$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Barclay Hotel

2 stars
1348 Robson, Vancouver, BC V6E 1C5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
28 reviews
Great family-friendly hotel

What a great hotel. Location is amazing; walking distance to the great shops and cafes around... See full review

  • KiwiAng
  • Aug 26, 2013
That's Good Stuff for Good Price

Me and my boyfriend stay at Barclay Hotel every time we visit Vancouver since we have discovered... See full review

  • Loringrip
  • Feb 24, 2013
A heritage hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Vancouver. It is located on the city's popular and famous Robson Street, surrounded by charming boutiques, shops, bistros, restaurants and art galleries. Within walking distance are Vancouver's attractions - Stanley Park, English Bay, the world famous Vancouver Aquarium, the financial district and major shopping malls right in the center of activities. The Barclay Hotel is Vancouver's preferred location. The Barclay Hotel offers the ultimate in comfort and style with its unique cozy European favor. It is what you would expect it to be, comfortable and luxurious accommodations at reasonable and affordable prices. Our rooms offer individual air-conditioning, direct-dial telephone system, mini bar, same day laundry service, and parking facilities are available Located in the heart of downtown YVR-Vancouver

Hotel Map

49.2874 -123.1292
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barclay Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Barclay Hotel Rooms

Standard Twin
Standard rooms at the Barclay are traditional hotel rooms. Rooms are furnished with 1 large twin bed, desk, chairs, data port, cable television and spacious bathroom with tub and shower. No rollaways allowed. Sleeps 2.
Standard Double
Standard rooms at the Barclay are traditional hotel rooms. Rooms are furnished with 1 double bed, desk, chairs, data port, cable television and spacious bathroom with tub and shower. No rollaways allowed. Sleeps 2.
Standard Queen
Standard rooms at the Barclay are traditional hotel rooms, the standard queen is the largest of this category. Rooms are furnished with 1 queen bed, desk, chairs, data port, cable television and spacious bathroom with tub and shower. Max Occ is 2 adults a
Standard Plus 2 Twin
Standard Plus rooms are very spacious and an excellent choice for guests with a longer stay. These rooms have 2 large twin beds, a separate sitting area and a refrigerator. Smoking rooms are available upon request. Max occupancy is 4 adults and 1 child. 1
Standard Plus 2 Double
Standard Plus rooms are very spacious and an excellent choice for guests with a longer stay. These rooms have 2 bedrooms each with a double bed, a separate sitting area and a refrigerator. This room offers multiple closets and drawer space for storgare du
Deluxe 2 Double
Deluxe Double room is very large offering a spacious separate living area and bedroom. The room has 2 double beds, a refrigerator, bath with shower and tub. 1 rollaway allowed. Max occupancy is 4 adults plus 1 child.
Suite King or Queen
The suites are spacious rooms and are ideal for families. They offer either 1 king or 1 queen bed, a pull-out sleeper sofa in the living area and are able to accommodate 1 rollaway bed. The room has 1 bath with shower and tub, data port and refrigerator.

Amenities

Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Shops/Commercial services
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock

Nearby points of interest

  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Downtown: 0.5 mi
  • Marine Building: 0.6 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 0.7 mi
  • Canada Place: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 0.8 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 0.8 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.9 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.1 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • False Creek: 1.2 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • English Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.6 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.1 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.2 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.7 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.7 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.9 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.2 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 47.8 mi

Dining

On-Site Food and Beverage Facilities
- The property has the following on-site food and beverage facilities: PIANA LOUNGE - Type: Bar/Lounge - Cuisine: breakfast available/lounge in the eveing - Hours of Operation: 700- MAXIM - Type: Full Service Restaurant - Hours of Operation:

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Barclay Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nanaimo bc
Apr 20, 2011

1 night stay

very basic ammenities, but at least the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

went to canucks game and stayed here, a long walk to and from but managable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never stop travelling
Nanaimo B.C.
Oct 31, 2010

Great location,clean accomodation.

Great location on Robson street. Close to everything.large room, clean and basic. Older hotel could use renovation, but would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hons restaraunt directly across the street has good chinese food at great prices and huge selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Quiet room, great location

Within easy walking distance from my conference on the waterfront, at a fraction of the price of the conference hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
username
Seattle, WA
Oct 10, 2010

Take the good with the bad....

