$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Aug 17, 2010

Wonderful room size and location

PROS: Location was the BEST reason to stay here! Robson Street has everything you need as a shopper. We walked everywhere. Lots of places to eat all around. We purchased trolley tickets and Capilano Bridge tickets right outside our hotel. The trolley tour took us all over Vancouver. We got off at the ferry stop to Granville Island where there are more shops, places to eat and street shows. We also caught the free shuttle to Capilano Bridge and then caught the 236 bus line to Grouse Mountain for the zip-line tour. (Pricey, but a must in our family's book). Make sure you see the lumberjack show too! And eat a scone located right behind the seats. If you miss the free shuttle at Capilano when you leave Grouse mtn. take the main transit bus down to the sea bus if you pay for 2 stops (pretty cheap-approx $4.00 each). This will take you back to downtown where we walked back to the hotel. CONS: We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but we did see some using it daily. The problem with the so called fitness center was that it was included in the pool and hot tub area, so if you're an avid runner, you'll think you're about to die from the heat. Yes a wobbly stand-fan is available but not enough to deal with the heat. They should make one of the spacious rooms into a fitness center and jack the heat up! My daughter (19 yrs. old) agreed, and chose to run the stairwell instead. It was cooler. We did have one problem with our ice container that upon arrival had used tea bags inside, and when I took it downstairs, they brought back the same one (I swear), that they had just 'rinsed' out. We never used it. The carpet had some major stains and the bathroom had a Q-tip on the floor during the whole trip. They could update the hallways too. The decor of the lobby and restuarant was nicely done, but as you got off the elevator, the hallway seemed like another hotel (and not the best). Even with all this, we would probably stay again because the room was large (minus the bathroom) and the location and price was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento, ca
Aug 20, 2010

last minute traveler

rooms are great size, and beds are super comfortable. If you're looking to be in the thick of shopping and dining then you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining, nightlife, recreation...this hotel puts you in the thick of it. new front desk staff was amazed at the rate i got, because of my orbitz booking. thanks [...]

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Robin
Business
Copenhgen, Denmark
Jun 7, 2011

Fantastic location, great room

After looking at the exorbitant rates for conference hotels, we lucked upon the Blue Horizon in a websearch. Only a 15-minute walk from the Conference Center, it offers spacious, comfortable rooms with refrigerator and coffee-maiking facilities. I was in heaven the first 5 days of my 9 day visit until my web connection suddenly started going down and not starting up. Everyone was very helpful but the problem was never really solved and I ended up using hours trying to get reconnected every time I turned on the computer to work. They are,however, in the process of installng wireless, so hopefully this will not be an issue in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great, inexpensive ethnic restaurants right around the corner on Robson

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 4, 2011

Blue Horizon Hotel In a great location

We first stayed at the Coal Coast Harbor hotel for two nights as part of a tour. It was down by Canada Place and was nice, fancy, and $70 more a night. So, we moved for an additional night at the Blue Horizon. We preferred the location at the Blue Horizon - only about 5 or 6 blocks away from the Coal Coast Harbor but much more restaurants and activity near by. The rooms had a great view, were roomy and clean. The hotel is older style than the Coal Coast Harbor tho. We definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 4, 2011

Wonderful price for the location

This was my second visit to Vancouver (being from the Portland, Or area). Last time, we stayed up on Main St. @ the Howard Johnson, which involved walking down a hill, plus a train or bus ride to the downtown areas. So, we made it necessary to stay closer in. This hotel was listed as the cheapest in the downtown area AND IT WAS LOCATED ON ROBSON! A central location for dining & shopping. PROS: -Extremely helpful front desk staff -Very clean rooms -Super coomfy bed & robes -Balcony (not so great view) -Pool/Spa area (which we seemed to be the only ones to use) -Location, location, location: all of downtown is pretty much accessible by foot -Cheap, downtown parking: $15/night CONS: -$200 deposit charge unfront -Blah ceiling to floor curtains -Business center: dial-up internet computer in lobby ($3/min) -Dial-up internet only in rooms-no wireless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMCH
Business
Torrance, CA
Jun 18, 2010

Vancouver-Pseudo Green Friendly

location is their #1 selling point; price was reasonable comparing to other hotel in the vincinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 3, 2010

Blue Horizon

We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saranna78
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Value!

Fabulous location, great room on the 12th floor with TONS of windows and lot's of space. Really nice views. There was some construction during the day, but that didn't really matter since we were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 10, 2011

Good Location. Nice rooms

Some renovation noise, but nice room, great view, good location. Parking is extra $14.95 per day, just so you know. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYConsultant
Business
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2011

Decent. Rooms were very nice.

The robes are heavenly in this hotel. I almost overlooked them (in the closet, in plastic on the shelf. The room was very nice for the price. The main areas (hallways, restaurant) seemed just so so . Excellent value for the price. Note there doesn't seem to be wireless, just hard wired fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great street for shopping and dining.

Back to menu Return to top