests stay green without giving up a single comfort or modern amenity. Guests can even take advantage of the hotel's carbon offset program to reduce their own contributions to greenhouse gas emissions. A fully equipped fitness center and outdoor pool keep guests in shape during their stay. In addition, dogs accompanying guests will enjoy one of Vancouver's many off-leash parks.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location
  • Sweeping views of the city and its sights
  • Zero-waste policy and environmental commitment
  • Executive continental buffet breakfast (at cost)

Nearby attractions
  • Robson Street (6 blocks)
  • Canada Place (6 blocks)
  • Vancouver Art Gallery (7 blocks)
  • Gastown (0.8 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.3 mi/ 2.2 km)
Business
  • Business Center (open 24 hours)
  • Meeting and conference space for 10-600
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (9 mi/ 14.7 km)
  • Cruise ship terminal (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Skytrain, Pender Street Station (4 blocks)
Policies
  • Coast Coal Harbour valet parking costs $35.57 including taxes.
  • Executive continental buffet breakfast fee is $18 CND per person. Tax and gratuity are not included.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Coast Coal Harbour Hotel also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

    Coast Coal Harbour Hotel Rooms

    STANDARD - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View This Comfort room offers - 2 Double beds - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots not permitted in this room type
    SUPERIOR - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls Daily Newspaper/City View This Superior room offers: - King size bed - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable) - Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service. Notes: - Cots are permitted in this room type
    PREMIUM - ROOM
    Free Internet Access/Free Local Calls. Daily Newspaper/City View. This Premium room offers: - King size bed - Seperate sitting area - Larger room - Terry cloth bathrobes - Upgraded bath amenities. All rooms offer: - 36 inch LCD TV (HD-capable)- Work desk - Wired and wireless Internet - Complimentary local calls - Telephone with voicemail - Alarm clock - Hairdryer - Iron and ironing board - Coffee maker with to-go cups - Tea/Hot chocolate - Morning newspaper - Air conditioning - Individual climate control - Video on demand - 24 hr Room service - Cots are permitted in this room type

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Dining
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
    • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
    • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
    • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
    • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
    • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
    • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
    • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
    • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
    • General Motors Place: 1 mi
    • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
    • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
    • False Creek: 1.2 mi
    • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
    • English Bay: 1.8 mi
    • Marine Building: 0.3 mi
    • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.3 mi
    • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.3 mi
    • Canada Place: 0.5 mi
    • Vancouver Lookout: 0.5 mi
    • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
    • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
    • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
    • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
    • General Motors Place: 1 mi
    • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
    • Stanley Park: 1.1 mi
    • False Creek: 1.2 mi
    • Granville Island: 1.3 mi
    • English Bay: 1.8 mi
    • Kitsilano Pool: 1.9 mi
    • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.6 mi
    • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
    • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
    • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.5 mi
    • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 5.1 mi
    • Lynn Canyon Park: 5.9 mi
    • University of British Columbia: 6.1 mi
    • Museum of Anthropology: 6.2 mi
    • UBC Botanical Garden: 6.2 mi
    • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.4 mi
    • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.6 mi

    Dining

    Prestons
    Invite your friends and colleagues to join you in our casual fine dining restaurant serving West Coast cuisine at its freshest. Prestons, with a capacity of 100 is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Worry free meetings at the Coast. Whether you are planning an intimate boardroom meeting for ten, or a conference for 600, the Coast Coal Harbour provides the perfect venue. Meeting planners can count on our seasoned staff to accommodate all of your needs, and also be rest assured that the finest cuisine is served and the latest in audiovisual technology is on hand. The 5,000 square foot Coal Harbour Ballroom, provides ample space for conferences up to 600 people. This room of grandeur features 19 foot floor to ceiling windows infused with coloured glass to better reflect the ambiance the city and environment have to offer. Two permanent boardrooms and four other meeting rooms provide additional space. For more intimate gatherings the hotel also has suites available for meetings of up to six, which come complete with a wet bar and private access to a terrace patio.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    121 out of 121
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.8
    Hotel staff:
    4.6
    Comfort:
    4.6
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.3

    93% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    JoaoS
    Business
    Chciago
    Dec 6, 2013

    Worst experience ever

    Hi, I had the worst experience at the COAST hotel in Vancouver. I was there for my break. Horrible odor, noise next door neighbor at 1am and 6:30 am. Requested a taxi from front desk guy, waited for 30 minutes, never showed up - had to grab a cab from the street. Management not helpful - traded rooms, as they should have, for I had 2 more nights at this horrible hotel. Overall, really bad experience. Joao

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Sunz
    Business
    San Francisco, CA
    Nov 10, 2014

    Less Than Expected

    The staff was fine. The room was big .. but Empty .. The furniture was very low end Ikea-ish. The room looked like they had forgotten some furniture. The chair while a high end piece was horribly stained. So much so that I refused to sit in it. The night stands were old and very basic. The lamps slid across tables (meaning they had no weight to them). The room accommodations really need some work. Again the size was great. The staff was very friendly and professional. IT was just the room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Hys Steak House. Great Steak recommended to me. Pricey but worth it.

