$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weiderman
Business
Marblemount, WA
Sep 7, 2011

Blue Horizon Hotel

This hotel was perfect for walking to Stanley Park. Also had an option of taking the bus right outside. Centrally located for shopping and eating. The website said rooms had robes and fridge. My room did not have this. The hallway did have some odor but the room did not. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mchima123
Business
Abbotsford, BC
Jun 6, 2010

Great hotel, superb location!!

The hotel was wonderful. The location was great, right in the Robson shopping area, and a quick walk down to the Harbour Cruises terminal at the end of Denman (we had a cruise booked for the evening, so thought the Blue Horizon would be a nice place to stay).The room was fairly large, the TV was big and modern, and there was even a balcony. Parking was only an extra $14 per night, and it included in and out privileges, which was great. The only complaint I had was the air system - although we turned the AC unit up to the highest setting, the room didn't cool down as much as I would have liked. Actually, the lobby was a bit small which made lining up for check-in/check-out a little bit hard, since people were just milling about, and there wasn't too much order. While those are just minor details, I would definitely stay there again.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping and dining is basically out the front door of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg 51
Business
Carmel, CA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Great location and value

large rooms with small bathroom. In the heart of shopping and close access to Vancouver. Tour bus stops outside their front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to aki's for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
8ch8ch
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 20, 2011

Great spot for last-minute staycation

Very courteous, friendly & helpful front desk staff. Check-in & check-out were smooth & kept me happy. Fountain in the lobby area was soothing since I love running water - good ambiance. Housekeeping was a bit curt on the phone, but maid that came to the door was very sweet. Nice views of city & water / mountains in the distance from our room on 19th floor, our cozy balcony was nice. Room decor was great - very modern, clean & had an up-scale feel. Fantastically comfortable beds, could sleep there all day. Where did they get those pillows?! Suite had hairdryer, comp coffee & tea which was nice, though no microwave in suite. In-suite movie rentals a bit much ($13.99 per, so we opted out). 2 queen beds, plus chair/ottoman to lounge & watch TV from and a desk & chair with lamp and wired internet access. Requested shampoo & conditioner from housekeeping (nice!) but they don't carry toothpaste so pack it with you! Construction noise from high-rise close to us in the morning, but nothing too bothersome. Blackout curtains made for a restful sleep even when the sun came up. Didn't eat at restaurants because of the many choices on Robson (got take out & took full advantage of pigging out in our room). Liked the place overall, would probably recommend to friends & stay again (a bit steep for my budget but could do).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of places to eat on Robson street - for filling, good food I recommend Hon's (Chinese). You could take out & eat in the comfort of your room in your PJs if that's the kind of stay you're going for. Vast range from super casual walk-ins to very fancy sit-downs right on Robson Street. Also recommend a stroll by the water post-dinner at night; very beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelr
Business
Oregon
Sep 1, 2011

Blue Horizon

Great location near Stanley Park. Nice big room. Helpful staff. Good restaurant. Reasonable parking charge. Hard to beat, especially for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Stanley Park is a major attraction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Econgirl
Business
South Carolina, USA
Jun 7, 2010

Very pleased

We had a clean, spacious room at a reasonable price located in the midst of a major shopping area. We were very pleased with the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lilac88
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 4, 2010

Great value and location

I stayed here for four days in early August. Location was fantastic- Robson street is in the heart of Vancouver's shopping area, close to Stanley Park, and an easy bus ride from other parts of the city. Also a few blocks or short cab ride from the Canada Line (goes to airport). It was worth it to pay slightly more for a higher floor room; the view of the water was great (especially as there were fireworks one night). Staff was friendly and helpful. Huge room, plenty of closet space, nice quality sheets and plenty of pillows. Small lap pool, but whirlpool was a nice option. Bathroom could have been bigger/more recently updated, but was fine for the price. Forced air air conditioning was strong and a bit hard to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

1. Don't miss Stanley Park! 2. I took a day trip to Victoria. It's best to do this via a tour company, due to the bus/ferry connections, but I'm not sure it was worth the effort (except for Burchart Gardens, which were spectacular). 3. Be careful when walking near Gastown/Chinatown. There is a sketchy area filled with people who are down and out (homeless, drug addicts). I walked into this area around dusk. While my friend and I (both women) were not hassled, it definitely felt creepy and should be avoided.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 26, 2010

Good price and location!

The other reviewers are pretty accurate about their description of the Blue Horizon Hotel. The price is good for the location -- a good deal. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The bathroom is small but adequate. I'd stay here again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun shops, lots of places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Great Hotel

Reservation was for a queen bed, surprised with a large room containing 2 queen beds. Room had large LCD TV, nicely designed bathroom, desk with free internet. Hotel perfectly located for shopping and many nice restaurants. Parking extra charge. Would have like to have a microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wun Ton Noodle House is a short walk with good, low price food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T-squared
Business
Winfield, IL
Jul 6, 2010

Great location; recently updated

Blue Horizon is right in the middle of the action. We were steps from tons of shopping and restaurants and it was very easy to get around using the bus from there. We had a big room with lots of light and a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top