Blue Horizon Hotel

3 stars
1225 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
143 reviews
Convenient, clean and friendly

Very convenient with variety of shopping stores around the hotel. City and tour buses stops right... See full review

  • Go Travel 2
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great place for a vacation!

Spacious, clean, attractive and convenient. Loved the decor--brown, aqua carpet; brown walls. Very... See full review

  • polishitalian
  • Nov 2, 2013
The Blue Horizon is a first class hotel offering guests distinguished comfort, value and friendly service. Recently awarded The Green Hotel Plus Award in recognition of energy efficiency and environmentally friendly practices. Located in the heart of Robson street, downtown Vancouver West End. Only 9 blocks from Canada Place

Blue Horizon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Corner Room with Two Quee
Deluxe Corner Room with Two Queen Beds features:
Deluxe Corner Room with One Quee
Deluxe Corner Room with One Queen Bed features:
Standard Corner Room with Two Qu
Standard Corner Room with Two Queen Beds feature:
Standard Corner Room with One Qu
Standard Corner Room with One Queen Bed features:
Standard Room with One King Bed
Standard Room with One King Bed features:
Deluxe Corner Studio
Deluxe Corner Studio features:

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar

Hotel Map

49.2862 -123.1273
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.5 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.7 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.7 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Stanley Park: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.2 mi
  • English Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.1 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.8 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 6 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

Inlets Bistro
* Spring/Summer Sidewalk Patio
Inlets Lounge
Open Summer Hours from-1100-2300
Shenanigans Lounge
Open 1200-0200-Monday to Saturday/1100-2400-Sunday.
Aquatic Centre
Open hours-0630-2200 daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Blue Horizon Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
quirky
SEATTLE
Aug 27, 2011

great Vancouver find

I have stayed in Vancouver many times but never at this hotel. What a wonderful surprise. Terrific location, large, well-appointed rooms with lots of light. I great value! A nice restaurant with very tasty offerings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomington, IL
Jun 10, 2010

Loved Vancouver and the Blue Horizon

Blue Horizon is a great deal. Rooms are nothing fancy (we stayed at the W in seattle the night before), but are comfortable and nice. The location and price make this hotel. You are a few minutes walk from the entrance to Stanley Park. It is on Robson street, which is full of shopping and dining options. 10-15 minutes away from the seawall, which you can walk around almost the entire city. There is also a free shuttle to Capilano suspension bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have time and are in good shape, you can walk just about anywhere from the hotel.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Earth
Nov 30, 2010

Nice and pleasunt

I had a mostly good stay at this hotel. Check in was fast, great, and professional; they guy was very nice and friendly. The rooms where great, clean, and fresh as well. My only beef is: A. The room location was next to the supply/cleaning room and the 'crew' was going in and out all the time; every 5 minutes of someone coming in/out, stand by our room and do paper work and the cycle goes on. There is no sound insulation around the door so we could here every time they fold their papers. B. Parking at this hotel costs you $15. My attitude here is that if I am paying $115 for your hotel room per night might as well let me park at your hotel for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place right in downtown!

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jul 4, 2011

Wonderful price for the location

This was my second visit to Vancouver (being from the Portland, Or area). Last time, we stayed up on Main St. @ the Howard Johnson, which involved walking down a hill, plus a train or bus ride to the downtown areas. So, we made it necessary to stay closer in. This hotel was listed as the cheapest in the downtown area AND IT WAS LOCATED ON ROBSON! A central location for dining & shopping. PROS: -Extremely helpful front desk staff -Very clean rooms -Super coomfy bed & robes -Balcony (not so great view) -Pool/Spa area (which we seemed to be the only ones to use) -Location, location, location: all of downtown is pretty much accessible by foot -Cheap, downtown parking: $15/night CONS: -$200 deposit charge unfront -Blah ceiling to floor curtains -Business center: dial-up internet computer in lobby ($3/min) -Dial-up internet only in rooms-no wireless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sacramento, ca
Aug 20, 2010

last minute traveler

rooms are great size, and beds are super comfortable. If you're looking to be in the thick of shopping and dining then you can't beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining, nightlife, recreation...this hotel puts you in the thick of it. new front desk staff was amazed at the rate i got, because of my orbitz booking. thanks [...]

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
May 22, 2010

Great Hotel in a Great Location

Love the location and great check in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coppercox
Bedfordshire UK
Oct 6, 2012

Vancouver city stay 9th Sept to 12th sept 2012

Excellent Hotel within walking distance of shops. Good cafes opposite for breakfast. Very helpful staff. Reasonable price for Vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at Cafe opposite, reasonable prced.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Aug 17, 2010

Wonderful room size and location

PROS: Location was the BEST reason to stay here! Robson Street has everything you need as a shopper. We walked everywhere. Lots of places to eat all around. We purchased trolley tickets and Capilano Bridge tickets right outside our hotel. The trolley tour took us all over Vancouver. We got off at the ferry stop to Granville Island where there are more shops, places to eat and street shows. We also caught the free shuttle to Capilano Bridge and then caught the 236 bus line to Grouse Mountain for the zip-line tour. (Pricey, but a must in our family's book). Make sure you see the lumberjack show too! And eat a scone located right behind the seats. If you miss the free shuttle at Capilano when you leave Grouse mtn. take the main transit bus down to the sea bus if you pay for 2 stops (pretty cheap-approx $4.00 each). This will take you back to downtown where we walked back to the hotel. CONS: We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but we did see some using it daily. The problem with the so called fitness center was that it was included in the pool and hot tub area, so if you're an avid runner, you'll think you're about to die from the heat. Yes a wobbly stand-fan is available but not enough to deal with the heat. They should make one of the spacious rooms into a fitness center and jack the heat up! My daughter (19 yrs. old) agreed, and chose to run the stairwell instead. It was cooler. We did have one problem with our ice container that upon arrival had used tea bags inside, and when I took it downstairs, they brought back the same one (I swear), that they had just 'rinsed' out. We never used it. The carpet had some major stains and the bathroom had a Q-tip on the floor during the whole trip. They could update the hallways too. The decor of the lobby and restuarant was nicely done, but as you got off the elevator, the hallway seemed like another hotel (and not the best). Even with all this, we would probably stay again because the room was large (minus the bathroom) and the location and price was just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mjohn19
Atlanta, GA
Jun 25, 2010

Restful stay at Blue Horizon

This hotel has a great location on Robson Street and is within walking distance of both Stanley Park and Gastown. Great shopping and good eats are just outside the lobby entrance. Our room was large and quite with comfortable sheets, towels and basic sundries. A sliding glass door allowed entry onto a nice balcony from which we could see the beautiful skyscrapers of Vancouver and part of the waterfront. The decor, carpet and fixtures were basic and a bit dated but otherwise clean and fresh. The room was furnished with a flat-screen television and clock radio. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Just get out and walk! Visit Stanley Park and the Vancouver Aquarium, check out the stores on Robson Street, then head into Gastown for a nice dinner.

Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
B.C. Canada
Jul 17, 2010

Great Location

We've stayed here several times and always enjoy it. It can get busy with no rooms available but it you can get in, it's great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not to impressed with many of the dining establishments in the area.

Back to menu Return to top