Cassandra Hotel

2 stars
3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, BC V5R 5J8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
41 reviews
Nice location

The hotel or motel was located in a very nice area. Parking was very tight under the building, but... See full review

  • Lucky50792
  • Dec 1, 2014
Good budget hotel

Everything was good as we expected. Location is close to SkyTrain station and it takes only 15 min... See full review

  • VladS
  • Sep 6, 2014
Cassandra Hotel offers modern and tranquil accommodation in the center of Vancouver on the famous Kingsway. Only 5 minutes away by car from Metrotown - the largest shopping mall in British Columbia, this hotel is located on major bus routes and several minutes from nearest sky train station on foot. When you visit, expect spacious rooms and suites with comfortable beds. Take a relaxing dip in the whirlpool. Sweat out your stress in the sauna. Reward your taste buds at dozens of western and ethnic restaurants around the hotel in renowned Collingwood neighborhood. *Credit card must be provided at check in for damage deposit*.

Cassandra Hotel Rooms

Delux Queen
Upgrade to our Contemporary Queen rooms to enjoy all the amenities in Classic rooms, with a more spacious and comfortable room.
Deluxe 2 Doubles
Upgrade to our Contemporary Double/Double rooms to enjoy all the amenities in Classic rooms, with a more spacious and comfortable room. An added bonus is view of amazing Northshore mountains.
Classic 2 Doubles
Classic 2 Double rooms offers best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs, with the convenience of two double beds in single room, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, coffee maker, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.
Classic King
Classic King rooms offer best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs, with the added comfort of a larger King size bed, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, coffee maker, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.
Classic 2 Queen
Classic 2 Queen rooms offer best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs, with the comfort of two queen beds in a larger room, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.
Classic Queen
Classic Queen rooms offer best-in-class value accommodation to fulfill all your basic comfort and travel needs. Equipped with comfortable queen size bed, spacious shower and tub combination bathroom, full-length mirrors, hair-dryer, complimentary local calls and cable TV with over 50 channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Hotel Map

49.2358 -123.0401
Area served
Vancouver.
Nearby airports
Vancouver International Airport. Abbotsford Airport.
Area description
This Vancouver hotel is 9 km (5.5 mi) southeast of downtown and 3 km (2.5 mi) from the Metro town-shopping complex with three malls and 20 min from Vancouver International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.4 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 4.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 4.3 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 4.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • False Creek: 4.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 4.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 4.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 4.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 4.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 4.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 4.9 mi
  • Marine Building: 5 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.4 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 4 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 4.2 mi
  • General Motors Place: 4.3 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 4.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 4.3 mi
  • False Creek: 4.5 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 4.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 4.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 4.8 mi
  • Canada Place: 4.9 mi
  • Granville Island: 4.9 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 4.9 mi
  • Marine Building: 5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 5.1 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 5.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 6.2 mi
  • English Bay: 6.6 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 7.3 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 7.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 8.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 9.6 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 9.8 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 10.2 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 10.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 49.9 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Tops Restaurant, Bino's Family Restaurant, The Sea House Fish and Chips, Panago Pizza, Dairy Queen

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Cassandra Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vincy
Business
Seattle,WA
Mar 5, 2013

I love the TV

Was not expecting it has everything specially a big TC screen for us to play PS3 :P

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StroStro
Business
Salem, Oregon
Aug 20, 2012

Average Hotel

East of Vancouver. Near the light rail. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is old and needs update. They charge for Internet. You also gave to take your own room towels to hot tub. Located in a funky part of town. There are many Asian restaurants nearby. There is also a Starbucks and a Safeway within walking distance. Overall it was alright. I would use it again for a jumping off spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of ethnic restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bed Bug Free
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 17, 2012

