$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
143 reviews
Convenient, clean and friendly

Very convenient with variety of shopping stores around the hotel. City and tour buses stops right... See full review

  • Go Travel 2
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place for a vacation!

Spacious, clean, attractive and convenient. Loved the decor--brown, aqua carpet; brown walls. Very... See full review

  • polishitalian
  • Nov 2, 2013
The Blue Horizon is a first class hotel offering guests distinguished comfort, value and friendly service. Recently awarded The Green Hotel Plus Award in recognition of energy efficiency and environmentally friendly practices. Located in the heart of Robson street, downtown Vancouver West End. Only 9 blocks from Canada Place

Hotel Map

49.2862 -123.1273
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Blue Horizon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Blue Horizon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Corner Room with Two Quee
Deluxe Corner Room with Two Queen Beds features:
Deluxe Corner Room with One Quee
Deluxe Corner Room with One Queen Bed features:
Standard Corner Room with Two Qu
Standard Corner Room with Two Queen Beds feature:
Standard Corner Room with One Qu
Standard Corner Room with One Queen Bed features:
Standard Room with One King Bed
Standard Room with One King Bed features:
Deluxe Corner Studio
Deluxe Corner Studio features:

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • English Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.1 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.8 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Inlets Bistro
* Spring/Summer Sidewalk Patio
Inlets Lounge
Open Summer Hours from-1100-2300
Shenanigans Lounge
Open 1200-0200-Monday to Saturday/1100-2400-Sunday.
Aquatic Centre
Open hours-0630-2200 daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RACdoc
Miami, FL
Aug 13, 2012

Great value

Had a very large corner room with two queen beds. Free fast internet. Very comfortable beds. Clean and well maintained. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Oct 3, 2010

Blue Horizon

We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Aug 17, 2010

Wonderful room size and location

PROS: Location was the BEST reason to stay here! Robson Street has everything you need as a shopper. We walked everywhere. Lots of places to eat all around. We purchased trolley tickets and Capilano Bridge tickets right outside our hotel. The trolley tour took us all over Vancouver. We got off at the ferry stop to Granville Island where there are more shops, places to eat and street shows. We also caught the free shuttle to Capilano Bridge and then caught the 236 bus line to Grouse Mountain for the zip-line tour. (Pricey, but a must in our family's book). Make sure you see the lumberjack show too! And eat a scone located right behind the seats. If you miss the free shuttle at Capilano when you leave Grouse mtn. take the main transit bus down to the sea bus if you pay for 2 stops (pretty cheap-approx $4.00 each). This will take you back to downtown where we walked back to the hotel. CONS: We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but we did see some using it daily. The problem with the so called fitness center was that it was included in the pool and hot tub area, so if you're an avid runner, you'll think you're about to die from the heat. Yes a wobbly stand-fan is available but not enough to deal with the heat. They should make one of the spacious rooms into a fitness center and jack the heat up! My daughter (19 yrs. old) agreed, and chose to run the stairwell instead. It was cooler. We did have one problem with our ice container that upon arrival had used tea bags inside, and when I took it downstairs, they brought back the same one (I swear), that they had just 'rinsed' out. We never used it. The carpet had some major stains and the bathroom had a Q-tip on the floor during the whole trip. They could update the hallways too. The decor of the lobby and restuarant was nicely done, but as you got off the elevator, the hallway seemed like another hotel (and not the best). Even with all this, we would probably stay again because the room was large (minus the bathroom) and the location and price was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Issaquah, WA
Jul 14, 2010

Great Location

First room didn't seem all that clean. Found a dead fly in the dresser drawer! I complained and they relocated us to a room on a higher floor with an amazing view. Upholstered chair needed to be replaced (stained). carpet has seen better days. Front desk helpful to find us a nearby movie theater and checked what was playing for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zefferelli's Italian is a wonderful restaurant. We go there every time we go to Vancouver B.C. Another tip is the Theatre under the Stars in Stanley Park. Great productions (bring a blanket / coat and bug spray!)

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Econgirl
South Carolina, USA
Jun 7, 2010

Very pleased

We had a clean, spacious room at a reasonable price located in the midst of a major shopping area. We were very pleased with the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 10, 2008

great location

Great location - rooms were good - not great. clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots and lots of shopping/restaurants

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Apr 10, 2011

Good Location. Nice rooms

Some renovation noise, but nice room, great view, good location. Parking is extra $14.95 per day, just so you know. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lilac88
Boston, MA
Aug 4, 2010

Great value and location

I stayed here for four days in early August. Location was fantastic- Robson street is in the heart of Vancouver's shopping area, close to Stanley Park, and an easy bus ride from other parts of the city. Also a few blocks or short cab ride from the Canada Line (goes to airport). It was worth it to pay slightly more for a higher floor room; the view of the water was great (especially as there were fireworks one night). Staff was friendly and helpful. Huge room, plenty of closet space, nice quality sheets and plenty of pillows. Small lap pool, but whirlpool was a nice option. Bathroom could have been bigger/more recently updated, but was fine for the price. Forced air air conditioning was strong and a bit hard to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

1. Don't miss Stanley Park! 2. I took a day trip to Victoria. It's best to do this via a tour company, due to the bus/ferry connections, but I'm not sure it was worth the effort (except for Burchart Gardens, which were spectacular). 3. Be careful when walking near Gastown/Chinatown. There is a sketchy area filled with people who are down and out (homeless, drug addicts). I walked into this area around dusk. While my friend and I (both women) were not hassled, it definitely felt creepy and should be avoided.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sacramento, ca
Aug 20, 2010

last minute traveler

rooms are great size, and beds are super comfortable. If you're looking to be in the thick of shopping and dining then you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining, nightlife, recreation...this hotel puts you in the thick of it. new front desk staff was amazed at the rate i got, because of my orbitz booking. thanks [...]

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Robin
Business
Copenhgen, Denmark
Jun 7, 2011

Fantastic location, great room

After looking at the exorbitant rates for conference hotels, we lucked upon the Blue Horizon in a websearch. Only a 15-minute walk from the Conference Center, it offers spacious, comfortable rooms with refrigerator and coffee-maiking facilities. I was in heaven the first 5 days of my 9 day visit until my web connection suddenly started going down and not starting up. Everyone was very helpful but the problem was never really solved and I ended up using hours trying to get reconnected every time I turned on the computer to work. They are,however, in the process of installng wireless, so hopefully this will not be an issue in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great, inexpensive ethnic restaurants right around the corner on Robson

Back to menu Return to top