$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Robin
Business
Copenhgen, Denmark
Jun 7, 2011

Fantastic location, great room

After looking at the exorbitant rates for conference hotels, we lucked upon the Blue Horizon in a websearch. Only a 15-minute walk from the Conference Center, it offers spacious, comfortable rooms with refrigerator and coffee-maiking facilities. I was in heaven the first 5 days of my 9 day visit until my web connection suddenly started going down and not starting up. Everyone was very helpful but the problem was never really solved and I ended up using hours trying to get reconnected every time I turned on the computer to work. They are,however, in the process of installng wireless, so hopefully this will not be an issue in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great, inexpensive ethnic restaurants right around the corner on Robson

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYConsultant
Business
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2011

Decent. Rooms were very nice.

The robes are heavenly in this hotel. I almost overlooked them (in the closet, in plastic on the shelf. The room was very nice for the price. The main areas (hallways, restaurant) seemed just so so . Excellent value for the price. Note there doesn't seem to be wireless, just hard wired fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great street for shopping and dining.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa
Apr 22, 2011

Hotel Review

The Blue Horizon is a wonderful option for staying downtown in Vancouver. Rooms are bright (all rooms are on corners with lots of windows and often great views of mountains and water), the service is good, and the rates are excellent. Restaurant is good for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 10, 2011

Good Location. Nice rooms

Some renovation noise, but nice room, great view, good location. Parking is extra $14.95 per day, just so you know. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saranna78
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Value!

Fabulous location, great room on the 12th floor with TONS of windows and lot's of space. Really nice views. There was some construction during the day, but that didn't really matter since we were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silly to make up a nickname
Business
East Coast
Apr 5, 2011

Nice hotel, great for price

Went for an academic conference. Clean, comfortable room; loved the sauna; so-so "fitness center" involved just 2 treadmills (but there was a pool and whirlpool), friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central location, close to waterfront, parks, museums, library.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Mar 14, 2011

Would stay there again

Overall the hotel was good but there were a few issues. On a positive note, the location was fantastic. Downtown with lots of shops, restaurants and bars. The room was modern, clean and fairly spacious. However, there was a lot of road noise. We could hear cars, people yelling even bus doors opening and closing. But they are currently renovating and will be putting in double glazed windows to help this. In regards to the renovations, we were there on a weekend so there wasn't anything happening. Not sure how it would be during the week. My boyfriend went to one of the floors looking for a vending machine as outlined in the guest book, but it wasn't there as that floor was being renovated. The elevator buttons wouldn't work for him to leave the floor but luckily he could get the service elevator down. Hotel staff were welcoming and friendly. However, service in the restaurant was fairly average. Despite the few issues, would definitely stay there again for the location and the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The waterfront promenade is only a short walk from the hotel. From there you can hire bikes and ride along the promenade to Stanley Park. There are bike racks at most locations. A great, cheap way to get around without having to deal with the traffic.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Victoria, BC
Feb 26, 2011

Perfect for a calm night

The hotel let us check in early which was great as we had a lot of stuff to carry and wanted to go shopping. The rooms were great, bathroom could have included more extras such as a shower cap and proper shampoo. All in all the hotel met our needs and went beyond, as we had a great sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A little far from the night clubs if you were to walk in the cold in high heals, but for shopping, the location is perfect. As well as the area is perfect, not too loud.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daphne, AL
Jan 16, 2011

Excellent room, price,and location!

I had never heard of this hotel so I was hesitant to book here but I was plesantly surprised. Our room was large and very clean with a nice balcony. The appointments were new, the staff was friendly and helpful. We wanted to utilize the sightseeing trolley to see the city before we ventured out on our own and the trolley stopped at front door of the hotel making this a convenient way of getting around. The hotel is conveniently located with lots of resturants and shops. The attached parking garage allowed us to go out sight seeing and exploring. I recommend this hotel highly and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive across the Lionsgate Bridge allows you to venture up the mountains to overlook points with magnificent views of the city. The sunset and the night lights of Vancouver were unexpected and are our favorite memory of the trip.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Earth
Nov 30, 2010

Nice and pleasunt

I had a mostly good stay at this hotel. Check in was fast, great, and professional; they guy was very nice and friendly. The rooms where great, clean, and fresh as well. My only beef is: A. The room location was next to the supply/cleaning room and the 'crew' was going in and out all the time; every 5 minutes of someone coming in/out, stand by our room and do paper work and the cycle goes on. There is no sound insulation around the door so we could here every time they fold their papers. B. Parking at this hotel costs you $15. My attitude here is that if I am paying $115 for your hotel room per night might as well let me park at your hotel for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place right in downtown!

Back to menu Return to top