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    JOrbitz
    Business
    Orange County, California
    Feb 19, 2013

    Nice Hotel - Inferior Location

    This was our first time in Vancouver, so I can't really compare against other Vancouver hotels. But I've certainly had much better stays in the U.S. for much better prices. The hotel looks beautiful and has some nice amenities. However, our "view" of the ocean was obscured by a big, ugly black office building. We asked the front desk if they had any other rooms, but all that we were shown had the same problem. The worst part was that the office across the way didn't shut off their lights at night! Light was blazing right into our room; a good thing we had some thick curtains. The size of the room was nothing to be impressed with either. But the bed was comfortable, the room was tasteful. It was nice that we were downtown, within a short walk of everything.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Ssob
    Business
    Seattle Wa.
    Apr 2, 2013

    First romantic date

    My experience has been better at hotels that were rated with less stars,just as clean with the same amenities.......and decent location. The hotel representative seem to be put off by me staying at the hotel through a hotel value finder. Never smiled never addressed me by name at all,no eye contact. Every question I had asked I was replied back to with self ritcheousness it seems. I chose to pay with my debit card,and immediately the representative got very firm with me about a 6 week hold on my debit for incidentals,and and that she would have to put a hold of 245.72$ the regular price of the room since I used A hotel value site, She seemed to be discouraged by the hotel value finder i used to book tge hotel,and their value. So I agreed I had a special evening plan,I informed it would be ok,due to my banking institution releasing the funds quickly as soon as the hotel released it. She REPLIED OH NO! IM TELLING YOU SIR AMERICANS WHO COME SAY IT TAKES SIX WEEKS THAT'S WHY YOU SHOUKD HAVE CREDIT CARD......it has nothing to do with us here at the hotel. I wanted to go to another hotel but I believe in my agreement I would've still had to pay since there were no refunds through a hotel value site,due to the great value. So I asked if the room I was getting was nice,she said "IT'S ON THE SIXTH FLOOR FACING PENDER STREET WITH NO VIEW YOU BOOKED THROUGH A HOTEL VALUE FINDER AND THIS IS THE TYPE OF ROOM YOU GET THROUGH THEM,IF YOU WANT A DIFFERENT YOU CAN PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE" All while never smiling or looking at me. My colleague was with me,we drive up together he was on business that day and with during my check in and just shook his head and said to me that's why I don't use travel sites or stay anywhere but the otger hotel just up tge street,I can't believe you're going to still stay here. I will not stay there again. It's been more than 24 hours since I checked out and my says that transaction has been released by that hotel and that hotel is known for taking a bit of time releasing funds that are held. So for that reason I rate them as a 3 star.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Obsydion
    Business
    Calgary, Alberta Canada
    Nov 2, 2013

    October weekend away

    Walking distance to Coal Harbor and Stanley Park. 10 minute walk to/from Skytrain. Foyer/Lobby is a little clinical but staff very friendly and helpful. Room was nice, clean, nice big bathroom. Decent wifi. Gym is very sparse and the pool tiny but functional. The hot tub is very popular. Situated on (far) West Hastings you may be lucky enough to get a room with a view of the harbor (between two tall buildings). Nice array of cable channels but audio was faulty. If you want a business hotel close to the aforementioned locations, then look no further.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Robson St has plenty of great restaurants!

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    Mar 17, 2008

    weekend trip

    The hotel is showing it's age and could use some updating...check in was interesting, the lobby doors are closed at 9p and check in is done through a window like paying for gasoline at a gas station and you had to put down a $30 deposit for a TV remote which you get back at check out, I have never had to do that before...house keeping was great the rooms were neat and very clean just a bit run down...Also, the swimming pool was unusable...hotel does has great freeway access and the location was great...However I don't think I will be staying at this hotel again...

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    Very close to spring training baseball fields.

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Toronto
    Nov 18, 2010

    nice but loud

    Enjoyed hot tub, was nice. Pool was chilly. Room was clean, finished with modern touches but not high end. I could hear elevator chimes all night and loud traffic from people going in and out their rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Yellowknife NT
    Apr 14, 2010

    All right for an overnight

    Hotel is new, but very ordinary. Bed is too soft and pillows extremly uncomfortable. Location good if you like to walk.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    InHollywood
    Business
    Los Angeles
    Jul 21, 2014

    Not a luxury hotel

    The hotel itself is fine. Great location, nice staff, lovely lobby. But the room was too stark, and felt like an upscale commuter hotel, rather than a luxury hotel. Doesn't justify the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Coast Coal Harbour Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Tom 5255
    Business
    Seattle
    Jan 2, 2014

    Boxing Day stayh

    Good hotel for boxing day as location is only a few blocks away. Room was fine, clean, large enough. Good bathtub for soaking. Pool is outside, which heated or not, makes no sense. Exercise room is small, inadequate. Meals were quite good - seafood chowder is a winner. Service was absolutely excellent from beginning to end, and despite lack of concierge, informed about where to go for good eats.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top