$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Banff Ptarmigan Inn

3 stars
337 Banff Avenue, Banff, AB T1L 1H8
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Good

the hotel is good, and there are many good store near hotel See full review

  • Hello Lulu
  • Jan 15, 2014
Banff Trip

Very nice hotel with amazing view of the mountains. Right smack dab in the middle of town! Would... See full review

  • daddave
  • Jul 16, 2014
A two minute walk from downtown Banff, the Ptarmigan Inn is within walking distance of many Banff attractions. Features 134 cozy hotel rooms located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff, and includes indoor hot pools, sauna and steam room, The Meatball Pizza and Pasta restaurant, the Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size meetings/receptions, complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms, heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis) and complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. A hot and cold buffet breakfast including omelet station is now included, for all room types at the Ptarmigan Inn!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banff Ptarmigan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Banff Ptarmigan Inn Rooms

Standard Room - 2 Queen
Standard Room includes 2 Queen Mountain Luxury Beds with Lobby or Atrium View, Complimentary Wifi and underground parking. Max 4 Adults per room.
Superior room - 2 Queen
Superior Room includes 2 Queen Mountain Luxury Beds with Exterior View, Complimentary Wifi and underground parking. Max 4 Adults per room.
Premium room - 1 Queen
Premium Room includes 1 Queen Mountain Luxury Bed with Great Views overlooking Banff Ave and to Rundle Mountain beyond; Gas Fireplace, Luxury bathroom complete with jetted tub, separate shower and bathrobes, Complimentary Wifi and underground parking. Max 2 Adults per room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Meatball Pizza & Pasta
The Meatball Pizza & Pasta delivers the fun experience that dining should be. The restaurant offers great Italian inspired food, attentive servers and moderate prices coupled with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Our open kitchen prepares flavourful pasta dishes, stone-hearth oven thin crust pizzas, tantalizing meat and vegetarian entrees and a variety of house made appetizers and delicious desserts!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missoula, Mt
Sep 13, 2009

Never again

We chose this hotel because of its location, room layouts and description on their website to spend the night of Sept. 10, 2009. But from the start it didn't go well. We booked the "superior" room because it offered a single queen bed with lots of extra room, a small table, an exterior view and a balcony (so we thought). The balcony was not guaranteed we knew but the implication was clearly that, if available, we would have one. After check in we parked around back and went in the rear entrance. We wondered up and down the halls looking for the virtually unmarked elevator and finally ended up lugging our bags up the back stair way to our room. Upon entering we discovered it was not at all like the layout on their web site. It had 2 beds instead of the 1 we had booked and no balcony even tho there were plenty of rooms with one available.. Our "exterior view" consisted of looking across the parking lot below at another wing of the hotel, not the view of those beautiful mountains we were expecting. And the bathroom, what a joke, was so tiny I had to almost turn sideways to close the door. We called down to the desk and told them it was a mistake, this was clearly not the "Superior" room we had paid extra for, to which they just said sorry, that's the room Orbitz booked for us, but if we wanted to pay another extra charge we could have a balcony room. We went down to the desk and showed them our booking conformation clearly showing a single queen bed and exterior view but to no avail, we were stuck. Well it was only for 1 night so we decided to make the best of it. When we went to get ice we found the second floor ice machine with an "out of order" sign on it that looked like it had been there for quite some time and since we still hadn't found the elevator, down the back stair well to get our ice. Back in the room I tried to connect to the wireless network (as advertised) to plan our next days adventure. Surprise, surprise, the network showed up but wouldn't connect. The room was rather stuffy and their version of air conditioning was a crummy little 16" fan, fortunately the window opened so we could get a bit of air. Sheesh, what else could go wrong? Later we went out and when we returned we found the back door to the parking lot locked. No problem, the room key will open it, right? Wrong! Since there is no direct route to the lobby we had to walk, not just around the hotel but the entire block to get to the lobby, which normally wouldn't be so bad except for a bad ankle. All in all it was a wonderful experience, NOT ! ! ! And to think, if they had just sucked up the extra $15 and given us what we thought we booked they could have had a happy customer and future business. Good luck to anyone taking a chance on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maria grandma
Business
canada
Sep 30, 2013

not so good is my view.

The location was great , the breakfast was good, but the staff was average, they were to busy to take time to go through the hotel with us, for example the pool area theexercise are,etc,booking a room so long in advance should be moderate to great, i had to pay extra to get a room that was better, we were offered a split room, not a good plan, my husband did not care for that arrangem,ent so went and upgrade, that is my issue, will not stay there again. molly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calmar, Alberta, Canada
May 11, 2010

A night in the hot tubs

Room was very hot and the thermostat was malfuntioning. I was told to turn the thing to "0" to stop the hot air blowing in. Sink drained was very slow. TV did not funtion. The door frames were all jimmed with broken and craked frames that had been fixed but doors did not fit well. The bed was very nice and after room had been cooled by opening the door/window % sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wilkes
Business
Tennessee
Jul 4, 2014

Needs Air Conditioning

A nice hotel that needs air conditioning before I would choose it again. Room was hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller Cho
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 6, 2014

Over priced

Room is big but pretty old and a bit smelly. No a/c need to turn the fan and windows on 24/7 and even so still smell. Parking/lobby/room is not easy to navigate and signages are not too too clear, but once you know the floor plan and this becomes less of a problem. Internet service is just a joke! I tried in-room, lobby, restaurant, and .... extemely lousy. Breakfaxt is included and is good. Overall for ~$200 a night I expect something better. Pretty disappointed and my wife is upset for the overall quality this place has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shone
Business
BC
Jul 17, 2012

A Warm Summer Night in Banff

It was a very warm night in Banff. The hotel did not have air conditioning so it was not very comfortable. We did not get much sleep because it was to warm. There was a small fan in the room but it did nothing to cool down the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
starbuck48
Business
chicago
Sep 9, 2012

Great Location

The location and indoor parking made this hotel a good experience for us. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only negative was the noise from outside - we did have our window/door open since it was a bit warm in the room. It was a holiday weekend so the noise was not unexpected, the train that rumbles thru town it also really noisy but that cannot be helped. The hotel is not airconditioned, but a small fan was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed the hot springs on a cool rainy morning, very relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
La voyageuse tranquille
Business
Montreal, Qc
Jun 25, 2013

Banff main road

Great location! But you need not to stay in the room and get out!!! Enjoy the walk around the hotel to browse and if you can get to the Gondola for a great view at the top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Saltlik Steakhouse is a no miss

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank57
Business
Red Deer, Alberta
Dec 31, 2013

Good Location!

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel, it is very conveniently located in Banff. They were, however, late to give us the room by 1 hour. The room was clean, but noisy. You can hear everybody talking in the hallway. So the late party goers coming back could wake you up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very good and interesting Sushi restaurant on Caribou St. Try it out! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time banffer
Business
Edmonton
Mar 31, 2014

Ordinary stay

The stay was ok in general. Very close to shopping which was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top