$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYConsultant
Business
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2011

Decent. Rooms were very nice.

The robes are heavenly in this hotel. I almost overlooked them (in the closet, in plastic on the shelf. The room was very nice for the price. The main areas (hallways, restaurant) seemed just so so . Excellent value for the price. Note there doesn't seem to be wireless, just hard wired fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great street for shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blondie7
Business
Kirkland, WA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Downtown Vancouver

My husband has a handicap and uses a motorized scooter. I requested a handicapp accessible room. It was disappointing that the hotel did not have any means for a handicapped person to get from their garage to into the hotel. Stairways were the only access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close nice walking paths along the shoreline with beautiful views of water and mountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silly to make up a nickname
Business
East Coast
Apr 5, 2011

Nice hotel, great for price

Went for an academic conference. Clean, comfortable room; loved the sauna; so-so "fitness center" involved just 2 treadmills (but there was a pool and whirlpool), friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central location, close to waterfront, parks, museums, library.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evwaaa
Business
Washington DC
Aug 31, 2011

wedding weekend

Overall this place is great, we called ahead to see if we could check in earlier than 3pm as we had a wedding at 4pm, they told us to come within the hour (12pm) - fantastic, however when we got there at 1:30pm it hadn't been cleaned yet! The lady checking us in wan'ts particularly happy to serve us! Had to wait for 30 minutes but the upgraded us for free :) We had the a corner room on the 30th floor, the view was great from there, room was large, the bathroom is a little small hard to get 2 people in it at the same time. The only gripe i have is that as seen on another review is that they did water maintenance again specifically telling us only for the hot water, but the cold also went out and when we called they said it would be on in 30 mins but it wasn't, so to wash and go to the toilet we had to go all the way to the pool on the 2nd floor!! this was a little extreme and poor planning on their part i think. However the water was back on by 8am the next morning though the hot water wasn't that warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJVK
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Aug 15, 2011

Long time customer

I've been staying at this hotel on and off since it opened in the '60s because it is clean, prices are reasonable, people are friendly and most of all, for the great location on Robson Street. Superb views from most windows. Pleasant if not especially interesting restaurant, delightful summer sidewalk cafe for people watching. Barn-like pub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll through the West End residential district to English Bay. Eat at Milestones either there or near the hotel. In Summer, lunch in the open air cafeteria up the steps behind the Art Gallery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Mar 14, 2011

Would stay there again

Overall the hotel was good but there were a few issues. On a positive note, the location was fantastic. Downtown with lots of shops, restaurants and bars. The room was modern, clean and fairly spacious. However, there was a lot of road noise. We could hear cars, people yelling even bus doors opening and closing. But they are currently renovating and will be putting in double glazed windows to help this. In regards to the renovations, we were there on a weekend so there wasn't anything happening. Not sure how it would be during the week. My boyfriend went to one of the floors looking for a vending machine as outlined in the guest book, but it wasn't there as that floor was being renovated. The elevator buttons wouldn't work for him to leave the floor but luckily he could get the service elevator down. Hotel staff were welcoming and friendly. However, service in the restaurant was fairly average. Despite the few issues, would definitely stay there again for the location and the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The waterfront promenade is only a short walk from the hotel. From there you can hire bikes and ride along the promenade to Stanley Park. There are bike racks at most locations. A great, cheap way to get around without having to deal with the traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheltie Mom
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 8, 2010

Nice Hotel in West End of Vancouver

Robson Street is home to one of the longest outdoor shopping areas in Canada. Lots of neat shops (some very expensive)to see and visit if that is your thing. But, Robson street is open till at least 10pm (which in May was sunset) and a room not facing the street might be preferable if you want an early night. I did the "hop on hop off" bus tour of Vancouver which has pickup/drop off at the hotel's front door. This is a nice hotel for the money and has great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Issaquah, WA
Jul 14, 2010

Great Location

First room didn't seem all that clean. Found a dead fly in the dresser drawer! I complained and they relocated us to a room on a higher floor with an amazing view. Upholstered chair needed to be replaced (stained). carpet has seen better days. Front desk helpful to find us a nearby movie theater and checked what was playing for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zefferelli's Italian is a wonderful restaurant. We go there every time we go to Vancouver B.C. Another tip is the Theatre under the Stars in Stanley Park. Great productions (bring a blanket / coat and bug spray!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IL
Jun 10, 2010

Loved Vancouver and the Blue Horizon

Blue Horizon is a great deal. Rooms are nothing fancy (we stayed at the W in seattle the night before), but are comfortable and nice. The location and price make this hotel. You are a few minutes walk from the entrance to Stanley Park. It is on Robson street, which is full of shopping and dining options. 10-15 minutes away from the seawall, which you can walk around almost the entire city. There is also a free shuttle to Capilano suspension bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have time and are in good shape, you can walk just about anywhere from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
quirky
Business
SEATTLE
Aug 27, 2011

great Vancouver find

I have stayed in Vancouver many times but never at this hotel. What a wonderful surprise. Terrific location, large, well-appointed rooms with lots of light. I great value! A nice restaurant with very tasty offerings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top