$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

3 stars
View map of 1015 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y5

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
180 reviews
Good hotel

This is a 3 star hotel, so you can't expect too much. It is also in downtown. The price was decent.... See full review

  • Ross C.
  • Jan 5, 2015
vacation

the hotel was beautiful. the room was very large with a sofa and full kitchen and a queen size bed... See full review

  • happy couple together
  • Nov 21, 2014
The innovative and contemporary lobby design reflects the modernization of this landmark hotel in the centre of Vancouver. From the trendy pillar booths in the lobby to the kitchen-equipped suites in the hotel, the family-owned and operated Century Plaza strives to provide guests with a home-away-from-home ambience. Families and business travelers, especially those requiring space to meet and entertain clients in a hotel with full amenities, appreciate the oversized guestrooms and extra furnishings provided in the separate seating areas. Located in the heart of downtown the hotel offers the complete Vancouver experience to all of its guests. This central location on Burrard Street is walking distance to Robson Street's shopping and dining, Yaletown's trendy boutiques and English Bay's beaches. The Century Plaza is at the center of everything Vancouver has to offer and just a 10 minute walk to the Canada Line, linking YVR Airport to Downtown. The Century Plaza Hotel is in itself in a destination experience. A guest or patron may never find it necessary to leave the premises. From top to bottom, side to side, the hotel is a multi-sensory experiential hotspot in Vancouver. A European-style spa famous with locals and visiting celebrities past clients at the Absolute Spa include supermodel Elle MacPherson and singer Christina Aguilera. Reservations are recommended. All guests are welcome to use the chemical-free indoor pool and eucalyptus steam rooms. The 300 seat Beyond Restaurant and Lounge is located in the far end of the lobby, offering Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in a contemporary setting. On-site entertainment is available in the hotel's own comedy club, which features moderately priced entertainment, a full bar, and light snacks. Reservations strongly recommended. Wireless Internet access is available in public areas free of charge. The Century-Plaza Hotel is committed to sustainable living through its 'Green Initiative' Program in which guests can partake, as well as the implementation of our new 100% Chemical Free Commercial Cleaning System to help minimize our carbon footprint and have a positive environmental impact. Please note the restaurant will be closed as of January 5th with an anticipated re-open date at the end of February. The cafe and room service options will be available for dining. Pets accepted for $40/night per pet. Maximum 2 pets. Complimentary Wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Century Plaza Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Century Plaza Hotel and Spa Rooms

Studio Suite
Luxurious studio accommodations at approx. 450 sq. ft., offer either 1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds. These spacious suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, kitchen or kitchenette appliances including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker, a sitting area and dining table for 2, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.
One Bedroom Suite
Luxurious suite accommodations at approx. 650 sq. ft., offer either 1 King or 2 Double beds. These specious 1 bedroom suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, full kitchen facilities including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker with dining area, a separate living space with a portable queen-size inflatable bed, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature full size balconies with panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.6 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.8 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Comedy Mix
Comedy Club offering stand up comedy, moderately priced dining options and a full bar.
Beyond Restaurant & Lounge
Located on the lobby level, beyond restaurant & lounge is the new scene to be seen with its winning combination of casual elegance, West Coast charm and vibrant cuisine. Recognized as one of Vancouver's "top ten new restaurants in 2007", "best West Coast cuisine" and recipient of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence three years running, beyond has burst onto the Vancouver dining scene. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner or for tapas in our lounge, beyond takes classic favorites and makes them new and irresistible. Using unique combinations and bold presentation - come experience beyond.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa offers four different meeting rooms which have recently been renovated to give a contemporary fresh look. The Burrard Ballroom, Salon A and Salon B are located on the mezzanine level of the hotel. The Century Ballroom is located on the lower lobby level right beside Yuk Yuks Comedy Club. This unique combination allows your guests to dine in our lower ballroom, followed by one of our fantastic comedy shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alaskan cruisers
Business
Pennsylvania
May 14, 2014

One night stay

My husband and I needed just a one night stay before we went on our dream vacation, an Alaskan cruise. This hotel was fantastic. We were in a suite with a balcony and the view was fabulous. The price was normally over 200.00 a night for this room but I got a really great deal. I would definitely stay there again if we are ever in Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TBeau
Business
Bellevue, WA
Jan 25, 2011

