$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
143 reviews
Convenient, clean and friendly

Very convenient with variety of shopping stores around the hotel. City and tour buses stops right... See full review

  • Go Travel 2
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place for a vacation!

Spacious, clean, attractive and convenient. Loved the decor--brown, aqua carpet; brown walls. Very... See full review

  • polishitalian
  • Nov 2, 2013
The Blue Horizon is a first class hotel offering guests distinguished comfort, value and friendly service. Recently awarded The Green Hotel Plus Award in recognition of energy efficiency and environmentally friendly practices. Located in the heart of Robson street, downtown Vancouver West End. Only 9 blocks from Canada Place

Hotel Map

49.2862 -123.1273
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Horizon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Horizon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Corner Room with Two Quee
Deluxe Corner Room with Two Queen Beds features:
Deluxe Corner Room with One Quee
Deluxe Corner Room with One Queen Bed features:
Standard Corner Room with Two Qu
Standard Corner Room with Two Queen Beds feature:
Standard Corner Room with One Qu
Standard Corner Room with One Queen Bed features:
Standard Room with One King Bed
Standard Room with One King Bed features:
Deluxe Corner Studio
Deluxe Corner Studio features:

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • English Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.1 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.8 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Inlets Bistro
* Spring/Summer Sidewalk Patio
Inlets Lounge
Open Summer Hours from-1100-2300
Shenanigans Lounge
Open 1200-0200-Monday to Saturday/1100-2400-Sunday.
Aquatic Centre
Open hours-0630-2200 daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 143
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lynnwood, WA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

good

is good location and good place for guest. the prices was so good ,everething is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retired ex jock
Powell River, B.C.
Aug 21, 2012

Not what we expected !!

For the price, we expected better. It was obvious the room had not been vacuumed when we first checked in. The air conditioner was very very loud. The hallways were very warm. Facecloths were cheap,thin, and a little off-white. Thought they would have low-flush toilets. Very small lobby so when checking in some people just moved in front, not waiting their turn. We had stayed there about five years ago and it was much better then. The restaurant was average; small portions, soggy toast, luke- warm oatmeal. We have never complained about a place before but felt we needed to comment on this one !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Harriet H.
Los Angeles, California
Jun 24, 2012

Okay hotel on Robson

Perfectly adequate high rise on a busy street. Near the West End and not far from Stanley Park. Restaurant has okay food -- nothing particularly fresh or exceptional. Quite a bit of noise from room just above us. Our room overlooked an alley but in the distance a decent view of English Bay. Consider asking for a room that faces north or west rather than south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Caffe Artigiano - some of the best coffee ever!

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Earth
Nov 30, 2010

Nice and pleasunt

I had a mostly good stay at this hotel. Check in was fast, great, and professional; they guy was very nice and friendly. The rooms where great, clean, and fresh as well. My only beef is: A. The room location was next to the supply/cleaning room and the 'crew' was going in and out all the time; every 5 minutes of someone coming in/out, stand by our room and do paper work and the cycle goes on. There is no sound insulation around the door so we could here every time they fold their papers. B. Parking at this hotel costs you $15. My attitude here is that if I am paying $115 for your hotel room per night might as well let me park at your hotel for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place right in downtown!

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Aug 17, 2010

Wonderful room size and location

PROS: Location was the BEST reason to stay here! Robson Street has everything you need as a shopper. We walked everywhere. Lots of places to eat all around. We purchased trolley tickets and Capilano Bridge tickets right outside our hotel. The trolley tour took us all over Vancouver. We got off at the ferry stop to Granville Island where there are more shops, places to eat and street shows. We also caught the free shuttle to Capilano Bridge and then caught the 236 bus line to Grouse Mountain for the zip-line tour. (Pricey, but a must in our family's book). Make sure you see the lumberjack show too! And eat a scone located right behind the seats. If you miss the free shuttle at Capilano when you leave Grouse mtn. take the main transit bus down to the sea bus if you pay for 2 stops (pretty cheap-approx $4.00 each). This will take you back to downtown where we walked back to the hotel. CONS: We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but we did see some using it daily. The problem with the so called fitness center was that it was included in the pool and hot tub area, so if you're an avid runner, you'll think you're about to die from the heat. Yes a wobbly stand-fan is available but not enough to deal with the heat. They should make one of the spacious rooms into a fitness center and jack the heat up! My daughter (19 yrs. old) agreed, and chose to run the stairwell instead. It was cooler. We did have one problem with our ice container that upon arrival had used tea bags inside, and when I took it downstairs, they brought back the same one (I swear), that they had just 'rinsed' out. We never used it. The carpet had some major stains and the bathroom had a Q-tip on the floor during the whole trip. They could update the hallways too. The decor of the lobby and restuarant was nicely done, but as you got off the elevator, the hallway seemed like another hotel (and not the best). Even with all this, we would probably stay again because the room was large (minus the bathroom) and the location and price was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boysan
Seattle, WA
Apr 5, 2010

