$138 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJVK
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Aug 15, 2011

Long time customer

I've been staying at this hotel on and off since it opened in the '60s because it is clean, prices are reasonable, people are friendly and most of all, for the great location on Robson Street. Superb views from most windows. Pleasant if not especially interesting restaurant, delightful summer sidewalk cafe for people watching. Barn-like pub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll through the West End residential district to English Bay. Eat at Milestones either there or near the hotel. In Summer, lunch in the open air cafeteria up the steps behind the Art Gallery.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Aug 7, 2011

Great location, very comfortable.

We have stayed at this hotel four times when we have visited Vancouver. We have no reason to look for a different hotel. Fair price and great location for Robson Street shopping and reasonably close to the waterfront for a walk. Also, the hotel has self-parking for $15 with in and out privileges. They let you park beyond check out time. If you drive to Vancouver this is a convenience. Very comfortable beds and a small balcony so you get fresh air. Windows on two sides. Coffee maker and frig in the room, and also multiple coffee shops close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pendleton, OR
Jul 29, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We went to Stanley Park, Capilano Suspension Bridge, and the Convention Center. Both the Convention Center and Stanley Park were in walking distance. The hotel offered free shuttle rides to Capilano Suspension Bridge, however the hotel staff failed to mention it so we drove and paid to park. Our dinners were amazing. Cactus Club was definitely number one if you had to choose. I would not stay at this hotel again in the future. My friend and I thought we were splurging for a little more luxury with this hotel. We discovered upon arrival we were merely paying for location. We booked a hotel on the highest level for our price only to discover when we got there we were on the 3rd floor. After threatening to leave when they refused to move us they had a change of heart and moved us. The hotel had 3 tiny elevators with no stairs as an option should you not want to wait for an elevator. However only one appeared to be working. The bathrooms were tiny. The hotel offers coupons for the tourist attractions but we were told they didn't when we asked but we saw other guests were receiving coupons. My friend suffers migraines and the hotel was painting hallways with no ventilation which caused her migraines each time we were at the hotel. The window washers were washing the outside windows and slopped their window fluid on cars below, including ours. We did end up with a discount upon speaking to the manager but only after a little pushing. We will not be returning to this hotel in the future. It is an overpriced hotel for the amenities, or lack there of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stanley Park is a must and be prepared to spend a minimum of 2 days. Even with that you will not see it all.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 4, 2011

Blue Horizon Hotel In a great location

We first stayed at the Coal Coast Harbor hotel for two nights as part of a tour. It was down by Canada Place and was nice, fancy, and $70 more a night. So, we moved for an additional night at the Blue Horizon. We preferred the location at the Blue Horizon - only about 5 or 6 blocks away from the Coal Coast Harbor but much more restaurants and activity near by. The rooms had a great view, were roomy and clean. The hotel is older style than the Coal Coast Harbor tho. We definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 4, 2011

Wonderful price for the location

This was my second visit to Vancouver (being from the Portland, Or area). Last time, we stayed up on Main St. @ the Howard Johnson, which involved walking down a hill, plus a train or bus ride to the downtown areas. So, we made it necessary to stay closer in. This hotel was listed as the cheapest in the downtown area AND IT WAS LOCATED ON ROBSON! A central location for dining & shopping. PROS: -Extremely helpful front desk staff -Very clean rooms -Super coomfy bed & robes -Balcony (not so great view) -Pool/Spa area (which we seemed to be the only ones to use) -Location, location, location: all of downtown is pretty much accessible by foot -Cheap, downtown parking: $15/night CONS: -$200 deposit charge unfront -Blah ceiling to floor curtains -Business center: dial-up internet computer in lobby ($3/min) -Dial-up internet only in rooms-no wireless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Robin
Business
Copenhgen, Denmark
Jun 7, 2011

Fantastic location, great room

After looking at the exorbitant rates for conference hotels, we lucked upon the Blue Horizon in a websearch. Only a 15-minute walk from the Conference Center, it offers spacious, comfortable rooms with refrigerator and coffee-maiking facilities. I was in heaven the first 5 days of my 9 day visit until my web connection suddenly started going down and not starting up. Everyone was very helpful but the problem was never really solved and I ended up using hours trying to get reconnected every time I turned on the computer to work. They are,however, in the process of installng wireless, so hopefully this will not be an issue in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great, inexpensive ethnic restaurants right around the corner on Robson

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYConsultant
Business
San Diego, CA
May 8, 2011

Decent. Rooms were very nice.

The robes are heavenly in this hotel. I almost overlooked them (in the closet, in plastic on the shelf. The room was very nice for the price. The main areas (hallways, restaurant) seemed just so so . Excellent value for the price. Note there doesn't seem to be wireless, just hard wired fast internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great street for shopping and dining.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa
Apr 22, 2011

Hotel Review

The Blue Horizon is a wonderful option for staying downtown in Vancouver. Rooms are bright (all rooms are on corners with lots of windows and often great views of mountains and water), the service is good, and the rates are excellent. Restaurant is good for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 10, 2011

Good Location. Nice rooms

Some renovation noise, but nice room, great view, good location. Parking is extra $14.95 per day, just so you know. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saranna78
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Value!

Fabulous location, great room on the 12th floor with TONS of windows and lot's of space. Really nice views. There was some construction during the day, but that didn't really matter since we were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top