$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Cassandra Hotel

2 stars
View map of 3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, BC V5R 5J8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cassandra Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Mexico
Aug 27, 2009

Won't go back again

This is a very mediocre hotel which suffers from poor maintenance and housekeeping. We had to change rooms because of plumbing problems and excessive noise coming from the rooms above us. A room on the third floor is a must. This hotel does not provide free internet and tried to charge us $3.50 a day for Wi-Fi. We negotiated 4 free hours however. On our third day of a four day stay our room was not made up at 4pm. The reason, only one person on the housekeeping staff that day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York
Jul 21, 2009

country style also not too far from city

staffs are friendly. good rest in the quiet surroundings. AC TV needs to up-grade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

take sky-train to downtown.

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

The room stunk, and the ...

The room stunk, and the windows did not open. Three of the four bed pillows had blood stains on the cases. There was a tampon wrapper on the floor. And the tap in the bathroom sink made a very loud banging sound and gave no water. There is only one elevator, which is small, slow and dirty. The neighborhood Safeway store had security guards at the doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
ROYAL OAK, MI
May 8, 2008

GOOD VALUE

A GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE. ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE, NOT CRAMPED. THE MICROWAVE AND FRIDGE WERE VERY HANDY. LOCATED WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF THE FREE SKY TRAIN - GREAT FOR VISITING DOWNTOWN VANCOUVER. THE NEIGHBORHOOD WAS ETHNIC AND WORKING CLASS - INTERESTING, BUT NOT MUCH TO SEE AND DO. THE UNDERGROUND PARKING GARAGE WAS ALSO A NICE FEATURE. THE ATTACHED RESTURANT ALWAYS SEEMED TO BE CLOSED, AND THEY NEVER POSTED WHAT TIMES THEY WERE OPEN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

STAYING AWAY FROM DOWNTOWN CAN SAVE YOU SOME MONEY, AND THIS HOTEL IS ONLY A SHORT WALK FROM THE FREE SKY TRAIN, THAT WILL DROP YOU OFF AT SEVERAL DOWNTOWN LOCATIONS.

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
May 5, 2008

Comfortable Accomodations

The Cassandra Hotel seems a bit remote from downtown Vancouver at first, but it's actually a blessing in disguise. Located in a nice residential neighborhood, the rooms are good for the price and, if you get a room facing the mountains, it will afford you picturesque views to dream by. If you don't know where to visit, just ask the super friendly staff who were very helpful and hospitable. If you need any extras (towels, pillows) just ask. Added perk: free 30 min internet use per room. It's also located a short walk from the train, which is super speedy & frequent. No car is needed:You can buy dicounted transit tickets at the local 7-lls and just purchase a 1day tour to Victoria. Internet cafe 1/2 block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For the frugal vacationer, the Cassandra Hotel is a comfortable spot with great cultural cheap eats and Bino's! The train = the added bonus of stopping in or near almost all of the scenic neighborhoods in Dwtn V. Public transptn will get you to nearly every tourist site: don't miss to take the ferry across to the Capilano bus.

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Aug 12, 2007

Friendly staff

They provided us a clean room and well secured condition of properties during our trip for a week.And i got my suit back which i left in my room.So they sent it back to me by mailing. I strongly recommed this hotel to anybody who are planning to trip vancouver. And it is located quite close to vancouver downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

really close to downtownn and metro city. It is located like middle of two big entertainmet area.

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 6, 2007

My review of Cassandra Hotel

It was very poor about services such as resturant for breakfast or dinner .It had old bath room with poor quality about services . I know it isnt 5 star hotel , but has a problem with 3.5 stars that they show in hotels lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jul 5, 2007

Interesting neighborhood

The hotel is located a ways from downtown Vancouver, but it is easy to get there on the skytrain or bus. Our room was comfortable, larger than expected and clean with air conditioning, refrigerator and plenty of amenities for three of us. We spent two nights and appreciated the quiet in the hotel and the helpfulness of the staff. We enjoyed the location in the Collingwoods neighborhood which has a lot of ethnic restaurants. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant so really do not know what the food is like there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cassandra is located in the Collingwoods neighborhood, which has a number of ethnic restaurants so that's why we chose it. We ate at a Portugese restaurant and a Chinese restaurant. Both were reasonably priced, and had delicious food. The hotel also is about four blocks from the Purdy Chocolate factory.

Back to menu Return to top