$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

3 stars
1015 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
174 reviews
DOWNTOWN GEM!

Centrally located in downtown Vancouver! Waited a bit too long for the room to be ready at check in... See full review

  • Gemini Joe
  • Aug 2, 2014
Beautiful city, beautiful hotel

I spent only one night in Century Plaza hotel after moving from another nearby hotel that I didn't... See full review

  • salween
  • May 9, 2014
All the comforts of home in the heart of exciting downtown Vancouver

Feel right at home in the center of all that Vancouver has to offer. From shopping and dining on haute Robson Street or in hip Yaletown to star-spotting at Absolute Spa's on-site location, the Century Plaza Hotel and Spa keeps guests in home-style comfort right in the heart of downtown. Updated and remodeled, the lobby and suites reflect a contemporary style without sacrificing the comfortable, home-like ambiance the hotel is known for. And the location couldn't be better. Guests are only blocks from Robson Street, English Bay beaches, VCEC and Yaletown.

Highlights
  • Central location puts guests in the heart of lively downtown Vancouver
  • Star favorite and award winner Absolute Spa on the premises
  • Comfortable home-like ambiance with modern amenities and contemporary style
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Location

The central location allows for an easy walk to the famous shops and restaurants of Robson Street, an exploration of the trendy Yaletown neighborhood, a stroll and a picnic at gorgeous English Bay or a visit to iconic Stanley Park.

Rooms

All suites are spacious with magnificent city, mountain or ocean views; kitchenettes or full kitchens and high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living space with a pull-out double sofa-bed and full-size balconies. All kitchens are equipped with a refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker and a dining table.

Features

Absolute Spa's award-winning on-site flagship location offers world class services and is popular with some of today's hottest stars, including Ben Affleck, Charlize Theron and Jennifer Lopez. (Reservations are recommended.) All guests are welcome to use the chemical-free indoor pool and eucalyptus steam rooms. The on-site Beyond Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a contemporary setting from 7:00 a.m. to midnight, seven days a week. The Comedy Mix is the hotel's own comedy club. (Reservations strongly recommended.) Free Wi-Fi Internet access is available.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard station (4 blocks)
  • Translink city bus (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yaletown (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • VCEC (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • English Bay (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • Six meeting and conference rooms, one with 300-person capacity
  • Seven blocks from Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The breezeway will undergo renovation from 7 Oct to 31 Oct to improve the hotel entrance.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

49.281 -123.1261
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport.(YVR)
Area description
Right downtown on Burrard Street, walking distance to Robson Street's shopping and dining, Yaletown's trendy boutiques and lounges, English Bay's beaches, just a 10 minute walk to the Canada Line, linking YVR Airport to downtown, the Century Plaza is at the center of everything Vancouver has to offer.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Century Plaza Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Century Plaza Hotel and Spa Rooms

Studio Suite
Luxurious studio accommodations at approx. 450 sq. ft., offer either 1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds. These spacious suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, kitchen or kitchenette appliances including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker, a sitting area and dining table for 2, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.
One Bedroom Suite
Luxurious suite accommodations at approx. 650 sq. ft., offer either 1 Queen or 2 Single beds. These specious 1 bedroom suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, full kitchen facilities including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker with dining area, a separate living space with a pull-out double sofa-bed, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature full size balconies with panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.1 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.1 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.6 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.8 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Comedy Mix
Comedy Club offering stand up comedy, moderately priced dining options and a full bar.
Beyond Restaurant & Lounge
Located on the lobby level, beyond restaurant & lounge is the new scene to be seen with its winning combination of casual elegance, West Coast charm and vibrant cuisine. Recognized as one of Vancouver's "top ten new restaurants in 2007", "best West Coast cuisine" and recipient of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence three years running, beyond has burst onto the Vancouver dining scene. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner or for tapas in our lounge, beyond takes classic favorites and makes them new and irresistible. Using unique combinations and bold presentation - come experience beyond.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa offers four different meeting rooms which have recently been renovated to give a contemporary fresh look. The Burrard Ballroom, Salon A and Salon B are located on the mezzanine level of the hotel. The Century Ballroom is located on the lower lobby level right beside Yuk Yuks Comedy Club. This unique combination allows your guests to dine in our lower ballroom, followed by one of our fantastic comedy shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kali16
Business
Kelowna, BC
Nov 20, 2012