Nice Experience

[...] got a good rate for a central downtown location. It's a busy downtown and even on the upper floors there is street noise, so expect that. The room was very comfortable, not pretentious, or some might use elegant. My room had a wet bar, two queens and plenty of living room. I found the building to be old and well maintained. The help was great at the bar and restaurant and the check-in/out counter. Taxi service in downtown is great and fares are OK, $8 for a one mile trip to the Convention Center and Canada Place, taking ten minutes (in pouring rain). The dinner prices in the hotel restaurant are steep, >$23 for one entree, if there is not a special. I thought the dinner special was a good value, well prepared and plenty of food (three courses)for $27. Breakfast is a better value. I would definitely use this hotel again and be on the look for local restaurants in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Jen
Business
Olympia, WA
Jan 9, 2011

Great hotel!

The hotel is beautiful and close to everything in downtown Vancouver. The staff was especially friendly and the rooms are wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Robson Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
channah
Business
Prince George, BC
Jun 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I was a kidney donor and stayed at the Century Plaza post surgery. It was very convenient to St. Paul's Hospital, the suite was roomy and comfortable, and I really enjoyed my stay there. Special kudos to the doorman who never failed to ask how I was doing and who was very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good food in a short walking distance. Close to a grocery store, and for those who want such things, there were some really good churches close by for Sunday worship.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bari,italy
Aug 16, 2009

well located downtown vancouver

Working In your reservation I couldn't pick up between twin beds or a king size, so they gave a room with twin beds which were too small,so they accomodated me ina smoking room and then they moved me the day after that was stressful to me. I already knew the place so I couldn't compare it to previous ones

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super dudes
Business
WA
Jun 7, 2010

century

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Peter, Minnesota
Jun 30, 2010

Overall great deal

Overall - good deal ([...]) but there were a few let downs for a hotel of this caliber. The room was spacious and well cared for - although the lake of direct lighting anywhere except over the desk in a tiny alcove was a bit of a disappointment but that is a minor point.I also found the lack of Internet access (you can pay 9.00/day) a bit annoying given the cost of the hotel. If Holiday Inn and other far less expensive hotels can offer free in-room Internet why can't the Century Plaza?I placed my room service breakfast order (per instructions) but it was never picked up and had to call after waiting for it for 30 minutes. When it arrived it was warm at best and there wasn't any place it eat at except the sofa or bed. The pool is adequate but ran out of towel and the men's showers were better than the women's (e.g. multiple shower heads). The newspapers (included in price but you can decline and get the .75 per day and 1.50 for Sunday paper credited which is what I would recommend) are a 'pile' on the floor by the elevator - which I wasn't told - so I only got the paper one out of four mornings there as they were all gone by 9am when I left the room. Also, I didn't get the Sunday paper and when I called about it was told "they don't get the Sunday paper" yet it is included in the room price. The cleaning staff was great and the room as cleaned daily regardless of whether I asked or not with the bed made daily.The kitchen was a pleasant surprise - I has expected a microwave only but the was a fully functional kitchen with dishes, pots, and pans. With a local market (IGA) nearby it was easy to make meals and the coffee provided was fantastic. Another nice plus was the $10 voucher for the hotel's restaurant (not the coffee shop) that was provided at check in. I used it for a lavish desert; it was great - creme brulee - and well worth the calories.The bottom line for me is that it is a well located and well run (for the most part) place and I would book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hillsboro oregon
Jun 28, 2010

lobby great, rooms just okay

We wanted decent lodging (we spent most of our day outside of the hotel) and we got that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid-westerner
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2009

Good location, nicely renovated rooms.

The outside of the hotel looks fairly plain, but the lobby and the rooms have been nicely renovated and look first class. The location is very handy in downtown Vancouver, within walking distance of Stanley Park, skytrain, shopping, restaurants,etc. As a bonus, there is a comedy club in the same building and I took in a show one night which I really enjoyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Check out the comedy club in the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jun 9, 2009

Good Service | Decent Rooms

Hotel staff was friendly. They upgraded us to the Honeymoon Suite which was far more roomier than the other suites. But rooms are old and not so modern. We are vegetarian and the restaurant accidentally served us some non-vegetarian foods. However, they didn't charge us for the meal, and also brought up a complementary fruit tray up to our room afterwards. Overall, good location, hotel has a nice lobby, nice lounge are-beyond, and swimming pool is a nice hidden amenity on the lower floor. They have a laundriette machine on the 5th floor too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson street has tons of shops and food. Best street to hang out for shopping and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top