$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

2 stars
View map of 1 Terminal Avenue, Nanaimo, BC V9R 5R4

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
15 reviews
excelent and close to the water front

The place is very clean and the staff was was professional,but not stuffy. The adjoining restaurant... See full review

  • the good dr.paul
  • May 30, 2014
THE BEST!

This harbourside hotel couldn't have fit our needs any better. Great room, very clean, comfortable... See full review

  • Ebears Canada
  • Jan 27, 2014
Take the family on a fun-filled trip to this Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside in bustling downtown Nanaimo near the ferry with shuttle service for a small charge. Stroll the waterfront along the Nanaimo Seawall just seconds away. Enjoy the scenery at nearby Bowen Park, Newcastle Island Marine Provincial Park or Beban Park. Join in the fun at Nanaimo Aquatic Center , or at Cyber City with laser tag, go-karts and mini-golf. Stay up to date with the complimentary wireless Internet access and complimentary newspaper. Energize in the fitness facility, or cool off in the seasonal heated outdoor pool. 24-hour front desk service, copy and fax services, and complimentary car and large-vehicle parking are available. Unwind in your guest room lounging on your queen bed watching TV. Business rooms with microwave and refrigerator are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 15
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4.3
Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alexdayton
Business
seattle
Dec 7, 2014

Nanaimo

Uncomfortable beds, friendly staff, convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gramma Barbie
Business
Everett, WA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

average hotel - great restaurant

The hotel is average - the bed was very firm which I like, but my husband would have preferred something softer. No hot showers here - the water only ever got luke warm. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. The restaurant where breakfast is provided has good food, great prices, and the staff are really friendly. We visit Nanaimo often and will use this hotel again, and again, and again - you get the idea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the coupon the hotel gives you for breakfast and apply it to anything you want in the restaurant. Sunday there is a fantastic buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa ON
Aug 15, 2009

Good hotel--great location

The hotel was refurbished in 2008. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. We had two rooms, one had a fridge and one did not. The rooms were average size. It is a two storey hotel with no elevator. The pool area was surrounded by grass and had a picnic area which was a nice feature. We had the good fortune being in Nanaimo for their airshow which included the Snowbirds. The hotel is across the street from the waterfront so provided an ideal location for the event. The hotel is also close to the Departure Bay ferry terminal. The price of the room included a buffet breakfast with toast, jam, coffee or tea, scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. The hotel provided free wireless internet service available in room. The signal in my room was weak and the internet was a little slow but it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
North West Travler
Business
Sprigfield, Il, USA
Jul 24, 2009

Not horrible but nothing amazing

We stayed here just as a stop on our trip to Vancouver. We chose the hotel because of it's low price and we were familar with the chain. We were not dissapointed, we were not amazed though either. If you plan on spending a lot of time at this "HoJo" location, then you mmight find your self to become uncomfortable. If your never really going to be at the hotel and will just be using it as a place to sleep, then it's a good choice. Also, GREAT fitness center! Pretty nice pool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top