$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Cassandra Hotel

2 stars
View map of 3075 Kingsway, Vancouver, BC V5R 5J8

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cassandra Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
spicybanana
Couples
kamloops.BC
Apr 28, 2013

Not bad

everything is not bad for this price,but a little bit old...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vincy
Friends
Seattle,WA
Mar 5, 2013

I love the TV

Was not expecting it has everything specially a big TC screen for us to play PS3 :P

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StroStro
Couples
Salem, Oregon
Aug 20, 2012

Average Hotel

East of Vancouver. Near the light rail. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is old and needs update. They charge for Internet. You also gave to take your own room towels to hot tub. Located in a funky part of town. There are many Asian restaurants nearby. There is also a Starbucks and a Safeway within walking distance. Overall it was alright. I would use it again for a jumping off spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of ethnic restaurants!

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bed Bug Free
Family
Vancouver, BC
Aug 17, 2012

Lost reservation & bed bugs

We live in Vancouver and booked our stay at the Cassandra because our apartment was being treated for bed bugs and we needed to stay somewhere else. After carefully cleaning all of our things we left to check in at the hotel. They had no record of our reservation at all. I suspect that's the hotel's fault because we had our confirmation email and there were so many other things wrong. I waited for a few minutes for them to sort this out and heard numerous complaints from customers who approached the desk during my wait. They gave us a room but it reeked of cigarettes and was dirty. The bed frames were just boxes with carpet on them. We checked the bed and found bed bug shells. There was no way we were staying there just to bring bed bugs back to our carefully cleaned and treated apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Site Seer
Couples
San Jose, California
May 30, 2012

Inexpensive But Lacks Amenities

We stayed at Cassandra for about 1 week. We were in vancouver for site seeing. Compare to hotel prices in downtown Vancouver area this hotel was very inexpensive, but if you care about having average amenities dont stay here. Compare to other hotels I have stayed in similar price range, I would rank this one at the bottom with regards to amenities. Pros: Price was good, good views of mountains, lots of restaurants near by, secured garage, lobby clerks were freindly, close to lots of parks-Deer Lake park and Burnaby Lake park, skytrain - 10 minute walk. Cons: charge for wireless internet, ~8.00 for ? kb, use of lobbby computer for internet access ~8.00 for ?kb- I forget how much kb you get but it was not much especailly if you need it for work, mattress needs replacement-very hard and old, air conditioner on high setting makes a lot of ruckus, trying to park and leave from secure garage was very, very difficult due to tight spaces, elliptical machine in exercise room squeaked loudly with every rotation, no tv in exercise room, vending machine located in lobby returned change onto the carpet, hotel restaurant was not in operation, no alarm clock, no wall pictures, no spare toilet paper roll. Musky smell thoughout hotel. Internet pictures of it will mislead you to think its a brand new one but it is old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Deer Lake park in Burnaby, 5 to 6 kM drive. Everyone visits downtown vancouver area,16 km from hotel through lots of stops. But, if you want to relax a bit and not drive too much, go there. Its free and there is a free museum with a 100 year old Carousel right next door to park about history of Burnaby.

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bob20o9
Single
edmonton ab
May 29, 2012

escape

Front desk staff was very helpful houskeeping did not get the room cleaned after the first night coffee package was not put in room after day one so no coffee could be made day two needs cafe to be open or some kind of breakfast offered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rafael Pineda
Friends
Vancouver, Canada
May 8, 2012

bad

they charged me $9 .00 Dollars just for 2 hours of internet and they never gave me a mountain view like i request and they dont have a mountain view either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Benji 8047
Family
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

disappointment

this hotel is not worth the money!!! Needs renovation badly! By far the worst hotel I have stayed in while in Canada, A very unpleasant surprise was the 150 $ "deposit" they had put on my credit card, despite the fact that I have already paid for the room through "Orbitz". Rooms have the 1950's feeling and bathroom needs cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kikidelilah
Friends
Oregon, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Not bad at all!

Just what i was looking for, cheep comfortable and just a short walk away from the sky train. The staff was helpful and nice and the room was clean and not shabby. The only weird part was the breakfast, could be a bit healthier it was a little too sweet for my taste. But other than that it great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cassandra Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie and Trixie
Friends
Evanston, IL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Pet Friendly

The staff was great, rooms clean, and a very good rate. No extra charge for parking, and there is a computer available with internet access. Breakfast wasn't much (lunch bag with juice box, snack bar, etc.), but we weren't expecting anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top