$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

3 stars
1015 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
178 reviews
Good hotel

This is a 3 star hotel, so you can't expect too much. It is also in downtown. The price was decent.... See full review

  • Ross C.
  • Jan 5, 2015
vacation

the hotel was beautiful. the room was very large with a sofa and full kitchen and a queen size bed... See full review

  • happy couple together
  • Nov 21, 2014
All the comforts of home in the heart of exciting downtown Vancouver

Feel right at home in the center of all that Vancouver has to offer. From shopping and dining on haute Robson Street or in hip Yaletown to star-spotting at Absolute Spa's on-site location, the Century Plaza Hotel and Spa keeps guests in home-style comfort right in the heart of downtown. Updated and remodeled, the lobby and suites reflect a contemporary style without sacrificing the comfortable, home-like ambiance the hotel is known for. And the location couldn't be better. Guests are only blocks from Robson Street, English Bay beaches, VCEC and Yaletown.

Highlights
  • Central location puts guests in the heart of lively downtown Vancouver
  • Star favorite and award winner Absolute Spa on the premises
  • Comfortable home-like ambiance with modern amenities and contemporary style
  • Fully-equipped fitness center and complimentary Wi-Fi access
Location

The central location allows for an easy walk to the famous shops and restaurants of Robson Street, an exploration of the trendy Yaletown neighborhood, a stroll and a picnic at gorgeous English Bay or a visit to iconic Stanley Park.

Rooms

All suites are spacious with magnificent city, mountain or ocean views; kitchenettes or full kitchens and high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living space with a pull-out double sofa-bed and full-size balconies. All kitchens are equipped with a refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker and a dining table.

Features

Absolute Spa's award-winning on-site flagship location offers world class services and is popular with some of today's hottest stars, including Ben Affleck, Charlize Theron and Jennifer Lopez. (Reservations are recommended.) All guests are welcome to use the chemical-free indoor pool and eucalyptus steam rooms and fully equipped fitness center. The on-site Beyond Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a contemporary setting from 7:00 a.m. to midnight, seven days a week. The Comedy Mix is the hotel's own comedy club. (Reservations strongly recommended.) Free Wi-Fi Internet access is available.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard station (4 blocks)
  • Translink city bus (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yaletown (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • VCEC (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • English Bay (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • Six meeting and conference rooms, one with 300-person capacity
  • Seven blocks from Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant will be closed from 05 Jan 2015. Expected reopening date is at the end of February 2015. The cafe and room service options will be available for dining needs.
  • The hotel allows maximum of 2 pets at $40 CAD per night per pet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Century Plaza Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Century Plaza Hotel and Spa Rooms

Studio Suite
Luxurious studio accommodations at approx. 450 sq. ft., offer either 1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds. These spacious suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, kitchen or kitchenette appliances including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker, a sitting area and dining table for 2, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.
One Bedroom Suite
Luxurious suite accommodations at approx. 650 sq. ft., offer either 1 King or 2 Double beds. These specious 1 bedroom suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, full kitchen facilities including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker with dining area, a separate living space with a portable queen-size inflatable bed, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature full size balconies with panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.6 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.8 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Comedy Mix
Comedy Club offering stand up comedy, moderately priced dining options and a full bar.
Beyond Restaurant & Lounge
Located on the lobby level, beyond restaurant & lounge is the new scene to be seen with its winning combination of casual elegance, West Coast charm and vibrant cuisine. Recognized as one of Vancouver's "top ten new restaurants in 2007", "best West Coast cuisine" and recipient of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence three years running, beyond has burst onto the Vancouver dining scene. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner or for tapas in our lounge, beyond takes classic favorites and makes them new and irresistible. Using unique combinations and bold presentation - come experience beyond.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa offers four different meeting rooms which have recently been renovated to give a contemporary fresh look. The Burrard Ballroom, Salon A and Salon B are located on the mezzanine level of the hotel. The Century Ballroom is located on the lower lobby level right beside Yuk Yuks Comedy Club. This unique combination allows your guests to dine in our lower ballroom, followed by one of our fantastic comedy shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 178
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
May 4, 2009

bad

terrible staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doggiedougie
Business
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

Super location

this hotel has been updated and is very comfortable. Restaurant food excellent and the location is greT For all downtown amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2010

Didn't meet our expectations

The bathroom sink faucets needed lubricating, and we had considerable difficulty adjusting water temperature in the shower - it was either too hot or too cold. It would have been nicer if the maid didn't make the bed using the dirty sheet we had put on the floor. The kitchenette was very useful to us. There were enough dishes - though the frying pan was missing! The people at the front desk were very polite and curteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Disappointed.
Business
Northeast US
Jul 26, 2010