This hotel didn't exactly feel like a hotel, at least not by North American standards. That having been said, it worked fine for a place to crash when even Days Inn and Econo Lodge properties were approaching the hundred-dollar range. Some positives include a great location close to Stanley Park, shopping, and entertainment, quick and friendly check-in, and -- although there is no elevator, a room on the third floor meant the noise from the bar/lounge on the first floor was entirely inaudible even with some serious music on Friday and Saturday night. (I'm not sure that would be the case from rooms on lower floors.) Hallways are well-lit with lights that are almost to the point of being unreasonably bright, and there are security cameras in the hallways. It doesn't feel like a prison, but the cameras and lighting help to make it feel like the owners do indeed care about the safety of their guests. Now, some issues that may be annoying or at least factors to consider if you are expecting a full-service hotel or even a limited-service property the major brands. Although some of these issues could first be seen as deal-breakers for many travelers, I've included mitigating factors and workarounds that made the issues fairly tolerable: - Smelly room. Upon entering the room, a strong scent of either cheap perfume or deodorizer was immediately evident. It was fairly overpowering every time the room was entered and I thought this would be a problem, but stopped noticing after only a few minutes inside. - The room was tiny. The room was smaller than the last Motel 6 room I stayed in Sandusky, Ohio. I guess you can't really work around this, but if you're like me you probably don't plan on spending much time in the room itself. - Tiny TV. Upon opening an entertainment center that is probably designed to hold a 26" TV, I was surprised to see a comically tiny 13" TV. The good news is the room is so small that you can probably see it from anywhere in the room other than the bathroom. The remote worked, picture quality was decent and I'm guessing there were 30 or 40 cable channels. No HBO or on-demand movies but definitely beyond the normal broadcast stations. - No bell staff. We didn't try asking the front desk about leaving bags there after checking out because it didn't that the hotel was anywhere near being able to deal with storing luggage. On the other hand, there are other hotels nearby where you can drop bags while sightseeing on your last day in town. - Wifi was unusable. The table-tent on the room's tiny desk advertised wifi, but I was unable to establish a connection. However, there is a hotel right next door with free wifi and a strong signal that I was able to use from inside the room. In conclusion, I would probably look first to stay at another hotel in Vancouver. If I couldn't find something reasonable between hotel points, AAA discounts, or promotional rates, I would probably stay here again. If you plan on booking a room here, it's probably because it's significantly cheaper than other option. Keep that in mind you should have a great trip, as long as you can do with a clean but outdated room and you aren't coming here expecting to be pampered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
first time to canada!
Portland, OR
Mar 28, 2010

AVOID!!

This was a joke, we booked about 2 hours before we planned to check in but in our past experiences that has been no problem, when we arrived they didnt have our reservation, and didnt even have the room described. I had to log onto my e-mail from there to show the front desk clerk that I was indeed at the right place. Once she saw it she offered to give us a 'discount' to make the price similar to what we had booked, but because of what we saw in the lobby we asked to see the rooms first, and they matched almost exactly, small, dirty and old. Needless to say we did NOT stay here. We left and found a much nicer hotel in a better location, which I would recommend, its the Sandman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berkeley, CA
Dec 31, 2009

Great hotel even if the room was small

This hotel was a great deal and a fantastic find. It was extremely inexpensive, but it is actually on Robson Street, the main shopping street of Vancouver. There are tons of restaurants, shops, and attractions nearby and it was a wonderful location to be based out of. Also they had an agreement with a hotel a few doors down to use their parking lot, which was not that expensive but did cost a little extra. I'd very much suggest this hotel, with the one note that our room was extremely small. They do have some larger rooms so you might want to make sure that you have one of those if you care, but ours fit two people fine even if it was cozy. Everything else about the room was fine though. It was very very clean, warm, and cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
edmonton AB
Dec 5, 2009

Hotel travel

It is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barclay Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Aug 2, 2009

old and run down

NOT a 3star as listed. Excellent location for downtown activities if you are prepared for an old hotel w/tiny bathroom w/sink in the room, no closet(hooks on the wall),frig in the middle of the floor because there was no room for it,window air conditioner behind the curtains that barely cooled the place down. Other downtown hotels are much more though so it's a personal choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search