$138 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoleneD.
Dallas, TX
Jun 17, 2012

Great

The only downside was that the internet is ethernet, not wi-fi... so we were not able to have internet in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lilac88
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 4, 2010

Great value and location

I stayed here for four days in early August. Location was fantastic- Robson street is in the heart of Vancouver's shopping area, close to Stanley Park, and an easy bus ride from other parts of the city. Also a few blocks or short cab ride from the Canada Line (goes to airport). It was worth it to pay slightly more for a higher floor room; the view of the water was great (especially as there were fireworks one night). Staff was friendly and helpful. Huge room, plenty of closet space, nice quality sheets and plenty of pillows. Small lap pool, but whirlpool was a nice option. Bathroom could have been bigger/more recently updated, but was fine for the price. Forced air air conditioning was strong and a bit hard to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

1. Don't miss Stanley Park! 2. I took a day trip to Victoria. It's best to do this via a tour company, due to the bus/ferry connections, but I'm not sure it was worth the effort (except for Burchart Gardens, which were spectacular). 3. Be careful when walking near Gastown/Chinatown. There is a sketchy area filled with people who are down and out (homeless, drug addicts). I walked into this area around dusk. While my friend and I (both women) were not hassled, it definitely felt creepy and should be avoided.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Ne.
Jul 23, 2010

Wonderful rooms at the Blue Horizon

I booked at this hotel 3 rooms for family before going on an Alaskan cruise. Some of us wanted to do the Trolley Tour in Vancouver and I liked the location of the Blue Horizon because it was on the route for getting on and off the Trolley. I liked the idea of the large rooms and it was absolutely perfect for all of us. And we enjoyed the VERY BEST FOOD IN THE HOTEL RESTAURANT. BREAKFAST WAS THE BEST!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson Street, where the Blue Horizon is located, is where it's all happening...restaurants, boutiques, bars, ice cream, whatever you want, it's close and fun to walk the streets to see it all.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mishee
Business
Calgary, AB
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, great place, great price

A great surprise!! Great value and the room was surprisingly big, and it was very clean. I was scared at first that the room might be grungy and old (since it was one of the cheapest hotels I found on Robson) but it wasn't at all! The room was updated and I felt very comfortable staying there. And of course, amazing location and free internet!! I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
B.C. Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Great Location

We've stayed here several times and always enjoy it. It can get busy with no rooms available but it you can get in, it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not to impressed with many of the dining establishments in the area.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Issaquah, WA
Jul 14, 2010

Great Location

First room didn't seem all that clean. Found a dead fly in the dresser drawer! I complained and they relocated us to a room on a higher floor with an amazing view. Upholstered chair needed to be replaced (stained). carpet has seen better days. Front desk helpful to find us a nearby movie theater and checked what was playing for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zefferelli's Italian is a wonderful restaurant. We go there every time we go to Vancouver B.C. Another tip is the Theatre under the Stars in Stanley Park. Great productions (bring a blanket / coat and bug spray!)

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
North bound Joe
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 10, 2010

Great Place

Wonderful room. Staff very helpful. They also are great at directing you the nearby attractions- Some are within walking distance. Wonderful City!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining choices in area from inexpensive to fine dining.Great experience.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T-squared
Business
Winfield, IL
Jul 6, 2010

Great location; recently updated

Blue Horizon is right in the middle of the action. We were steps from tons of shopping and restaurants and it was very easy to get around using the bus from there. We had a big room with lots of light and a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mjohn19
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 25, 2010

Restful stay at Blue Horizon

This hotel has a great location on Robson Street and is within walking distance of both Stanley Park and Gastown. Great shopping and good eats are just outside the lobby entrance. Our room was large and quite with comfortable sheets, towels and basic sundries. A sliding glass door allowed entry onto a nice balcony from which we could see the beautiful skyscrapers of Vancouver and part of the waterfront. The decor, carpet and fixtures were basic and a bit dated but otherwise clean and fresh. The room was furnished with a flat-screen television and clock radio. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just get out and walk! Visit Stanley Park and the Vancouver Aquarium, check out the stores on Robson Street, then head into Gastown for a nice dinner.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMCH
Business
Torrance, CA
Jun 18, 2010

Vancouver-Pseudo Green Friendly

location is their #1 selling point; price was reasonable comparing to other hotel in the vincinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, IL
Jun 10, 2010

Loved Vancouver and the Blue Horizon

Blue Horizon is a great deal. Rooms are nothing fancy (we stayed at the W in seattle the night before), but are comfortable and nice. The location and price make this hotel. You are a few minutes walk from the entrance to Stanley Park. It is on Robson street, which is full of shopping and dining options. 10-15 minutes away from the seawall, which you can walk around almost the entire city. There is also a free shuttle to Capilano suspension bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have time and are in good shape, you can walk just about anywhere from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top