Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

3 stars
1015 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
176 reviews
vacation

the hotel was beautiful. the room was very large with a sofa and full kitchen and a queen size bed... See full review

  • happy couple together
  • Nov 21, 2014
Very good location

I like this hotel. very good location.. and prices are affordable See full review

  • Han Le
  • Nov 20, 2014
All the comforts of home in the heart of exciting downtown Vancouver

Feel right at home in the center of all that Vancouver has to offer. From shopping and dining on haute Robson Street or in hip Yaletown to star-spotting at Absolute Spa's on-site location, the Century Plaza Hotel and Spa keeps guests in home-style comfort right in the heart of downtown. Updated and remodeled, the lobby and suites reflect a contemporary style without sacrificing the comfortable, home-like ambiance the hotel is known for. And the location couldn't be better. Guests are only blocks from Robson Street, English Bay beaches, VCEC and Yaletown.

Highlights
  • Central location puts guests in the heart of lively downtown Vancouver
  • Star favorite and award winner Absolute Spa on the premises
  • Comfortable home-like ambiance with modern amenities and contemporary style
  • Fully-equipped fitness center and complimentary Wi-Fi access
Location

The central location allows for an easy walk to the famous shops and restaurants of Robson Street, an exploration of the trendy Yaletown neighborhood, a stroll and a picnic at gorgeous English Bay or a visit to iconic Stanley Park.

Rooms

All suites are spacious with magnificent city, mountain or ocean views; kitchenettes or full kitchens and high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living space with a pull-out double sofa-bed and full-size balconies. All kitchens are equipped with a refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker and a dining table.

Features

Absolute Spa's award-winning on-site flagship location offers world class services and is popular with some of today's hottest stars, including Ben Affleck, Charlize Theron and Jennifer Lopez. (Reservations are recommended.) All guests are welcome to use the chemical-free indoor pool and eucalyptus steam rooms and fully equipped fitness center. The on-site Beyond Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a contemporary setting from 7:00 a.m. to midnight, seven days a week. The Comedy Mix is the hotel's own comedy club. (Reservations strongly recommended.) Free Wi-Fi Internet access is available.

Transportation
  • Vancouver International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • Skytrain, Burrard station (4 blocks)
  • Translink city bus (3 blocks)
  • Seabus, Waterfront Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Attractions
  • Robson Street (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Yaletown (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • VCEC (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • English Bay (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Stanley Park (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
Business
  • Six meeting and conference rooms, one with 300-person capacity
  • Seven blocks from Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The hotel restaurant will be closed from 05 Jan 2015. Expected reopening date is at the end of February 2015. The cafe and room service options will be available for dining needs.
  • The hotel allows maximum of 2 pets at $35 per night per pet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Century Plaza Hotel and Spa Rooms

Studio Suite
Luxurious studio accommodations at approx. 450 sq. ft., offer either 1 King Bed or 2 Double Beds. These spacious suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, kitchen or kitchenette appliances including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker, a sitting area and dining table for 2, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.
One Bedroom Suite
Luxurious suite accommodations at approx. 650 sq. ft., offer either 1 King or 2 Double beds. These specious 1 bedroom suites are equipped with 40" flat screen televisions, full kitchen facilities including fridge, stove, microwave, coffee/tea maker with dining area, a separate living space with a portable queen-size inflatable bed, iron/iron board, blow dryer, premium spa amenities and feature full size balconies with panoramic city, mountain or ocean views. Individually controlled air-conditioning. High-speed or WIFI internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

49.281 -123.1261
Area served
Vancouver, BC
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport.(YVR)
Area description
Right downtown on Burrard Street, walking distance to Robson Street's shopping and dining, Yaletown's trendy boutiques and lounges, English Bay's beaches, just a 10 minute walk to the Canada Line, linking YVR Airport to downtown, the Century Plaza is at the center of everything Vancouver has to offer.

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • False Creek: 0.7 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granville Island: 0.8 mi
  • General Motors Place: 0.8 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.5 mi
  • English Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 2.6 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 2.8 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 3.2 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.4 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48.1 mi

Dining

Comedy Mix
Comedy Club offering stand up comedy, moderately priced dining options and a full bar.
Beyond Restaurant & Lounge
Located on the lobby level, beyond restaurant & lounge is the new scene to be seen with its winning combination of casual elegance, West Coast charm and vibrant cuisine. Recognized as one of Vancouver's "top ten new restaurants in 2007", "best West Coast cuisine" and recipient of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence three years running, beyond has burst onto the Vancouver dining scene. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner or for tapas in our lounge, beyond takes classic favorites and makes them new and irresistible. Using unique combinations and bold presentation - come experience beyond.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Century Plaza Hotel & Spa offers four different meeting rooms which have recently been renovated to give a contemporary fresh look. The Burrard Ballroom, Salon A and Salon B are located on the mezzanine level of the hotel. The Century Ballroom is located on the lower lobby level right beside Yuk Yuks Comedy Club. This unique combination allows your guests to dine in our lower ballroom, followed by one of our fantastic comedy shows.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel before kids!
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 16, 2010

Great location...good price!

