$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

3 stars
1755 Davie Street, Vancouver, BC V6G 1W5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
38 reviews
Very Convenient

This hotel is located in an excellent location. It is near the beach, near Stanley Park and... See full review

  • CLG4127
  • Aug 6, 2014
Most enjoyable stay in Vancouver in years

Don’t judge this by the price. This hotel is better than others charging twice as much. Very clean... See full review

  • Crazy 57
  • Dec 3, 2013
Guests looking for the best in quality and service at hotels in downtown Vancouver don ¿t need to look any further. Our Vancouver hotel is well-known for friendly customer service and well-appointed rooms. Were close to a variety of must-see attractions. The top destinations are a short walk away, so guests can quickly get to know the local neighborhood. The best accommodations in Vancouver come with a competitive price and plenty of perks. There are over 200 restaurants within walking distance, and our helpful staff is happy to provide recommendations. Enjoy all that downtown Vancouver has to offer, from museums and galleries to boutiques and cafes. Guests that are looking for discovery and wonder during their stay can visit the nearby Vancouver Aquarium, Science World and Maritime Museum. Guests at this Vancouver hotel will also delight in the charming natural surroundings, such as Stanley Park, English Bay, English Bay Beach, and Grouse Mountain. Looking for some retail therapy? Granville Island, Robson Street and Pacific Center are all a short distance from this Vancouver hotel. Those on business are ensured that they can make the most of their trip, because the financial district, Saint Paul's Hospital and the Vancouver Convention Centre are all close by. You can also do business at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands in one of our meeting rooms. Travel with ease while staying at this Vancouver hotel. Vancouver International Airport is just 15 kilometers away. Enjoy well-appointed rooms complete with quality amenities and bedding. The warm, welcoming staff of our Vancouver hotel is happy to help guests plan a day filled with sightseeing and discovering the best local shopping and dining. Book your upcoming stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands Rooms

1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,WHISPD,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PREFLR,BALCON,PRTOVW,UPGAMN,42LCTV
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,37LCD,FRIDGE,DESK,WIFI,MP3ALM
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,37LCD,FRIDGE,DESK,WIFI,MP3ALM
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,37LCD,FRIDGE,DESK,SOFAB,MP3ALM
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OVRSZD RM,3RDSOF,37FLTV,WIFI,MP3ALM
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SEPLVGRM,SFBD,2FLT TVS,MP3ALRM,WIFI
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SEPLVGRM,FULKITN,JETTUB,SFBD,2FLTTV
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PREFLR,MTNVW,SOFBD,UPGAMN,42LCTV
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PREFLR,MTNVW,UPGAMN,42LCTV,WIFI
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,SEPLVGRM,SFBD,2FLT TVS,MP3ALRM,WIFI
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SEPLVGRM,FLKITN,SFBD,2FLATV,MP3ALRM
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PREFLR,BALCON,PRTOVW,UPGAMN,42LCTV

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Stanley Park: 0.4 mi
  • English Bay: 0.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.3 mi
  • False Creek: 1.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.6 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Stanley Park: 0.4 mi
  • English Bay: 0.9 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1 mi
  • Marine Building: 1.1 mi
  • Granville Island: 1.1 mi
  • Vancouver Convention Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Kitsilano Pool: 1.2 mi
  • Port Metro Vancouver: 1.2 mi
  • Vancouver Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • Vancouver Lookout: 1.3 mi
  • Canada Place: 1.3 mi
  • False Creek: 1.3 mi
  • B.C. Place Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • General Motors Place: 1.6 mi
  • Rogers Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Capilano Suspension Bridge and Park: 2.9 mi
  • Bloedel Floral Conservatory: 3.2 mi
  • Queen Elizabeth Park: 3.3 mi
  • VanDusen Botanical Garden: 3.4 mi
  • Pacific Spirit Regional Park: 4.3 mi
  • University of British Columbia: 5.2 mi
  • Museum of Anthropology: 5.3 mi
  • UBC Botanical Garden: 5.4 mi
  • Nitobe Memorial Garden: 5.5 mi
  • Lynn Canyon Park: 6.7 mi
  • Garibaldi Provincial Park: 48 mi

