$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

2 stars
1 Terminal Avenue, Nanaimo, BC V9R 5R4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
21 reviews
excelent and close to the water front

The place is very clean and the staff was was professional,but not stuffy. The adjoining restaurant... See full review

  • the good dr.paul
  • May 30, 2014
THE BEST!

This harbourside hotel couldn't have fit our needs any better. Great room, very clean, comfortable... See full review

  • Ebears Canada
  • Jan 27, 2014
Take the family on a fun-filled trip to this Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside in bustling downtown Nanaimo near the ferry with shuttle service for a small charge. Stroll the waterfront along the Nanaimo Seawall just seconds away. Enjoy the scenery at nearby Bowen Park, Newcastle Island Marine Provincial Park or Beban Park. Join in the fun at Nanaimo Aquatic Center , or at Cyber City with laser tag, go-karts and mini-golf. Refuel with breakfast, lunch and dinner at Millstone Restaurant onsite. Stay up to date with the complimentary wireless Internet access and complimentary newspaper. Energize in the fitness facility, or cool off in the seasonal heated outdoor pool. 24-hour front desk service, copy and fax services, and complimentary car and large-vehicle parking are available. Unwind in your guest room lounging on your queen bed watching TV. Business rooms with microwave and refrigerator are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Hotel Map

49.1714 -123.9417
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Powell River BC
Aug 30, 2010

Very pleasant staff - average hotel.

We went for a get-away. The hotel was very affordable. The staff were extremely pleasant. We knew the hotel was older and in need of some updates, so no surprises here. It was actually better than expected. One downside, the dining room needed some cleaning, we brought it to their attention and nothing was done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is located near lots of shopping, you can reach it within walking distance but the major malls are just a short drive away. Everything is very easy to access.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
peterjo
b.c.
Nov 27, 2009

It was fine

As cheap hotels goes, it was quite nice. Great complementary breakfast, very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa ON
Aug 15, 2009

Good hotel--great location

The hotel was refurbished in 2008. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. We had two rooms, one had a fridge and one did not. The rooms were average size. It is a two storey hotel with no elevator. The pool area was surrounded by grass and had a picnic area which was a nice feature. We had the good fortune being in Nanaimo for their airshow which included the Snowbirds. The hotel is across the street from the waterfront so provided an ideal location for the event. The hotel is also close to the Departure Bay ferry terminal. The price of the room included a buffet breakfast with toast, jam, coffee or tea, scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. The hotel provided free wireless internet service available in room. The signal in my room was weak and the internet was a little slow but it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa ON
Aug 15, 2009

Good hotel--great location

The hotel was refurbished in 2008. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. We had two rooms, one had a fridge and one did not. The rooms were average size. It is a two storey hotel with no elevator. The pool area was surrounded by grass and had a picnic area which was a nice feature. We had the good fortune being in Nanaimo for their airshow which included the Snowbirds. The hotel is across the street from the waterfront so provided an ideal location for the event. The hotel is also close to the Departure Bay ferry terminal. The price of the room included a buffet breakfast with toast, jam, coffee or tea, scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage. The hotel provided free wireless internet service available in room. The signal in my room was weak and the internet was a little slow but it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
North West Travler
Sprigfield, Il, USA
Jul 24, 2009

Not horrible but nothing amazing

We stayed here just as a stop on our trip to Vancouver. We chose the hotel because of it's low price and we were familar with the chain. We were not dissapointed, we were not amazed though either. If you plan on spending a lot of time at this "HoJo" location, then you mmight find your self to become uncomfortable. If your never really going to be at the hotel and will just be using it as a place to sleep, then it's a good choice. Also, GREAT fitness center! Pretty nice pool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
North West Travler
Sprigfield, Il, USA
Jul 24, 2009

Not horrible but nothing amazing

We stayed here just as a stop on our trip to Vancouver. We chose the hotel because of it's low price and we were familar with the chain. We were not dissapointed, we were not amazed though either. If you plan on spending a lot of time at this "HoJo" location, then you mmight find your self to become uncomfortable. If your never really going to be at the hotel and will just be using it as a place to sleep, then it's a good choice. Also, GREAT fitness center! Pretty nice pool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Israel
Jun 19, 2009

Bad smell

No elevator so we ask a room in the first floor and we got one with a bad smell. Free Wi-Fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Regina
Sep 29, 2008

Excellent location

The best kept secret of this hotel is its location, adjourning the harbour with the walking trail ending/starting at the bottom of the parking lot. The room was also very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay was overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Your walk along the gorgeous waterfront harbour starts at the parking lot of the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Regina
Sep 29, 2008

Excellent location

The best kept secret of this hotel is its location, adjourning the harbour with the walking trail ending/starting at the bottom of the parking lot. The room was also very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay was overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Your walk along the gorgeous waterfront harbour starts at the parking lot of the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grany Annie
Seattle, WA
Aug 16, 2007

Great for taking walks along the waterfront

This is an older hotel but it is kept up and is clean and comfortable. A short walk across the parking lot and you are on the waterfront with a park and playground nearby and beautiful scenery of the mountain, water, ferries, sea planes and boats. There is good dining and shops along the walkway and the town is just steps away. A casino is also withing walking distance. This is a great location if you like to take day trips or just stay and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A Pub is just across the street and serves the best Hamburgers. On the waterfront is a great restaurant that serves seafood and is within walkin distance.

Back to menu Return to top