$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Hotel Arts

4 stars
119 - 12 Avenue SW, Calgary, AB T2r0G8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
12 reviews
Night out with the wife

Room was large, clean and the bed was very nice. Only wish the wifi was free. Note: the pool is in... See full review

  • SM the traveler
  • Jun 30, 2014
great hotel

Great service, location, food and overall experience. See full review

  • clee14
  • Aug 31, 2013
The hotel is a 185-room, full-service boutique hotel. For business or pleasure, the hotel offer you a travel experience of luxury, art, service, and cuisine. For business, Hotel Arts boasts an expanded conference and meeting facility, as well as acclaimed banquet services. Intuitive service, attention to every detail, inspiring art collections and award-winning menus make them one of the city's most unique event venues.

Hotel Map

51.0415 -114.0638
Area served
Hotel Arts is steps away from the Calgary Saddledome (Flames, Rouchnecks and the Calgary Stampede), 17th Ave (The Red Mile), and Stephens Avenue (boutique shopping and dining strip).
Nearby airports
Calgary International Airport (YYC)
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Calgary, the hotel is steps away from the city's emerging arts and entertainment district and vibrant business centre. Hotel Arts places you on the red carpet of fabulous shopping, theatre, spas, dining, convention facilities and the world-famous Calgary Stampede.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Arts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Arts Rooms

Standard Hotel
2 queen beds with Simmons Pillow Top Mattresses, cotton-rich linens, and goosedown duvets with triple-sheeted duvet covers. 28 square meters (300 square feet). Located in the East Wing. 42-inch wall-mounted flat-panel TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (surcharge). Desk. Cordless phone. Clock radio with CD player. Microwave on request. Bathroom with rain shower and pedestal sink. Bathrobes. Aveda bath products.
Luxury Hotel
2 queen beds. Simmons pillowtop mattresses, triple-sheeted cotton/linen bedding with down comforters and duvet covers. Extra pillows. Private balcony with city or pool view. 32.5 square meters (375 square feet). Desk. 42-inch wall-mounted flat-screen TV. Premium cable channels and pay movies. Wireless and wired Internet access (surcharge). Cordless phone. Clock radio with CD player. Bathroom with rain shower and pedestal sink. Bathrobes. Aveda bath products. Microwave on request.
Luxury Hotel
1 king bed. Simmons pillowtop mattress, triple-sheeted cotton/linen bedding with down comforter and duvet cover. Extra pillows. Private balcony with city or pool view. 32.5 square meters (375 square feet). Desk. 42-inch wall-mounted flat-panel TV. Premium cable channels and pay movies. Wired and wireless Internet access (surcharge). Cordless phone. Clock radio with CD player. Bathroom with rain shower and pedestal sink. Bathrobe. Aveda bath products. Microwave on request.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Calgary Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Pengrowth Saddledome: 0.6 mi

Dining

Raw Bar
Raw Bar at Hotel Arts features Pacific-Rim influenced cuisine in a contemporary lounge-style setting. Chef Duncan Ly and his team display their talents at a chef-attended action station where Crab and Mango Rolls, Tuna Tataki and the Seafood Platter reign supreme. Raw Bar is also popular for a wide range of other exotic dishes including Togorashi Spiced Squid, Pad Thai, Queen Charlotte Halibut Salad, and Thai Lobster Bisque.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Arts Event Planning Team is passionate about transforming ordinary events into extraordinary experiences. For wedding receptions, gala fundraisers, training sessions, board meetings or a private poolside fashion show-their creative spaces, sumptuous cuisine and attention-to-detail make the smallest or largest events seamless and inspired. Hotel Arts offers an array of dedicated function spaces that can accommodate groups of varied sizes, from intimate gatherings of 10 up to gala dinners for 200 to 600. The 9500 sq ft Spectrum Ballroom is perfect for hosting larger events, with the adjacent exotic poolside patio often used as a refreshing retreat for pre- or post-event gatherings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Arts

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdmGuy
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Jul 10, 2014

Great

Likes this place a lot great staff. food in Resto is very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SM the traveler
Calgary
Jun 30, 2014

Night out with the wife

Room was large, clean and the bed was very nice. Only wish the wifi was free. Note: the pool is in a fish bowl so you had better like showing off your stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdmGuy
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Jun 29, 2014

A Pleasant Stay

I had stayed when they first opened years ago and dreaded staying again, but things have improved. Pros: Staff are very good and well trained, room was nice but bath/shower hard to get in and out of you have mobility concerns, the small put adequate breakfast buffet was very nice. Cons: No business centre or free wifi. Wifi should be free as this days it is more than norm and considered a basic service in the room rate. No bottled water in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel14
New York, NY
Mar 30, 2014

Nice Hotel

Hotel was in a good location, easy to access restaurants and bars and coffee shops. No problems with this stay, and easy to park the car in their covered parking for $10 per night (though there is uncovered public parking 1 block away for $5).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Super Wiz
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 24, 2014

Dissapointed

Rooms were not clean, room service took forever, staff wasn't that friendly , and the showers were the worst I have ever had due to the harsh water pressure. Overall, I wasn't happy and I wont be staying again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Saltlik is an amazing steakhouse. Met grill has a fun atmosphere and has good food.

Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clee14
UK
Aug 31, 2013

great hotel

Great service, location, food and overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Some guy from comic expo
Edmonton, AB
Apr 29, 2013

Great Location!

This hotel is the perfect location for anyone that is going to Calgary for something downtown. You can walk everywhere that you would need to get to. This was a great location for getting to BMO centre. (about 10min walk) If we needed to get food, the Sunterra market was 5min away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

5 blocks south to great nightlife (17 ave)

Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tasmania, Australia
Jul 8, 2011

We loved it

One night in Calgary at the end of a lovely 4 week holiday in Canada & what a treat to stay at the Arts Hotel. From checkin service was fantastic, friendly, efficient and helpful.Staff service was a highlight both at checkin and in Raw Bar - helpful, cheeful, friendly just great. The location suited perfectly with an easy walk into centre of town and access to CT train. The bonus upgrade topped it all off. Well done staff at the Arts Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, Arizona
Jun 7, 2011

Modern style hotel

The location of the hotel was very good-close to Telus Convention Center-restaurants-shops-walking distance. The bed was soooo uncomfortable. I woke up with back pain. Another thing, the hotel charges extra $150.00 "deposit" just in case you trash the hotel room..that is what the manager told me...that made me wonder???...mmmm. I wanted to pay cash but was told cash was not accepted ONLY CREDIT CARDS...interesting??? I noticed during my stay there are a lot of younger people...there are 3 bars around the hotel that is nice and hip, but it is not good when you want to sleep...a lot of socialization, noisy-car tires shrieking, yelling,etc. especially if you need to get up early. I will be picking a quieter and older environment next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Arts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron Liboiron
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Apr 10, 2010

Hotel Arts Review

Well, me and a very good friend, we decided that for her birthday, we would have a stay away from home. :) So we turned to Hotel Arts. And it is by far, the best decision I have made in a very long time. When I got there, the staff was courteous, I had a convenient early check in, which was very speedy as opposed to other hotel chains that I've stayed at. There was one blip throughout the night. But that was completely understandable (Amenities sent to the room that we did not qualify for, we returned it out of grace). The room was perfect, it was comfy, clean, very affordable. I would definitely choose this hotel chain again, based on how flexible the staff was. Very simple to get in, and out. :) I love this hotel chain. <3 The ONE downside, was that the walls were not completely sound proofed. So there was outside chatter entering the room. But it was nothing that we just ignored it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search