Lost reservation & bed bugs

We live in Vancouver and booked our stay at the Cassandra because our apartment was being treated for bed bugs and we needed to stay somewhere else. After carefully cleaning all of our things we left to check in at the hotel. They had no record of our reservation at all. I suspect that's the hotel's fault because we had our confirmation email and there were so many other things wrong. I waited for a few minutes for them to sort this out and heard numerous complaints from customers who approached the desk during my wait. They gave us a room but it reeked of cigarettes and was dirty. The bed frames were just boxes with carpet on them. We checked the bed and found bed bug shells. There was no way we were staying there just to bring bed bugs back to our carefully cleaned and treated apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Site Seer
Business
San Jose, California
May 30, 2012

Inexpensive But Lacks Amenities

We stayed at Cassandra for about 1 week. We were in vancouver for site seeing. Compare to hotel prices in downtown Vancouver area this hotel was very inexpensive, but if you care about having average amenities dont stay here. Compare to other hotels I have stayed in similar price range, I would rank this one at the bottom with regards to amenities. Pros: Price was good, good views of mountains, lots of restaurants near by, secured garage, lobby clerks were freindly, close to lots of parks-Deer Lake park and Burnaby Lake park, skytrain - 10 minute walk. Cons: charge for wireless internet, ~8.00 for ? kb, use of lobbby computer for internet access ~8.00 for ?kb- I forget how much kb you get but it was not much especailly if you need it for work, mattress needs replacement-very hard and old, air conditioner on high setting makes a lot of ruckus, trying to park and leave from secure garage was very, very difficult due to tight spaces, elliptical machine in exercise room squeaked loudly with every rotation, no tv in exercise room, vending machine located in lobby returned change onto the carpet, hotel restaurant was not in operation, no alarm clock, no wall pictures, no spare toilet paper roll. Musky smell thoughout hotel. Internet pictures of it will mislead you to think its a brand new one but it is old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Deer Lake park in Burnaby, 5 to 6 kM drive. Everyone visits downtown vancouver area,16 km from hotel through lots of stops. But, if you want to relax a bit and not drive too much, go there. Its free and there is a free museum with a 100 year old Carousel right next door to park about history of Burnaby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bob20o9
Business
edmonton ab
May 29, 2012

escape

Front desk staff was very helpful houskeeping did not get the room cleaned after the first night coffee package was not put in room after day one so no coffee could be made day two needs cafe to be open or some kind of breakfast offered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rafael Pineda
Business
Vancouver, Canada
May 8, 2012

bad

they charged me $9 .00 Dollars just for 2 hours of internet and they never gave me a mountain view like i request and they dont have a mountain view either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megan Aubrey
Business
California
Mar 18, 2012

Nice for the Price

The price was good, and the access to public transportation was great. The location wasn't the best, since it's far from downtown (but, as I said, you can use public transportation easily enough. A day pass is only $9CAD and that gets you on buses, skytrain, and the waterbus thing). There are plenty of restaurants nearby - mostly Asian ones, since this is an Asian part of the city. The area around the hotel is a bit sketch but nothing ever happened to us and the parking is in a secured area. If you like Indian food, I recommend a place down the street called Jambo Grill. It's an Indian/African fusion restaurant that was wonderful (and great for vegetarians)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Benji 8047
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

disappointment

this hotel is not worth the money!!! Needs renovation badly! By far the worst hotel I have stayed in while in Canada, A very unpleasant surprise was the 150 $ "deposit" they had put on my credit card, despite the fact that I have already paid for the room through "Orbitz". Rooms have the 1950's feeling and bathroom needs cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kikidelilah
Business
Oregon, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Not bad at all!

Just what i was looking for, cheep comfortable and just a short walk away from the sky train. The staff was helpful and nice and the room was clean and not shabby. The only weird part was the breakfast, could be a bit healthier it was a little too sweet for my taste. But other than that it great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie and Trixie
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Pet Friendly

The staff was great, rooms clean, and a very good rate. No extra charge for parking, and there is a computer available with internet access. Breakfast wasn't much (lunch bag with juice box, snack bar, etc.), but we weren't expecting anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top