$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

3 stars
1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, AB T2R 1B6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
8 reviews
Superb Christmas Getaway for the family

We went to Clagary for a Christmas family reunion. Our suite was perfect providing a bedroom for... See full review

  • LizandJoe
  • Dec 30, 2013
short business trip

the hotel was exactly what i needed, quiet, comfortable and great location! See full review

  • diegofuego
  • Sep 9, 2014
This hotel in downtown Calgary offers the best location for travelers looking to sample everything stunning that Alberta can dish up. Lodging in Calgary comes in many shapes and sizes, but you deserve a spacious suite with an unbeatable price tag. Suites Hotel in Calgary caters to every guest to ensure the best in quality, comfort and service. Our downtown location is just one of many reasons why so many guests return year after year. Suites with kitchenettes or a full kitchen, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a complimentary breakfast are a few added perks. Enjoy the most important meal of the day on us. Sizzling hot waffles and eggs, yogurt and cereal, flaky pastries, fresh fruits and 100% Arabica coffee is the only way to start your morning at this Calgary hotel. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, restaurants, museums, art galleries and malls are all near our spacious Calgary hotel. Annual events abound, like the Stampede that takes place right in the neighborhood. Looking to save even more money? We have special packages and holiday deals so that you and the family can travel in style. This Calgary hotel is also the gateway to Banff National Park, Lake House, and Jasper of the Rocky Mountains. Nature lovers are in paradise. Breathe in that fresh mountain air or spend the day enjoying the sprawling lake. Excellent rates mean that you can even spend a couple of extra days enjoying your new favorite getaway. A preferred choice for business travelers among hotels in Calgary; the meeting room space of this Calgary hotel is high tech for all of your needs. Whether you're in town with one of the government offices, banking, energy, or oil and gas companies, you'll see just how easy it is to turn a business trip into an unforgettable experience. Book a fantastic suite at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown and feel free to spread out and stay awhile!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,KITCHENETT,HISPD,TV25IN,DESK,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,KITCHETTE,HISPD,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,KITCHENETTE,HISPD,COFMKR,HAIR,IRON,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN
SUITE-1 KING 1 QUEEN,NSMK,FULL KITCHEN,SOFBED,HI SPEED,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HISPD,SOFABED,MICRO,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED
SUITE-1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HISPD,SOFABED,MICRO,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MOBACC,HISPD,MICRFG,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,EXECUTIVE RM,HI SPEED,MICRFG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Calgary Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Pengrowth Saddledome: 1.3 mi

Dining

Red's Diner
0.20 kilometer(s) from Red's Diner, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, Great breakfast/lunch, liberal atmosphere
Buon Giorno Ristorante
0.20 kilometer(s) from Buon Giorno Ristorante, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Metropolitan Grill
0.10 kilometer(s) from Metropolitan Grill, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, International/Fusion, great rooftop patio
Rics Grill
0.05 kilometer(s) from Rics Grill, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner, Steakhouse/International, patio
Melrose Place
0.20 kilometer(s) from Melrose Place, Full Service, International, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Bar and Restaurant, Great Patio, Popular night spot
Cafe Beano
0.20 kilometer(s) from Cafe Beano, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, Great locally owned and operated coffee shop; liberal atmosphere
Gnocchi's Ristorante
0.50 kilometer(s) from Gnocchi's Ristorante, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Italian/Seafood, patio
Brewsters
0.20 kilometer(s) from Brewsters, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, Great Selection of Beer, outdoor patio
Kyoto 17
0.30 kilometer(s) from Kyoto 17, Full Service, Japanese, Open for: lunch, dinner, Sushi
Nellies
0.20 kilometer(s) from Nellies, Cafe, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, Great Breakfast! Outdoor patio

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diegofuego
Business
vancouver
Sep 9, 2014

short business trip

the hotel was exactly what i needed, quiet, comfortable and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ox and angela

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colorado couple 2014
Business
Colorado
Jun 26, 2014

Calgary vacation

Very nice location. Clean room and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moderation in all
Business
Charleston, SC
May 5, 2014

Good downtown hotel

The hotel is centrally located, has good parking facilities and clean, spacious rooms. I travel a lot, and was well satisfied with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor1111
Business
Denver, Colorado
Mar 20, 2014

Great hotel!

I truly enjoyed my stay at Best Western. The hotel has a great location and very friendly staff. The hotel is located in a residential area, very close to Downtown Core and steps to a really cool Uptown district. My room was very nice, clean, comfortable, and had a fantastic view to Downtown. I’d definitely stay here again. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizandJoe
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Dec 30, 2013

Superb Christmas Getaway for the family

We went to Clagary for a Christmas family reunion. Our suite was perfect providing a bedroom for us, another for our son and the opportunity for someone else on the pull-out couch in the living room. Although we didn't use the kitchen much, it was so well equipped we could have stayed for quite a while and cooked our meals. Three TV's so everyone could watch their own programs. The staff was super helpful and the provided breakfast had everything you could want to start your day off well. Location was great, just 2 blocks from 17th Street restaurant district as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is in the middle of the Entertainment district and just 2 blocks from 17th St restaurant strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
akg12
Business
washington
Aug 6, 2013

Not worth the hassel!

This place is a nightmare! I have spent the last 3 days in a mess of phone calls between my bank and the hotel with no progress. They double charged me for their deposit of $250 after I already paid $180 for my stay! They refuse to give a reciept or release these charges from a hold because they are "paperless". I have been dropped with over $650 in charges after checking out! Management is unwilling to help and very rude! I will NEVER stay in another best western! Worst experience ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iristravelgirl
Business
Rossland, B.C.
May 13, 2012

perfect base for business

I had to spend a whole week in Calgary on business and found this hotel the perfect base to reach several business partners with ease. Rooms were comfy and I enjoyed the use of the fridge. Good breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the road from the hotel is a coffee shop that turns into a wine bar at night with some life music on weekends

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
t-jay
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Aug 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Its located in downtown Calgary and a little hard to find. Maybe the signage needs to be bigger. The elevators are very small and often slow. But we were close to the Eau Clarie market, which is where we needed to go. The breakfast was nice and there were lots of options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top