$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

3 stars
View map of 1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1W5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss T T
Business
California
Jan 3, 2012

It's okay

The location of the hotel was convenient for where we wanted to be. It was barely a 10 minute drive to the places we wanted to go. Parking was ridiculous. We had to pay $15 a night to park in a tiny lot that was always full. The room smelled like stale urine. No matter how much we sprayed the bathroom and room smelled like urine. Not very pleasant. The A/C unit wasn't properly working either. It was a bit frustrating because it was exceptionally cold and we couldn't even use the heater. The cleaning service came in even though we had the "do not disturb" sign up; we felt this was a bit sketchy and had to keep our valuables with us. By the way, there was no safe. All in all this place is okay, but I felt it was definitely not worth the money I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouV
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Extremely well run; very comfortable.

The location is excellent; the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
famof3
Business
johnston,ia
Aug 7, 2011

Good deal in good location!

Our family was in Vancouver for a conference and moved to this hotel after the conference ended. My wife and daughter did some sightseeing and we were very pleased with the accommodations (maybe small but nice with granite counters and flat-screen tv) and amenities. We had a small fridge in the room, coin-op laundry available and free wi-fi, things our previous hotel did not have for a much higher price. We were very close to the beach and Stanley Park and even had a view from our window, although the windows were a little dirty. There were plenty of restaurants, produce stores, and full-size grocery store and a community library.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Although we found it quite expensive on top of the American dollar was a little less than the Canadian dollar, once we moved to this hotel we see it could have been a bit cheaper because of hotel price, cheaper parking for rental car and so much within walking distance. Lots of people rented bikes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 31, 2011

Bad experience

Except water, everything else was old and filthy. Never ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
May 17, 2011

Great Location

Comfortable bed and sofa, wireless internet included, and walking distance to Canada Place, the Aquarium, and a large variety of restaurants and shops made for a great hotel choice. I would definitely consider staying there again. The only downside was the fact that the bathroom had a mildew smell from shower curtain / minimal ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ontario visiters
Business
Lakefield, Ontario
May 13, 2011

Best Western Sands

room was small & bed against wall so access from 1 side only, but clean & comfortable. Nice to have restaurant downstairs for good breakfast. Fee for car parking added to overnight cost & not used to being charged a damage deposit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowling Green, KY
May 5, 2011

Very nice.

We visited Vancouver for a day. The accommodations were very nice. The staff was helpful. We were slightly disappointed that we didn't have a water view, but we were so happy with the room that it didn't really matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Checkers served a good breakfast and had a friendly bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, IN
May 3, 2011

Visiting Daughter

Very clean, good sleeping. Lobby was hard to find - not well marked. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Oct 17, 2010

Nice Hotel

Nice location good price great room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Aug 3, 2010

Great staff and hotel

We had a great stay. It was a busy weekend in Vancouver with the finale of Celebration of Light and the Pride parade on Sunday morning. The staff was very helpful to us navigating around the area during both events. Especially the parade morning when we had to leave for the airport and many local streets were closed. The rooms were spacious, clean, and we had a refrigerator in our room which we didn't expect. The hotel is also very recycle and environmentally friendly and they enforce it, which we liked. Great location for English Bay, Sunset Beach and Stanley Park-Aquarium. It is also very good for any bus lines you would need to travel throughout the city. We would stay at the Sands again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Grouse Mountain was not too far of a drive from the hotel, and a much more fun experience than the Capsilano bridge. Both are expensive to tour, and the bridge is neat, but there are many more things to do at Grouse Mountain and the view of the Ocean and Vancouver is incredible. Plus the bistro has great drinks and food that is at the top of the mountain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top