Solid, Comfortable Convenience

When I booked the hotel, I did so based on location. I didn't know Vancouver very well at all and just had to make sure it was close to the convention centre. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was near many good, local restaurants as well as a movie theatre and some upper-end shopping. However, what made my stay really memorable was the extremely approachable, friendly staff. They all had personalities which were beyond the usual "yes ma'am" lackey that I usually see behind a front desk. Full points for that :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 8, 2008

Reasons not to stay here.

I have been to other Century Plaza properties and have always been impressed. The hotel is 1 block away from a church. The rooms have a small kitchenette, there are no cooking utensils, you have to contact housekeeping for them. My wife prefers feather pillows, and there weren't any in the room so we called housekeeping and asked for some. They never brought them and never bothered to call. The walls had scratches in the paint in some areas, the carpets had stains, the toilet didn't flush properly, and the shower leaked enough water on the floor to wet the carpet outside the bathroom. The linen's were not big enough to adequately cover the mattress or pillows, internet access was $9 per day and parking was $15 per day. On the lighter side, the hotel is 3 or 4 blocks from the big mall and Robson street. If you like to walk, Stanley Park is 20 minutes walk away. If you like to go to the spa and comedy club, then maybe the hotel is OK, but I was very disappointed. We ended up checking out 2 days early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
May 4, 2009

bad

terrible staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doggiedougie
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Oct 11, 2011

Super location

this hotel has been updated and is very comfortable. Restaurant food excellent and the location is greT For all downtown amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Oct 24, 2010

Take the train...

This was a trip for pleasure while my mother in law was in town, and we booked the hotel last minute. It was a great price and fantastic location, within walking distance to everything. Vancouver is a great city, but the crime and drug use is pretty bad and out in the open. Seemed to bother us less the last time my husband and I were there. The 24 hours we were there this time was great until this happened:We checked out around 9:30am, but parking in the hotel garage was covered until 12pm, ($20 per day to park) so we took off for a walk to Gastown and had a nice lunch. Running a little later than noon, we decided to call our favorite conceirge, [...], to make sure we wouldn't get a ticket or be towed. He assured us that our car would be fine, that he would take a look, and to take our time to enjoy the rest of our visit. Big mistake.When we returned to the car about an hour and a half later, we popped the trunk to access our luggage, realizing that our three carry-on bags were gone, while other semi-valuable items remained. There was absolutely NO trace of forced entry into our car. Then this is where it gets a little fishy....We go back into the hotel to see if we can talk to Gerry and call the non emergency police, but Gerry is no where to be found. About fifteen minutes later while on hold with the Vancouver police, we see the parking garage attendant walk in (we'd seen him right after we noticed our stuff was missing), with our bags in hand, saying that he had just found them in the stairwell, contents strewn everywhere. We were so relieved and thankful at this moment that we didn't think anything of him running back out the door a second later, while another concierge shoved a comment card at us, telling us to fill it out for this guy, [...] was his name, so that his boss knew what a great thing he just did. As we look through our bags, everyone's belongings mixed together, we discover the only things stolen are a 160 GB IPod, a point and shoot camera, and a brand new Roots sweatshirt. About $700 worth of stuff, but prescription drugs, $300 boots, and other new pieces of clothing still there. Huh. As we drove home, and the rest of the evening we began thinking through the events, and it kept seeming more suspicious to us. Anyway, if anyone has been a victim of a theft, you know how that gut sinking, violated feeling is. It left us with a bad feeling about the hotel, the city, and was an unfortunate way to end our short trip. So take this as you will, even if you think we are idiots for leaving our luggage in our locked car, hidden in the trunk out of sight, I guess it's just a reminder not too trust anyone, anywhere. We were too naive and too trusting this time around.As far as the rest of the hotel specifics, the bed and pillows were HORRIBLY uncomfortable, and the air didn't work, therefore it was super hot on the 25th floor even with windows open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don Francisco's Italian

Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miks
Seattle, WA
Sep 1, 2009

Great location, but unclean rooms

Location is great. Reception staff is friendly. Check-in and check out were smooth and hassle free. Unfortunately the rooms were not quite clean. The bathtub was cloggled, the flush broken. The room smelt really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Namhee
Seattle, Washington
Aug 25, 2013

Weekend birthday trip

The hotel seemed very nice on the site. There was a coupon offering $20 credit to anything inclu. valet, room service, movie etc. but since I did not book the room from the actual site they would not honor it. Also, it was the 3 of us and I had gotten the room for 2, the woman that was helping me asked if there were 3 when she saw my sister. I told her no, that she was leaving later. I have never had any hotel ask me upfront about the guests that are staying and insinuating that I pay for an extra person. The staff wasn't as friendly and accommodating as I thought they would be. The only staff member that had good customer service was the bell hop. They Make you valet your own car when you are paying for it, not to mention you are paying $21 a night and the garage is behind the hotel. When we got to our room it had a weird smell from the outside. The apartment style suite was nice that it had a couch, kitchen, living room and balcony but this was the only option since they had nothing else available. The AC was in the living room and there was no air circulation in the other room which left it muggy even though we had it on full blast. Also, the closet door was broken, the sinks would shoot out water, the toilet creaked when you sat on them and lastly could not take a shower without having to constantly adjust the temperature from hot to cold, cold to hot (such a pain), We had asked for ice and more towels and it seemed to take forever to have anyone come up. There was free wifi and the kitchen was great because we had leftovers from a restaurant and we could make our own drinks before going to clubs. Overall, it was an okay stay. On the site it said 4.0/5 I would give it maybe a 3.5. A few months before that I had stayed at The Georgian Hotel on Beatty St. And I would prefer to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Disappointed.
Northeast US
Jul 26, 2010

Overrated

The quality of the hotel was clearly overstated. The bedroom contained 2 single beds instead of a queen or 2 double beds as advertised. And, the bedroom was not airconditioned. The living room was good size but the furnishings were certainly dated and less comfortable. More attention needs to be paid to important basics such as the quality of the sofa bed, draperies, and furnishings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dine outside hotel. Lower expectations for accommodations. It is advertised as a 3-star but its services and accommodations are more similar to a 2-star hotel.

Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2010

Didn't meet our expectations

The bathroom sink faucets needed lubricating, and we had considerable difficulty adjusting water temperature in the shower - it was either too hot or too cold. It would have been nicer if the maid didn't make the bed using the dirty sheet we had put on the floor. The kitchenette was very useful to us. There were enough dishes - though the frying pan was missing! The people at the front desk were very polite and curteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Not exactly what it seemed

I expected an updated, European-type room and what I got was not exactly that. The lobby was upgraded and looked clean and bright. The rooms had old furniture and fixtures and reminded me of a much cheaper hotel. Also my room was a 1 bedroom (upgrade) and looked just like a reformatted apartment. The furniture was old and the bed was okay. My room had 1 air conditioner in the living room and nowhere else and so in the middle of the night the bedroom got VERY hot. We opened the windows and let in all the noise that was outside...including he yelling and cheering from the comedy club next door. The bathroom had chips in the bathtub and was small. I expected a European-type upgraded room and really just got a multi-room motel like feel. The $102 I paid was fair for the great location but don't expect a "nice" hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful, though, to their credit. Definitely had an apartment building feel on the floors though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants on Davies street.

Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tacoma, WA
Nov 1, 2008

Kinda ghetto

Great location, nice lobby and restaurants (although somewhat stark feeling). The rooms were very outdated and a bit shabby. The air was difficult to control, leaving us freezing some of the time and sweating the rest. The staff were mediocre at best. It was a very good location for walking to Robson and other major sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search