Dining

Raincity Grill
Across the street from Raincity Grill, full service, Pacific Rim, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, fresh, local ingredients sourced within 100 Kilometers of the restaurant. True west coast cuisine in a fantastic setting.
Milestones
0.01 kilometer(s) from Milestones, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Boathouse
0.01 kilometer(s) from Boathouse, full service, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
Mac's Convenience Stores
0.01 kilometer(s) from Mac's Convenience Stores, snack bar, American, open for: lunch, confectionery store
Tanpopo
0.02 kilometer(s) from Tanpopo, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner, all you-can-eat sushi.
Bayside Lounge
Adjacent to Bayside Lounge, bar/lounge, Pacific Rim, open for: lunch, dinner, is one of the west end's coolest and sleekest nightspots. Chill out with nightly drink specials, DJs and a stunning view of English Bay. Serving lunch and dinner daily. BC
The Park at English Bay
The Park at English Bay, on premises, full service, International, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner. The Park is dedicated to providing the best British Columbia has to offer fresh meats, sustainable seafood, and locally sourced produce has been

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
poeili
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jun 1, 2012

Great location and super friendly staff

Loved the place, staff is very friendly. Had a balcony that overlooked English Bay, superb to relax and let the thoughts roam free. Rooms are very clean and maids are very attentive to details. Hotel is also used by large groups - just avoid the reception when those groups are leaving! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll around Yaletown and treat yourself to an amazing Nouveau Canadian bistro experience at the Flying Pig

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Omega3
Business
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Jun 1, 2012

Nice basic hotel

Nice overall hotel with comfortable beds. Right next to beach and shops and restaurants. Just missing continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UniversalTraveller
Business
UK
May 11, 2012

Great city break location steps from the bay

Had room 323 with a partial mountain view. Comfy bed and sofa plus excellent organic coffee. Spacious bathroom and wardrobe space. Staff friendly but professional and efficient. Lovely location and easy inexpensive access from Airport via Skytain and bus no.5, stops right outside hotel. Good range of cafes and shops near the hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mick0214
Business
Cork, Co. Cork, Ireland
Mar 28, 2012

Great location

Fantastic location, good value, large clean room and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take downtown bus just outside hotel to get right to the heart of downtown Vancouver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Traveller
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

A cozy room in a great location

As a college student, I didn't want to stay anywhere too extravagant. I'm glad I chose to stay at the Best Western Sands. The location is great, so you can explore the city easily. When you come back to the hotel, you can relax and be comfortable. What else do you need?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cakie
Business
San Francisco, CA.
Jan 14, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff

My daughter and I had a wonderful experience in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and gave us good advice in what to see and do in Vancouver. They were also friendly and polite. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk to Stanley Park and enjoy the views and activities there. We plan to stay in this hotel the next time we visit vancouver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located to many activities in Vancouver. Walking distance to Stanley Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss T T
Business
California
Jan 3, 2012

It's okay

The location of the hotel was convenient for where we wanted to be. It was barely a 10 minute drive to the places we wanted to go. Parking was ridiculous. We had to pay $15 a night to park in a tiny lot that was always full. The room smelled like stale urine. No matter how much we sprayed the bathroom and room smelled like urine. Not very pleasant. The A/C unit wasn't properly working either. It was a bit frustrating because it was exceptionally cold and we couldn't even use the heater. The cleaning service came in even though we had the "do not disturb" sign up; we felt this was a bit sketchy and had to keep our valuables with us. By the way, there was no safe. All in all this place is okay, but I felt it was definitely not worth the money I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouV
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Extremely well run; very comfortable.

The location is excellent; the staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
famof3
Business
johnston,ia
Aug 7, 2011

Good deal in good location!

Our family was in Vancouver for a conference and moved to this hotel after the conference ended. My wife and daughter did some sightseeing and we were very pleased with the accommodations (maybe small but nice with granite counters and flat-screen tv) and amenities. We had a small fridge in the room, coin-op laundry available and free wi-fi, things our previous hotel did not have for a much higher price. We were very close to the beach and Stanley Park and even had a view from our window, although the windows were a little dirty. There were plenty of restaurants, produce stores, and full-size grocery store and a community library.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Although we found it quite expensive on top of the American dollar was a little less than the Canadian dollar, once we moved to this hotel we see it could have been a bit cheaper because of hotel price, cheaper parking for rental car and so much within walking distance. Lots of people rented bikes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 31, 2011

Bad experience

Except water, everything else was old and filthy. Never ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top