$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

3 stars
View map of 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1W5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cakie
Business
San Francisco, CA.
Jan 14, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff

My daughter and I had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and gave us good advice in what to see and do in Vancouver. They were also friendly and polite. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to Stanley Park and enjoy the views and activities there. We plan to stay in this hotel the next time we visit vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located to many activities in Vancouver. Walking distance to Stanley Park.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss T T
Business
California
Jan 3, 2012

It's okay

The location of the hotel was convenient for where we wanted to be. It was barely a 10 minute drive to the places we wanted to go. Parking was ridiculous. We had to pay $15 a night to park in a tiny lot that was always full. The room smelled like stale urine. No matter how much we sprayed the bathroom and room smelled like urine. Not very pleasant. The A/C unit wasn't properly working either. It was a bit frustrating because it was exceptionally cold and we couldn't even use the heater. The cleaning service came in even though we had the "do not disturb" sign up; we felt this was a bit sketchy and had to keep our valuables with us. By the way, there was no safe. All in all this place is okay, but I felt it was definitely not worth the money I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouV
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Extremely well run; very comfortable.

The location is excellent; the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
famof3
Business
johnston,ia
Aug 7, 2011

Good deal in good location!

Our family was in Vancouver for a conference and moved to this hotel after the conference ended. My wife and daughter did some sightseeing and we were very pleased with the accommodations (maybe small but nice with granite counters and flat-screen tv) and amenities. We had a small fridge in the room, coin-op laundry available and free wi-fi, things our previous hotel did not have for a much higher price. We were very close to the beach and Stanley Park and even had a view from our window, although the windows were a little dirty. There were plenty of restaurants, produce stores, and full-size grocery store and a community library.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Although we found it quite expensive on top of the American dollar was a little less than the Canadian dollar, once we moved to this hotel we see it could have been a bit cheaper because of hotel price, cheaper parking for rental car and so much within walking distance. Lots of people rented bikes.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 31, 2011

Bad experience

Except water, everything else was old and filthy. Never ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 31, 2011

Bad experience

Except water, everything else was old and filthy. Never ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
May 17, 2011

Great Location

Comfortable bed and sofa, wireless internet included, and walking distance to Canada Place, the Aquarium, and a large variety of restaurants and shops made for a great hotel choice. I would definitely consider staying there again. The only downside was the fact that the bathroom had a mildew smell from shower curtain / minimal ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ontario visiters
Business
Lakefield, Ontario
May 13, 2011

Best Western Sands

room was small & bed against wall so access from 1 side only, but clean & comfortable. Nice to have restaurant downstairs for good breakfast. Fee for car parking added to overnight cost & not used to being charged a damage deposit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowling Green, KY
May 5, 2011

Very nice.

We visited Vancouver for a day. The accommodations were very nice. The staff was helpful. We were slightly disappointed that we didn't have a water view, but we were so happy with the room that it didn't really matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Checkers served a good breakfast and had a friendly bar.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, IN
May 3, 2011

Visiting Daughter

Very clean, good sleeping. Lobby was hard to find - not well marked. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top