$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Barclay Hotel

2 stars
1348 Robson, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Great family-friendly hotel

What a great hotel. Location is amazing; walking distance to the great shops and cafes around... See full review

  • KiwiAng
  • Aug 26, 2013
That's Good Stuff for Good Price

Me and my boyfriend stay at Barclay Hotel every time we visit Vancouver since we have discovered... See full review

  • Loringrip
  • Feb 24, 2013
A heritage hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Vancouver. It is located on the city's popular and famous Robson Street, surrounded by charming boutiques, shops, bistros, restaurants and art galleries. Within walking distance are Vancouver's attractions - Stanley Park, English Bay, the world famous Vancouver Aquarium, the financial district and major shopping malls right in the center of activities. The Barclay Hotel is Vancouver's preferred location. The Barclay Hotel offers the ultimate in comfort and style with its unique cozy European favor. It is what you would expect it to be, comfortable and luxurious accommodations at reasonable and affordable prices. Our rooms offer individual air-conditioning, direct-dial telephone system, mini bar, same day laundry service, and parking facilities are available Located in the heart of downtown YVR-Vancouver

Hotel Map

49.2874 -123.1292
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barclay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Barclay Hotel Rooms

Standard Twin
Standard rooms at the Barclay are traditional hotel rooms. Rooms are furnished with 1 large twin bed, desk, chairs, data port, cable television and spacious bathroom with tub and shower. No rollaways allowed. Sleeps 2.
Standard Double
Standard rooms at the Barclay are traditional hotel rooms. Rooms are furnished with 1 double bed, desk, chairs, data port, cable television and spacious bathroom with tub and shower. No rollaways allowed. Sleeps 2.
Standard Queen
Standard rooms at the Barclay are traditional hotel rooms, the standard queen is the largest of this category. Rooms are furnished with 1 queen bed, desk, chairs, data port, cable television and spacious bathroom with tub and shower. Max Occ is 2 adults a
Standard Plus 2 Twin
Standard Plus rooms are very spacious and an excellent choice for guests with a longer stay. These rooms have 2 large twin beds, a separate sitting area and a refrigerator. Smoking rooms are available upon request. Max occupancy is 4 adults and 1 child. 1
Standard Plus 2 Double
Standard Plus rooms are very spacious and an excellent choice for guests with a longer stay. These rooms have 2 bedrooms each with a double bed, a separate sitting area and a refrigerator. This room offers multiple closets and drawer space for storgare du
Deluxe 2 Double
Deluxe Double room is very large offering a spacious separate living area and bedroom. The room has 2 double beds, a refrigerator, bath with shower and tub. 1 rollaway allowed. Max occupancy is 4 adults plus 1 child.
Suite King or Queen
The suites are spacious rooms and are ideal for families. They offer either 1 king or 1 queen bed, a pull-out sleeper sofa in the living area and are able to accommodate 1 rollaway bed. The room has 1 bath with shower and tub, data port and refrigerator.

Amenities

Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Shops/Commercial services
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.2 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

On-Site Food and Beverage Facilities
- The property has the following on-site food and beverage facilities: PIANA LOUNGE - Type: Bar/Lounge - Cuisine: breakfast available/lounge in the eveing - Hours of Operation: 700- MAXIM - Type: Full Service Restaurant - Hours of Operation:

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Barclay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeattleiteTravelBug
Seattle
Mar 19, 2012

Better than expected.

Great location - it's a bit of a walk to the bars, but a great location for shopping. The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise: Delux 2 double beds - the beds were separated by a wall, great living-room-like area, kitchen table, and fridge. Perfect value for the price, will definitely stay here again. Although, do take note NOT to exchange money at the hotel, their exchange rate is a rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Istvanxx
California
Jul 15, 2012

Mr.

Good location. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KiwiAng
ChCh, NZ
Aug 26, 2013

Great family-friendly hotel

What a great hotel. Location is amazing; walking distance to the great shops and cafes around Robson Street, Stanley Park and the Aquarium, the beaches & waterfront area. Our family of 5 stayed for 1 night in a (recently decorated) very quiet, comfortable, clean room, went away for a night, then came back to another (recently decorated) clean, comfortable room. staff were friendly and for a room that sleeps five in such a great location, it was a bargain! Also (reasonable) walking distance to the Skytrain and Canada Line which takes you straight to the airport. Air conditioning units were a bit too noisy use at night but we opened the windows and there was very little noise coming from the street below (given the location of the hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic array of cafes, restaurants, food stalls within a few minutes walk of the hotel, some 24 hours which is great when you're up at 4 in the morning with jet-lagged kids! Every cuisine you can imagine is nearby.

Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
edmonton AB
Dec 5, 2009

Hotel travel

It is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Egirl
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Apr 2, 2012

Get what you pay for

I got this room simply looking for a bed to sleep on at night while on vacation. I got it. Comfortable and clean room. Nothing fancy but the cost was beyond reasonable. The hotel is having renos done so hopefully it'll be more appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stanley Park is a short walk away. Surrounded by various shops and restaurants.

Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bree480
Highlands, NJ
Jun 27, 2012

Barclay Hotel was pretty good

Wasn't expecting much at all, but I thought it was pretty good. Great location, nice clean room, small bathroom though. I'd recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to go to Stanley Park. And go to Capilano too. There are numerous bike rental places in the area.

Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latin lady
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 8, 2012

Decent and local

The location of this place was great! Very local to convenient stores and the ship area. The only complaint for me was the internet being slow. It was free with a password but it lagged speed. Other than that, it's very affordable with a friendly staff. Room and bathroom are small but if all your concern is a place to sleep and shower at a reasonable price this is the place for you! Even though my room was small the bed covers design vamped up the room to a red/orange color that I'd like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks and Louies are so close that you don't need a cab...pretty walkable in the city.

Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Quiet room, great location

Within easy walking distance from my conference on the waterfront, at a fraction of the price of the conference hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berkeley, CA
Dec 31, 2009

Great hotel even if the room was small

This hotel was a great deal and a fantastic find. It was extremely inexpensive, but it is actually on Robson Street, the main shopping street of Vancouver. There are tons of restaurants, shops, and attractions nearby and it was a wonderful location to be based out of. Also they had an agreement with a hotel a few doors down to use their parking lot, which was not that expensive but did cost a little extra. I'd very much suggest this hotel, with the one note that our room was extremely small. They do have some larger rooms so you might want to make sure that you have one of those if you care, but ours fit two people fine even if it was cozy. Everything else about the room was fine though. It was very very clean, warm, and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jw PNW
Seattle, WA
Oct 9, 2012

Don't judge a book by its cover

When I pulled up to the Barclay after hours of travel I was pretty scared. The exterior needs some major TLC and the lobby isn't much better. I walked in to the reservation desk and was greeted by a very friendly staff, the hotel restaurant apparently had been booked for a party and the techno music pumping out of there made it difficult to hear the woman checking me in. My fear that I had made a terrible mistake kept growing. After walking up two floors to my room I was pleasantly surprised that I could no longer hear the music. I reached my room only to find out they are renovating the hotel. My room was completely brand new and very clean. I have never been so thankful, brand new bathroom and fixtures, nice very comfortable new bed. The room was small but perfect for a solo traveler. For the price and the location you really can't go wrong! I would definitely stay at the Barclay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top