$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Days Inn - Calgary South

2 stars
3828 Macleod Trail S., 36th Ave/ Macleod Trail, Calgary, AB T2G 2R2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
17 reviews
clean stay

as expected. reasonable hotel experience for price point. very positive experience at the front... See full review

  • everculin
  • Sep 20, 2013
Great place and great value

We stayed at the Days Inn Calgary south for three days. During this visit, the staff were pleasant... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 26, 2008
Low rates and LRT convenience make this a great, budget-saving choice
The Days Inn Calgary South offers comfortable rooms for a great price, and is only steps away from the nearest light rail station for immediate access to all of downtown Calgary. The immense Chinook Centre Mall, Calgary Stampede Park and the Calgary Zoo are all nearby, offering three great ways to spend a fun-filled day. On-site, the Days Inn Calgary South invites guests to enjoy the fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub. Stop into the Atlantic Trap and Gill for Canadian cuisine in a relaxed setting. The Daybreak Cafe serves breakfast daily.
Highlights
  • Heated pool
  • Live music every weekend at the Atlantic Trap and Gill
  • Free parking
Rooms
All the basics are covered, plus a few extras, in the comfortable guest rooms and suites at the Days Inn Calgary South. Large televisions with cable and video games, free high-speed Internet, and complimentary coffee and tea service come standard. Suites offer upgraded amenities, additional space, refrigerators, microwaves and toasters.
Features

Utilize the free parking and leave the car behind to explore nearby downtown Calgary via the easy-to-use light rail transit system, only steps from the Days Inn Calgary South. Calgary Stampede, Chinook Centre Mall, the Calgary Zoo, and Talisman Centre for Sport and Wellness are also close by and easy to get to from the hotel. The Botanical Gardens and the Prehistoric Park, also nearby, offer two unique ways to spend an enjoyable day.

If the plan is to stay on-site, make a splash in the heated, indoor, pool, or kick back and relax for a while in the hot tub. Weekends are a particularly good time to be at the Days Inn Calgary South because there is live music at the Atlantic Trap and Gill. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast any day of the week.
Transportation
  • Light rail station (next door)
  • Calgary International Airport (8.1 mi/13.1 km)
Attractions
  • Calgary Stampede Park Grounds (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Chinook Centre Mall (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Calgary Tower (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Calgary Zoo (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Prince's Island Park (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Inquire about rooms with work stations and computers
  • Meeting rooms available
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn - Calgary South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Pengrowth Saddledome: 1.3 mi
  • Calgary Tower: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn - Calgary South

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
everculin
Business
calgary, ab, canada
Sep 20, 2013

clean stay

as expected. reasonable hotel experience for price point. very positive experience at the front desk when I asked for a late check out. only complaint was that there was no parking stalls left one of the nights because of a wedding going on in the hotel. very inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Calgaryvisit
Business
New Jersey
Jun 22, 2013

abcded

I will never stay in this hotel. Not worth for money I spent. Staff are very un professional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carlo C
Business
Vienna, Austria
May 12, 2013

Decent but not a three star

I have been to quite a few hotels before (due my job at least 5 times a month) and I have seen all sorts of different styles. This hotel however might officially have three stars, but the basic facilities definetly do not give the impression to be worth anything more than 2 stars. We were located on the third floor, window to the back side, so facing the underground, which was good enough, but the level. Of noise from the air conditioning itself was such that you heard nothing else. The lighting and general sense of spaciousness was lost due the very few and dim fixed lights, the small window and the very dark and monotonous colours of the room (beige walls and dark brown floor and bed covers). On top of that the breakfast was quite limited and the lack of attentiveness of the staff in the hotel restaurant (originally not part of the hotel at all) gave a general impression of a very 'improvised' buffet-breakfast. However the location was not too far from the underground, getting to the city was still not as smooth and easy going as from other same-style, equally described hotels. Overall a bad impression, would probably not go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

One underground stationaway from chinook shopping centre, however the underground station was closed and the shuttle bus took up to 12 minutes for the drive and you still had to walk to and from both stations quite a bit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
African Tintin
Business
Jackson, MS
Feb 20, 2013

Highly Recommended

The hotel staff were very helpful and extremely accomodating. I was suppose to have checked out by 11 AM and I ended up checking out a little after 12 noon. But, I was not charged extra for checking out late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
iErin75
Business
Canada
Sep 12, 2012

WORST HOTEL EVER

Days Inn Calgary South - WORST HOTEL EVER!! I booked a KING suite room and was given a dirty DOUBLE BED room. The bedding had stains, our view was a white sheet of glass full of streaks and finger prints. Our bathroom sink took forever to drain, beds were small and someone PEED by the pop machine on the morning we checked out. We were charged the rate of a king room and Rafal at the front desk wouldn't give us any discount for the standard room we had or for the dirtiness of the room. I've tried seeking resolution from Rio Marcon Front Desk Manager but he refuses to give a refund for the difference between a king suite room which I paid for and the dumpy double bed room I was given, he won't give any refund for the uncleanliness of the room either. He only offered a complimentary night in his same terrible hotel...and why would I want to go back there? We weren't the only people who were at the front desk complaining about our room. BE WARNED - Dirty rooms and staff who don't care about anything but getting your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
White Salmon Dad
Business
White Salmon, WA
Aug 16, 2012

Good, clean, stopover

I stayed here with my wife and four kids. The room was small (only two double beds), but clean and in good order. The staff was helpful and the continental breakfast was above average for a hotel of this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squinty
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Great get away spot

Had a great time and Calgary and did not have to worry about the accomedations one bit... Thanks for the wonderful weekend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Jul 22, 2010

Not as good as advertised!

The only good thing about the hotel was the receptionist we met the first day. She really did her best to help us out. Otherwise the beddings were not very clean, there was a lamp with a completely broken shade in the room which we asked to be taken out and it was not done until we asked again on the second day. There was a fat chunk of gum which someone had chewed and left on the chair. The internet connection which is so publicised just did not work. The exercise room was not very clean and the garbage had not been takenout forever. The treadmill was extremely old! The breakfast was a big mess. I am never going back there even for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the mountians and lakes in Banff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Been to dirty Day's and survived
Business
Golden, CO
Sep 16, 2009

I survived dirty Days Calgary

If we hadn't pre-paid we wouldn't have stsyed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blind Beggars Pub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn - Calgary South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Jun 8, 2009

Good value

It's hard to take time and enjoy a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great steak at Keg's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top