$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

2 stars
1 Terminal Avenue, Nanaimo, BC V9R 5R4
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
21 reviews
excelent and close to the water front

The place is very clean and the staff was was professional,but not stuffy. The adjoining restaurant... See full review

  • the good dr.paul
  • May 30, 2014
THE BEST!

This harbourside hotel couldn't have fit our needs any better. Great room, very clean, comfortable... See full review

  • Ebears Canada
  • Jan 27, 2014
Take the family on a fun-filled trip to this Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside in bustling downtown Nanaimo near the ferry with shuttle service for a small charge. Stroll the waterfront along the Nanaimo Seawall just seconds away. Enjoy the scenery at nearby Bowen Park, Newcastle Island Marine Provincial Park or Beban Park. Join in the fun at Nanaimo Aquatic Center , or at Cyber City with laser tag, go-karts and mini-golf. Refuel with breakfast, lunch and dinner at Millstone Restaurant onsite. Stay up to date with the complimentary wireless Internet access and complimentary newspaper. Energize in the fitness facility, or cool off in the seasonal heated outdoor pool. 24-hour front desk service, copy and fax services, and complimentary car and large-vehicle parking are available. Unwind in your guest room lounging on your queen bed watching TV. Business rooms with microwave and refrigerator are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Hotel Map

49.1714 -123.9417
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wagonwoody
Business
Port Hardy BC
Feb 13, 2013

Good Value

My experience was great. I was welcomed by a very polite lady at the front desk. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the good dr.paul
Business
Williams Lake,BC
May 30, 2014

excelent and close to the water front

The place is very clean and the staff was was professional,but not stuffy. The adjoining restaurant had great food at very reasonable price. I will stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ebears Canada
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 27, 2014

THE BEST!

This harbourside hotel couldn't have fit our needs any better. Great room, very clean, comfortable beds. Free coffee, bottled water in room. fridge for our convienience. Fabulous restaurant with AMAZING clam chowder. Nothing fancy here, just good quality at an amazing price. Friendly, helpful staff as well. We will return and stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great CLAM CHOWDER in the Milestone Dining room!

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shannon Always Travels
Nanaimo, BC
Apr 2, 2013

Rundown hotel in a sketchy pocket of town

This hotel has a bit of false advertising. We travel on a budget, as my partner is an artist and this one was booked in a pinch. It was fine...but not much else. The bed was so uncomfortable and the location was right beside the bus depot and liquor store. I didn't sleep too well that night; fearing that our car would be broken into. It's walking distance to the start of downtown and the water but this hotel needs a major upgrade to make it worth anything. Felt scared with the types of people lingering around. The one plus was the friendly staff but that wouldn't be enough to bring me back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wagonwoody
Business
Port Hardy BC
Feb 13, 2013

Good Value

My experience was great. I was welcomed by a very polite lady at the front desk. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gramma Barbie
Everett, WA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

average hotel - great restaurant

The hotel is average - the bed was very firm which I like, but my husband would have preferred something softer. No hot showers here - the water only ever got luke warm. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. The restaurant where breakfast is provided has good food, great prices, and the staff are really friendly. We visit Nanaimo often and will use this hotel again, and again, and again - you get the idea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the coupon the hotel gives you for breakfast and apply it to anything you want in the restaurant. Sunday there is a fantastic buffet.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
port coquitlam ,BC
Feb 5, 2011

Howard Johnson - Nanaimo Harbourside

hotel was dated but clean. 2 floors but no elevator restaurant only open for breakfast. for the price not a bad deal close to old downtown nanaimo along sea wall. quite a few pubs and bistros within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
port coquitlam ,BC
Feb 5, 2011

Howard Johnson - Nanaimo Harbourside

hotel was dated but clean. 2 floors but no elevator restaurant only open for breakfast. for the price not a bad deal close to old downtown nanaimo along sea wall. quite a few pubs and bistros within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lynnwood, WA
Sep 13, 2010

Good location

The nice surprise was, we recieved a complemenaty breakfast every morning at the Hotel Restaurant. Walking along the waterfront into town is enjoyable and the view spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of little and interesting shops in town. You just have to go inside to check them out.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lynnwood, WA
Sep 13, 2010

Good location

The nice surprise was, we recieved a complemenaty breakfast every morning at the Hotel Restaurant. Walking along the waterfront into town is enjoyable and the view spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of little and interesting shops in town. You just have to go inside to check them out.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Powell River BC
Aug 30, 2010

Very pleasant staff - average hotel.

We went for a get-away. The hotel was very affordable. The staff were extremely pleasant. We knew the hotel was older and in need of some updates, so no surprises here. It was actually better than expected. One downside, the dining room needed some cleaning, we brought it to their attention and nothing was done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is located near lots of shopping, you can reach it within walking distance but the major malls are just a short drive away. Everything is very easy to access.

Back to menu Return to top