$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoleneD.
Dallas, TX
Jun 17, 2012

Great

The only downside was that the internet is ethernet, not wi-fi... so we were not able to have internet in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelr
Business
Oregon
Sep 1, 2011

Blue Horizon

Great location near Stanley Park. Nice big room. Helpful staff. Good restaurant. Reasonable parking charge. Hard to beat, especially for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Stanley Park is a major attraction

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Econgirl
Business
South Carolina, USA
Jun 7, 2010

Very pleased

We had a clean, spacious room at a reasonable price located in the midst of a major shopping area. We were very pleased with the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lilac88
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 4, 2010

Great value and location

I stayed here for four days in early August. Location was fantastic- Robson street is in the heart of Vancouver's shopping area, close to Stanley Park, and an easy bus ride from other parts of the city. Also a few blocks or short cab ride from the Canada Line (goes to airport). It was worth it to pay slightly more for a higher floor room; the view of the water was great (especially as there were fireworks one night). Staff was friendly and helpful. Huge room, plenty of closet space, nice quality sheets and plenty of pillows. Small lap pool, but whirlpool was a nice option. Bathroom could have been bigger/more recently updated, but was fine for the price. Forced air air conditioning was strong and a bit hard to control.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

1. Don't miss Stanley Park! 2. I took a day trip to Victoria. It's best to do this via a tour company, due to the bus/ferry connections, but I'm not sure it was worth the effort (except for Burchart Gardens, which were spectacular). 3. Be careful when walking near Gastown/Chinatown. There is a sketchy area filled with people who are down and out (homeless, drug addicts). I walked into this area around dusk. While my friend and I (both women) were not hassled, it definitely felt creepy and should be avoided.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 26, 2010

Good price and location!

The other reviewers are pretty accurate about their description of the Blue Horizon Hotel. The price is good for the location -- a good deal. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice. The bathroom is small but adequate. I'd stay here again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun shops, lots of places to eat.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Great Hotel

Reservation was for a queen bed, surprised with a large room containing 2 queen beds. Room had large LCD TV, nicely designed bathroom, desk with free internet. Hotel perfectly located for shopping and many nice restaurants. Parking extra charge. Would have like to have a microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wun Ton Noodle House is a short walk with good, low price food.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T-squared
Business
Winfield, IL
Jul 6, 2010

Great location; recently updated

Blue Horizon is right in the middle of the action. We were steps from tons of shopping and restaurants and it was very easy to get around using the bus from there. We had a big room with lots of light and a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Aug 7, 2011

Great location, very comfortable.

We have stayed at this hotel four times when we have visited Vancouver. We have no reason to look for a different hotel. Fair price and great location for Robson Street shopping and reasonably close to the waterfront for a walk. Also, the hotel has self-parking for $15 with in and out privileges. They let you park beyond check out time. If you drive to Vancouver this is a convenience. Very comfortable beds and a small balcony so you get fresh air. Windows on two sides. Coffee maker and frig in the room, and also multiple coffee shops close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Aug 17, 2010

Wonderful room size and location

PROS: Location was the BEST reason to stay here! Robson Street has everything you need as a shopper. We walked everywhere. Lots of places to eat all around. We purchased trolley tickets and Capilano Bridge tickets right outside our hotel. The trolley tour took us all over Vancouver. We got off at the ferry stop to Granville Island where there are more shops, places to eat and street shows. We also caught the free shuttle to Capilano Bridge and then caught the 236 bus line to Grouse Mountain for the zip-line tour. (Pricey, but a must in our family's book). Make sure you see the lumberjack show too! And eat a scone located right behind the seats. If you miss the free shuttle at Capilano when you leave Grouse mtn. take the main transit bus down to the sea bus if you pay for 2 stops (pretty cheap-approx $4.00 each). This will take you back to downtown where we walked back to the hotel. CONS: We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but we did see some using it daily. The problem with the so called fitness center was that it was included in the pool and hot tub area, so if you're an avid runner, you'll think you're about to die from the heat. Yes a wobbly stand-fan is available but not enough to deal with the heat. They should make one of the spacious rooms into a fitness center and jack the heat up! My daughter (19 yrs. old) agreed, and chose to run the stairwell instead. It was cooler. We did have one problem with our ice container that upon arrival had used tea bags inside, and when I took it downstairs, they brought back the same one (I swear), that they had just 'rinsed' out. We never used it. The carpet had some major stains and the bathroom had a Q-tip on the floor during the whole trip. They could update the hallways too. The decor of the lobby and restuarant was nicely done, but as you got off the elevator, the hallway seemed like another hotel (and not the best). Even with all this, we would probably stay again because the room was large (minus the bathroom) and the location and price was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento, ca
Aug 20, 2010

last minute traveler

rooms are great size, and beds are super comfortable. If you're looking to be in the thick of shopping and dining then you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining, nightlife, recreation...this hotel puts you in the thick of it. new front desk staff was amazed at the rate i got, because of my orbitz booking. thanks [...]

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Robin
Business
Copenhgen, Denmark
Jun 7, 2011

Fantastic location, great room

After looking at the exorbitant rates for conference hotels, we lucked upon the Blue Horizon in a websearch. Only a 15-minute walk from the Conference Center, it offers spacious, comfortable rooms with refrigerator and coffee-maiking facilities. I was in heaven the first 5 days of my 9 day visit until my web connection suddenly started going down and not starting up. Everyone was very helpful but the problem was never really solved and I ended up using hours trying to get reconnected every time I turned on the computer to work. They are,however, in the process of installng wireless, so hopefully this will not be an issue in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great, inexpensive ethnic restaurants right around the corner on Robson

Back to menu Return to top