Great place to stay for moderate price

Hotel staff were helpful and informative. The location was ideal for short travel to many of the Vancouver area attractions. Although the hotel is located in an area that appears to have a high security risks, I appreciated the staff regularly patrolling the parking lot and notifying me of items that I should secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dine at the Fish House Restaurant in Stanley Park for great seafood fair. Try the buttermilk pie for dessert.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8ch8ch
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 20, 2011

Great spot for last-minute staycation

Very courteous, friendly & helpful front desk staff. Check-in & check-out were smooth & kept me happy. Fountain in the lobby area was soothing since I love running water - good ambiance. Housekeeping was a bit curt on the phone, but maid that came to the door was very sweet. Nice views of city & water / mountains in the distance from our room on 19th floor, our cozy balcony was nice. Room decor was great - very modern, clean & had an up-scale feel. Fantastically comfortable beds, could sleep there all day. Where did they get those pillows?! Suite had hairdryer, comp coffee & tea which was nice, though no microwave in suite. In-suite movie rentals a bit much ($13.99 per, so we opted out). 2 queen beds, plus chair/ottoman to lounge & watch TV from and a desk & chair with lamp and wired internet access. Requested shampoo & conditioner from housekeeping (nice!) but they don't carry toothpaste so pack it with you! Construction noise from high-rise close to us in the morning, but nothing too bothersome. Blackout curtains made for a restful sleep even when the sun came up. Didn't eat at restaurants because of the many choices on Robson (got take out & took full advantage of pigging out in our room). Liked the place overall, would probably recommend to friends & stay again (a bit steep for my budget but could do).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of places to eat on Robson street - for filling, good food I recommend Hon's (Chinese). You could take out & eat in the comfort of your room in your PJs if that's the kind of stay you're going for. Vast range from super casual walk-ins to very fancy sit-downs right on Robson Street. Also recommend a stroll by the water post-dinner at night; very beautiful.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Earth
Nov 30, 2010

Nice and pleasunt

I had a mostly good stay at this hotel. Check in was fast, great, and professional; they guy was very nice and friendly. The rooms where great, clean, and fresh as well. My only beef is: A. The room location was next to the supply/cleaning room and the 'crew' was going in and out all the time; every 5 minutes of someone coming in/out, stand by our room and do paper work and the cycle goes on. There is no sound insulation around the door so we could here every time they fold their papers. B. Parking at this hotel costs you $15. My attitude here is that if I am paying $115 for your hotel room per night might as well let me park at your hotel for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place right in downtown!

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boysan
Seattle, WA
Apr 5, 2010

Great place to stay for moderate price

Hotel staff were helpful and informative. The location was ideal for short travel to many of the Vancouver area attractions. Although the hotel is located in an area that appears to have a high security risks, I appreciated the staff regularly patrolling the parking lot and notifying me of items that I should secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dine at the Fish House Restaurant in Stanley Park for great seafood fair. Try the buttermilk pie for dessert.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Aug 17, 2010

Wonderful room size and location

PROS: Location was the BEST reason to stay here! Robson Street has everything you need as a shopper. We walked everywhere. Lots of places to eat all around. We purchased trolley tickets and Capilano Bridge tickets right outside our hotel. The trolley tour took us all over Vancouver. We got off at the ferry stop to Granville Island where there are more shops, places to eat and street shows. We also caught the free shuttle to Capilano Bridge and then caught the 236 bus line to Grouse Mountain for the zip-line tour. (Pricey, but a must in our family's book). Make sure you see the lumberjack show too! And eat a scone located right behind the seats. If you miss the free shuttle at Capilano when you leave Grouse mtn. take the main transit bus down to the sea bus if you pay for 2 stops (pretty cheap-approx $4.00 each). This will take you back to downtown where we walked back to the hotel. CONS: We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but we did see some using it daily. The problem with the so called fitness center was that it was included in the pool and hot tub area, so if you're an avid runner, you'll think you're about to die from the heat. Yes a wobbly stand-fan is available but not enough to deal with the heat. They should make one of the spacious rooms into a fitness center and jack the heat up! My daughter (19 yrs. old) agreed, and chose to run the stairwell instead. It was cooler. We did have one problem with our ice container that upon arrival had used tea bags inside, and when I took it downstairs, they brought back the same one (I swear), that they had just 'rinsed' out. We never used it. The carpet had some major stains and the bathroom had a Q-tip on the floor during the whole trip. They could update the hallways too. The decor of the lobby and restuarant was nicely done, but as you got off the elevator, the hallway seemed like another hotel (and not the best). Even with all this, we would probably stay again because the room was large (minus the bathroom) and the location and price was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top