$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Cassandra Hotel

2 stars
3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, BC V5R 5J8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
40 reviews
Good budget hotel

Everything was good as we expected. Location is close to SkyTrain station and it takes only 15 min... See full review

  • VladS
  • Sep 6, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

The hotel staff ([...]) are very helpful and kind to me. [...] helps me to get around the city and... See full review

  • cttran09
  • Oct 2, 2009
Cassandra Hotel offers modern and tranquil accommodation in the center of Vancouver on the famous Kingsway. Only 5 minutes away by car from Metrotown - the largest shopping mall in British Columbia, this hotel is located on major bus routes and several minutes from nearest sky train station on foot. When you visit, expect spacious rooms and suites with comfortable beds. Take a relaxing dip in the whirlpool. Sweat out your stress in the sauna. Reward your taste buds at dozens of western and ethnic restaurants around the hotel in renowned Collingwood neighborhood. *Credit card must be provided at check in for damage deposit*.

Hotel Map

49.2358 -123.0401
Area served
Vancouver.
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport. Abbotsford Airport.
Area description
This Vancouver hotel is 9 km (5.5 mi) southeast of downtown and 3 km (2.5 mi) from the Metro town-shopping complex with three malls and 20 min from Vancouver International Airport.

Cassandra Hotel Rooms

Delux Queen
Upgrade to our Contemporary Queen rooms to enjoy all the amenities in Classic rooms, with a more spacious and comfortable room.
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Upgrade to our Contemporary Double/Double rooms to enjoy all the amenities in Classic rooms, with a more spacious and comfortable room. An added bonus is view of amazing Northshore mountains.
Classic 2 Doubles
Classic 2 Double rooms offers best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs, with the convenience of two double beds in single room, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, coffee maker, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.
Classic King
Classic King rooms offer best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs, with the added comfort of a larger King size bed, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, coffee maker, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.
Classic 2 Queen
Classic 2 Queen rooms offer best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs, with the comfort of two queen beds in a larger room, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.
Classic Queen
Classic Queen rooms offer best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs. Equipped with comfortable queen size bed, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.4 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 4.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 4.3 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 4.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • False Creek: 4.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 4.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 4.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 4.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 4.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 4.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 4.9 mi
  • Marine Building: 5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.4 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 4.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 4.3 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 4.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • False Creek: 4.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 4.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 4.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 4.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 4.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 4.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 4.9 mi
  • Marine Building: 5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 5.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 6.2 mi
  • English Bay: 6.6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 7.3 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 7.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 8.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 9.6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 9.8 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 10.2 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 10.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 49.9 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Tops Restaurant, Bino's Family Restaurant, The Sea House Fish and Chips, Panago Pizza, Dairy Queen

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Cassandra Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 40
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.2

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris and Janet
Business
Oregon
Aug 12, 2014

Not quite up to par

We don't mind dated rooms, but we were told it was a smoking room, and it wasn't, We weren't willing to walk down the stairs and go out front. We didn't really check the room very well, but it seemed okay enough for the price. We decided to leave, and they gave us a full refund. Beware though, they charge a $120 damage deposit. If you don't have the cash, it will be an extra charge on your credit/debit card, and may not get a refund back for a few days, "processing time".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan from WA State
Business
Washington State
Jun 27, 2014

Over priced

The price I paid via here was considerably higher than one I was shown when I checked in. Their was no carpet under part of the bed and the bed frame wheels were embedded in pain concrete. No face cloths and almost an empty roll of toilet paper, but another was provided when we asked for it. On the plus side it does have secured parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suryashakti
Business
Princeton, NJ
Jun 17, 2014

cassandra Hotel, Vancouver, BC

This is a basic hotel, with very helpful staff. It is clean, convenient & inexpensive. It was good for us, who wanted a clean place to sleep & do sight seeing for the whole day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lars B
Business
Vancouver, WA
Mar 30, 2014

Good value on Kingsway near Metrotown.

Desk staff were great. Free parking and easy entrance from Kingsway. Cost $9 for internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Metrotown Center and Crystal Center are one mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
spicybanana
Business
kamloops.BC
Apr 28, 2013

Not bad

everything is not bad for this price,but a little bit old...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StroStro
Business
Salem, Oregon
Aug 20, 2012

Average Hotel

East of Vancouver. Near the light rail. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is old and needs update. They charge for Internet. You also gave to take your own room towels to hot tub. Located in a funky part of town. There are many Asian restaurants nearby. There is also a Starbucks and a Safeway within walking distance. Overall it was alright. I would use it again for a jumping off spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of ethnic restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Site Seer
Business
San Jose, California
May 30, 2012

Inexpensive But Lacks Amenities

We stayed at Cassandra for about 1 week. We were in vancouver for site seeing. Compare to hotel prices in downtown Vancouver area this hotel was very inexpensive, but if you care about having average amenities dont stay here. Compare to other hotels I have stayed in similar price range, I would rank this one at the bottom with regards to amenities. Pros: Price was good, good views of mountains, lots of restaurants near by, secured garage, lobby clerks were freindly, close to lots of parks-Deer Lake park and Burnaby Lake park, skytrain - 10 minute walk. Cons: charge for wireless internet, ~8.00 for ? kb, use of lobbby computer for internet access ~8.00 for ?kb- I forget how much kb you get but it was not much especailly if you need it for work, mattress needs replacement-very hard and old, air conditioner on high setting makes a lot of ruckus, trying to park and leave from secure garage was very, very difficult due to tight spaces, elliptical machine in exercise room squeaked loudly with every rotation, no tv in exercise room, vending machine located in lobby returned change onto the carpet, hotel restaurant was not in operation, no alarm clock, no wall pictures, no spare toilet paper roll. Musky smell thoughout hotel. Internet pictures of it will mislead you to think its a brand new one but it is old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Deer Lake park in Burnaby, 5 to 6 kM drive. Everyone visits downtown vancouver area,16 km from hotel through lots of stops. But, if you want to relax a bit and not drive too much, go there. Its free and there is a free museum with a 100 year old Carousel right next door to park about history of Burnaby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 25, 2011

Disappointment with the hotel

When we checked in, we were told there would be light breakfast every Morning, but there were nothing there. The room wall has some holes, and bath room has black mold. Bath room's fan was not working. Lamps were not plugged in, so we had to find outlets. Does not supply face cloth. The floor was sticky where the tiles were. Smelled old carpet odor throughout. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gallaghers
Business
Portland, OR
May 31, 2010

Decent if you have to bring your dog

When we first walked in their were hairs in the bathtub. They were sawing into the ceiling in the hall outside our room at 4am to look for a leaking pipe. But they didn't have any problem with our dog and they didn't charge any extra fee either. Location was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Simply Curries is right down the street at 3343 Kingsway. They had the best curry I've had in years. Don't eat at Bino's. I didn't think that breakfast could be done that poorly. They set a new international low for me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland, ca
Oct 29, 2009

quiet and secure

nothing particularly great or bad about this hotel. located too far outside vancouver, so a pain to drive in to. however, within walking distance of skytrain, which will drop you right in the middle of downtown, so that's good. bed wasn't that comfortable. secure parking and room access, rooms were a bit small, nothing fancy, but it worked for our purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

take the skytrain to downtown if you want to drink and dont want to worry about driving. they run pretty often and it's only 10-15 minutes back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top