$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 3, 2010

Blue Horizon

We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Great Hotel

Reservation was for a queen bed, surprised with a large room containing 2 queen beds. Room had large LCD TV, nicely designed bathroom, desk with free internet. Hotel perfectly located for shopping and many nice restaurants. Parking extra charge. Would have like to have a microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wun Ton Noodle House is a short walk with good, low price food.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento, ca
Aug 20, 2010

last minute traveler

rooms are great size, and beds are super comfortable. If you're looking to be in the thick of shopping and dining then you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining, nightlife, recreation...this hotel puts you in the thick of it. new front desk staff was amazed at the rate i got, because of my orbitz booking. thanks [...]

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Aug 17, 2010

Wonderful room size and location

PROS: Location was the BEST reason to stay here! Robson Street has everything you need as a shopper. We walked everywhere. Lots of places to eat all around. We purchased trolley tickets and Capilano Bridge tickets right outside our hotel. The trolley tour took us all over Vancouver. We got off at the ferry stop to Granville Island where there are more shops, places to eat and street shows. We also caught the free shuttle to Capilano Bridge and then caught the 236 bus line to Grouse Mountain for the zip-line tour. (Pricey, but a must in our family's book). Make sure you see the lumberjack show too! And eat a scone located right behind the seats. If you miss the free shuttle at Capilano when you leave Grouse mtn. take the main transit bus down to the sea bus if you pay for 2 stops (pretty cheap-approx $4.00 each). This will take you back to downtown where we walked back to the hotel. CONS: We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but we did see some using it daily. The problem with the so called fitness center was that it was included in the pool and hot tub area, so if you're an avid runner, you'll think you're about to die from the heat. Yes a wobbly stand-fan is available but not enough to deal with the heat. They should make one of the spacious rooms into a fitness center and jack the heat up! My daughter (19 yrs. old) agreed, and chose to run the stairwell instead. It was cooler. We did have one problem with our ice container that upon arrival had used tea bags inside, and when I took it downstairs, they brought back the same one (I swear), that they had just 'rinsed' out. We never used it. The carpet had some major stains and the bathroom had a Q-tip on the floor during the whole trip. They could update the hallways too. The decor of the lobby and restuarant was nicely done, but as you got off the elevator, the hallway seemed like another hotel (and not the best). Even with all this, we would probably stay again because the room was large (minus the bathroom) and the location and price was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ustc2006
Business
Piscataway, NJ
Aug 6, 2010

Highly recommended

This hotel is great! It is located at Robson St, which is a heaven for shopping and dining. The room is spacious and clean. To my surprise, it has a balcony! I really enjoy my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lilac88
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 4, 2010

Great value and location

I stayed here for four days in early August. Location was fantastic- Robson street is in the heart of Vancouver's shopping area, close to Stanley Park, and an easy bus ride from other parts of the city. Also a few blocks or short cab ride from the Canada Line (goes to airport). It was worth it to pay slightly more for a higher floor room; the view of the water was great (especially as there were fireworks one night). Staff was friendly and helpful. Huge room, plenty of closet space, nice quality sheets and plenty of pillows. Small lap pool, but whirlpool was a nice option. Bathroom could have been bigger/more recently updated, but was fine for the price. Forced air air conditioning was strong and a bit hard to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

1. Don't miss Stanley Park! 2. I took a day trip to Victoria. It's best to do this via a tour company, due to the bus/ferry connections, but I'm not sure it was worth the effort (except for Burchart Gardens, which were spectacular). 3. Be careful when walking near Gastown/Chinatown. There is a sketchy area filled with people who are down and out (homeless, drug addicts). I walked into this area around dusk. While my friend and I (both women) were not hassled, it definitely felt creepy and should be avoided.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Ne.
Jul 23, 2010

Wonderful rooms at the Blue Horizon

I booked at this hotel 3 rooms for family before going on an Alaskan cruise. Some of us wanted to do the Trolley Tour in Vancouver and I liked the location of the Blue Horizon because it was on the route for getting on and off the Trolley. I liked the idea of the large rooms and it was absolutely perfect for all of us. And we enjoyed the VERY BEST FOOD IN THE HOTEL RESTAURANT. BREAKFAST WAS THE BEST!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Robson Street, where the Blue Horizon is located, is where it's all happening...restaurants, boutiques, bars, ice cream, whatever you want, it's close and fun to walk the streets to see it all.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mishee
Business
Calgary, AB
Jul 18, 2010

Great location, great place, great price

A great surprise!! Great value and the room was surprisingly big, and it was very clean. I was scared at first that the room might be grungy and old (since it was one of the cheapest hotels I found on Robson) but it wasn't at all! The room was updated and I felt very comfortable staying there. And of course, amazing location and free internet!! I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
B.C. Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Great Location

We've stayed here several times and always enjoy it. It can get busy with no rooms available but it you can get in, it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not to impressed with many of the dining establishments in the area.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Issaquah, WA
Jul 14, 2010

Great Location

First room didn't seem all that clean. Found a dead fly in the dresser drawer! I complained and they relocated us to a room on a higher floor with an amazing view. Upholstered chair needed to be replaced (stained). carpet has seen better days. Front desk helpful to find us a nearby movie theater and checked what was playing for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zefferelli's Italian is a wonderful restaurant. We go there every time we go to Vancouver B.C. Another tip is the Theatre under the Stars in Stanley Park. Great productions (bring a blanket / coat and bug spray!)

Back to menu Return to top