Overrated

The quality of the hotel was clearly overstated. The bedroom contained 2 single beds instead of a queen or 2 double beds as advertised. And, the bedroom was not airconditioned. The living room was good size but the furnishings were certainly dated and less comfortable. More attention needs to be paid to important basics such as the quality of the sofa bed, draperies, and furnishings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dine outside hotel. Lower expectations for accommodations. It is advertised as a 3-star but its services and accommodations are more similar to a 2-star hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miks
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 1, 2009

Great location, but unclean rooms

Location is great. Reception staff is friendly. Check-in and check out were smooth and hassle free. Unfortunately the rooms were not quite clean. The bathtub was cloggled, the flush broken. The room smelt really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 24, 2010

Take the train...

This was a trip for pleasure while my mother in law was in town, and we booked the hotel last minute. It was a great price and fantastic location, within walking distance to everything. Vancouver is a great city, but the crime and drug use is pretty bad and out in the open. Seemed to bother us less the last time my husband and I were there. The 24 hours we were there this time was great until this happened:We checked out around 9:30am, but parking in the hotel garage was covered until 12pm, ($20 per day to park) so we took off for a walk to Gastown and had a nice lunch. Running a little later than noon, we decided to call our favorite conceirge, [...], to make sure we wouldn't get a ticket or be towed. He assured us that our car would be fine, that he would take a look, and to take our time to enjoy the rest of our visit. Big mistake.When we returned to the car about an hour and a half later, we popped the trunk to access our luggage, realizing that our three carry-on bags were gone, while other semi-valuable items remained. There was absolutely NO trace of forced entry into our car. Then this is where it gets a little fishy....We go back into the hotel to see if we can talk to Gerry and call the non emergency police, but Gerry is no where to be found. About fifteen minutes later while on hold with the Vancouver police, we see the parking garage attendant walk in (we'd seen him right after we noticed our stuff was missing), with our bags in hand, saying that he had just found them in the stairwell, contents strewn everywhere. We were so relieved and thankful at this moment that we didn't think anything of him running back out the door a second later, while another concierge shoved a comment card at us, telling us to fill it out for this guy, [...] was his name, so that his boss knew what a great thing he just did. As we look through our bags, everyone's belongings mixed together, we discover the only things stolen are a 160 GB IPod, a point and shoot camera, and a brand new Roots sweatshirt. About $700 worth of stuff, but prescription drugs, $300 boots, and other new pieces of clothing still there. Huh. As we drove home, and the rest of the evening we began thinking through the events, and it kept seeming more suspicious to us. Anyway, if anyone has been a victim of a theft, you know how that gut sinking, violated feeling is. It left us with a bad feeling about the hotel, the city, and was an unfortunate way to end our short trip. So take this as you will, even if you think we are idiots for leaving our luggage in our locked car, hidden in the trunk out of sight, I guess it's just a reminder not too trust anyone, anywhere. We were too naive and too trusting this time around.As far as the rest of the hotel specifics, the bed and pillows were HORRIBLY uncomfortable, and the air didn't work, therefore it was super hot on the 25th floor even with windows open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Francisco's Italian

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ca
Sep 8, 2010

Not that great

[...] I am not happy with this property. The room we got 2102 was at a old portion of the hotel. It needs lot more updating. It had only 1 AC in the living room. Bedroom was getting very hot. Both rooms were shabby and need fresh coat of paint. Balcony and glass doors were dusty. Also the TV remote didn't work at first. We took this suite because we had 2 teenage children. That room didn't have enough plates and cups. The front lobby looks very impressive but not the actual room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mtdubs
Business
Berwyn, Pa
Jul 16, 2012

Good value

Third time I've stayed here. The rooms (really large-suite type) need updating (no AC in bedroom e.g.) but it's a great location and the restaurant and staff are wonderful. I'd stay here again. There's a wonderful spa and coffee shop as well. Very centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2-3 blocks from the Sky Train to and from the airport. Much cheaper (around $5) than a taxi ride (about $40)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon, USA
Nov 7, 2010

Very convenient location

We stay in the hotel on the way to Whistler. The location way great, you may just walk to almost everything in downtown. The room (Superior Suite - 1BR with Kitchen, Balcony)was located on 8th floor and had a very nice view on Sheraton hotel with the wonderful water features and night lights.I cannot complain about an outside noise, since I use to leave on very busy city street. Both beds in the BR were nice and cozy. The love-seat-bed was easy to make. There is a lock of disability parking spots (only two on the first floor), but we got lucky and were able to park there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andychucky
Business
Seattle
Nov 29, 2010

Vancouver city...

Lobby fantastic, hotel rooms somewhat dated. Inner city location saved this old gem... Staff attitude varied, not so helpful in the mornings...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top