$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Spruce Grove Inn

3 stars
545 Banff Avenue, Banff, AB t1l 1b5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
10 reviews
Good hotel, poor breakfast, great value

A great price for this hotel! a little out of the way but close enough to still walk. The room was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 23, 2011
The hotel was about a 15 minute

The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from downtown which was great. The only problem we had was we... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 22, 2009
The Spruce Grove Inn, built in 2003 beside the Banff Voyager Inn has 120 spacious well-appointed non-smoking guestrooms all with air-conditioning and individual climate controls, coffee/tea makers, hair dryers, cable TV and high-speed internet. The Spruce has secure underground heated parking and secure ski/board storage. It is connected to the Banff Voyager Inn via an underground walkway. The Spruce Grove Inn offers affordable luxury at its finest and shares services and amenities with its sister property next door the Banff Voyager Inn.

Hotel Map

51.1849 -115.5581
Area served
Banff
Nearby airports
(YBA), 1.00, MI; (YYC), 141.00, KM;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Spruce Grove Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Spruce Grove Inn Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
2 QUEEN BEDS, ROOMS MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE A VIEW. 27 TV, COFFEE/TEA STATION, NO BALCONY

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Spruce Grove Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
calgary alberta
May 23, 2011

Good hotel, poor breakfast, great value

A great price for this hotel! a little out of the way but close enough to still walk. The room was clean, the service good, the internet free and fast, the underground parking fantastic, the pool, sauna and hot tub nice. The only downside was the included breakfast, which was disappointing. The food was cereals and dry muffins. The fruit was past it's prime and starting to get a bit odd. the croissants were fine however and I enjoyed the hot coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch at the spaghetti factory!

Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Heck
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Aug 18, 2014

Could have been better

We booked a room for four people, so we got two queen beds but it would seem they only distributed the pillows originally intended for two people in the two beds: on pillow for each person. I had to wake up early to request for more towels as well since they only had two large towels in the room. The underground parking still had all the mud and gravel from last winter's traffic. One thing positive was that they allowed us to check in one hour ahead. Free breakfast required $7.00 extra to opt for hot breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adieb
Calgary
Jun 20, 2012

No bad

Hotel is ok in general, not bad. yet it could be much better with simple touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
calgary alberta
May 23, 2011

Good hotel, poor breakfast, great value

A great price for this hotel! a little out of the way but close enough to still walk. The room was clean, the service good, the internet free and fast, the underground parking fantastic, the pool, sauna and hot tub nice. The only downside was the included breakfast, which was disappointing. The food was cereals and dry muffins. The fruit was past it's prime and starting to get a bit odd. the croissants were fine however and I enjoyed the hot coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch at the spaghetti factory!

Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lloydminster, Ab
Feb 23, 2011

Excellent room for reasonable price

The room was clean and beds were comfortable. Friendly staff and great restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jul 17, 2010

Wouldn't recommend

Only one of the two rooms was ready at check-in time.Lodge seemed to be being operated by the lodge next door. Staff seemed uncaring at both places the one in which we stayed and the one that seemed to be managing. The "buffet" breakfast was very very poor....it was held in the lodge next door. We passed on that and went to Phil's for a real breakfast. The lodge had great potential...NOT a good value for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Noah Body
Edmonton, AB
May 29, 2010

Decent, but nothing spectacular.

The hotel was average, nothing special. I have certainly stayed in much worse. It was clean, but dated. Felt like I was sleeping in a bed that was at least 20 years old.Cleanliness was good. The dripping sound from the roof of the washroom I could have done without.Biggest disappointment was arriving and the hotel didn't have my reservation through [...]. Fortunately they were able to get it sorted out the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Calgary, AB
Apr 2, 2010

Nice hotel, LONG walk to town!

The hotel was fine, but it's a long walk to downtown Banff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 22, 2009

The hotel was about a 15 minute

The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from downtown which was great. The only problem we had was we think the room needed to be fumigated as we left with some kind of bites all over us that are very itchy. Otherwise hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Glad to be home
Alberta
Feb 23, 2009

Not worth the savings

Four of us stayed in this hotel room for a recent ski trip. First off, they said my bill was 150% more than I had booked it for on this website. It took talking to 3 different people to get them to admit it was wrong and change it. Once they had admitted it was wrong, they had no workers on staff who could change the bill. We had to delay the next days activities to wait around for someone to show up and fix it. The staff were nice during the process, but firm in their stance for a while. The showers literally took 5 minutes to warm up to the point where you could use them and the location, despite being right on the strip, was so far away, you could easily find better choices closer. Having stayed in many 3 star hotels before, I would not rate this in that range. It may look very nice from the outside, but once you get into your room, it is as basic as can be. The queen size beds are easily the smallest queen I have seen. If you want to try and save every penny you can, this is a decent place to sleep. Just don't be surprised if you experience some annoyances along the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 18, 2008

Nice Stopping Place

This hotel is great if you are justing looking to get a nights sleep. Pretty basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Downtown Banff.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search