Great location...with in a 10 minute walk to all the city sites. Friendly and helpful staff! The only thing that was some what negative was that it is a 20-30 minute ride from the airport, but it wasn't a bad price to take a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 15, 2010

Century Plaza Hotel

Even though we got there by 10Am aour room was ready and it was great. The room had everything you needed: great bed, coffee, computor desk with printer, robes, frig. Very clean and well maintained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not use the Trolly tour. They never have enough trollies to pick up all the people at any one stop. Very Long waits, terrible service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Jul 12, 2010

Excellent Accommodation

Received upgrade when King bed wasn't available. Manager walked through the entire process to be sure we were satisfied. High floor room with fantastic views, all staff attentive to every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 8, 2010

Great Hotel. Great location

We stayed at this hotel as a stopover on our way to Blackrock Resort in Vancouver island. The staff were lovely, the room very large, modern ,quiet and clean. There was even a small kitchen. Checking in they gave us a $10 coupon for use in their restaurant. Great cafe onsite for breakfast. Would reccomend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Comedy club in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Peter, Minnesota
Jun 30, 2010

Overall great deal

Overall - good deal ([...]) but there were a few let downs for a hotel of this caliber. The room was spacious and well cared for - although the lake of direct lighting anywhere except over the desk in a tiny alcove was a bit of a disappointment but that is a minor point.I also found the lack of Internet access (you can pay 9.00/day) a bit annoying given the cost of the hotel. If Holiday Inn and other far less expensive hotels can offer free in-room Internet why can't the Century Plaza?I placed my room service breakfast order (per instructions) but it was never picked up and had to call after waiting for it for 30 minutes. When it arrived it was warm at best and there wasn't any place it eat at except the sofa or bed. The pool is adequate but ran out of towel and the men's showers were better than the women's (e.g. multiple shower heads). The newspapers (included in price but you can decline and get the .75 per day and 1.50 for Sunday paper credited which is what I would recommend) are a 'pile' on the floor by the elevator - which I wasn't told - so I only got the paper one out of four mornings there as they were all gone by 9am when I left the room. Also, I didn't get the Sunday paper and when I called about it was told "they don't get the Sunday paper" yet it is included in the room price. The cleaning staff was great and the room as cleaned daily regardless of whether I asked or not with the bed made daily.The kitchen was a pleasant surprise - I has expected a microwave only but the was a fully functional kitchen with dishes, pots, and pans. With a local market (IGA) nearby it was easy to make meals and the coffee provided was fantastic. Another nice plus was the $10 voucher for the hotel's restaurant (not the coffee shop) that was provided at check in. I used it for a lavish desert; it was great - creme brulee - and well worth the calories.The bottom line for me is that it is a well located and well run (for the most part) place and I would book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter H
Business
Cheshire
Jun 29, 2010

great location, great staff and service

Great location for exploring downtown Vancouver, can be noisy as on main road and single glazed windows. Staff fantastic, doorman funny and knowledgeable about city, gave good advice. Go to Davie St for great food and reasonable prices, its just around the corner, Robson St and malls for good selection of shops. Go to Stanley park and walk the circumference and see the zoo and the totem poles, fantastic place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

go to Chinatown and old town ( think it was gastown) its fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hillsboro oregon
Jun 28, 2010

lobby great, rooms just okay

We wanted decent lodging (we spent most of our day outside of the hotel) and we got that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Not exactly what it seemed

I expected an updated, European-type room and what I got was not exactly that. The lobby was upgraded and looked clean and bright. The rooms had old furniture and fixtures and reminded me of a much cheaper hotel. Also my room was a 1 bedroom (upgrade) and looked just like a reformatted apartment. The furniture was old and the bed was okay. My room had 1 air conditioner in the living room and nowhere else and so in the middle of the night the bedroom got VERY hot. We opened the windows and let in all the noise that was outside...including he yelling and cheering from the comedy club next door. The bathroom had chips in the bathtub and was small. I expected a European-type upgraded room and really just got a multi-room motel like feel. The $102 I paid was fair for the great location but don't expect a "nice" hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful, though, to their credit. Definitely had an apartment building feel on the floors though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants on Davies street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lets go back!
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 17, 2010

Great weekend experience

I visited from Oregon with two friends and we enjoyed our stay. We visited tourist attractions during the day and spent time on Granville St. at night. The room was spacious and had a great view of the city from the 21st floor. Staff was friendly and helpful in terms of recommendations regarding dining. Advertised eucalyptus steam room was not very impressive, but still enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking to do tourist stuff, take the Big Bus. So much better than driving to attractions and parking... etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Century Plaza Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
channah
Business
Prince George, BC
Jun 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I was a kidney donor and stayed at the Century Plaza post surgery. It was very convenient to St. Paul's Hospital, the suite was roomy and comfortable, and I really enjoyed my stay there. Special kudos to the doorman who never failed to ask how I was doing and who was very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good food in a short walking distance. Close to a grocery store, and for those who want such things, there were some really good churches close by for Sunday worship.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top