$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Banff Ptarmigan Inn

3 stars
View map of 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, AB T1L 1H8

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
27 reviews
Great location in downtown banff.

Bummer that there was no pool and WIFI is very weak in the rooms. Staff is very helpful and... See full review

  • Rams
  • Jul 8, 2015
Good stay

Overall good value and stay. Convenient location and good friendly staff. See full review

  • Victor
  • Jun 30, 2015
A two minute walk from downtown Banff, the Ptarmigan Inn is within walking distance of many Banff attractions. Features 134 cozy hotel rooms located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff, and includes indoor hot pools, sauna and steam room, The Meatball Pizza and Pasta restaurant, the Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size meetings/receptions, complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms, heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis) and complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. A hot and cold buffet breakfast including omelet station is now included, for all room types at the Ptarmigan Inn!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banff Ptarmigan Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★
$117
4.3 / 5 7 reviews
★★★
$113
3.3 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$206
3.8 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$178
3.5 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$205
4.0 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$144
3.9 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$222
4.3 / 5 14 reviews
★★★★
$167
4.3 / 5 21 reviews
★★★★
$136
3.9 / 5 32 reviews

Banff Ptarmigan Inn Rooms

Standard Room - 2 Queen
Standard Room includes 2 Queen Mountain Luxury Beds with Lobby or Atrium View, Complimentary Wifi and underground parking. Max 4 Adults per room.
Superior room - 2 Queen
Superior Room includes 2 Queen Mountain Luxury Beds with Exterior View, Complimentary Wifi and underground parking. Max 4 Adults per room.
Premium room - 1 Queen
Premium Room includes 1 Queen Mountain Luxury Bed with Great Views overlooking Banff Ave and to Rundle Mountain beyond; Gas Fireplace, Luxury bathroom complete with jetted tub, separate shower and bathrobes, Complimentary Wifi and underground parking. Max 2 Adults per room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Banff National Park: 26.8 mi

Dining

The Meatball Pizza & Pasta
The Meatball Pizza & Pasta delivers the fun experience that dining should be. The restaurant offers great Italian inspired food, attentive servers and moderate prices coupled with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Our open kitchen prepares flavourful pasta dishes, stone-hearth oven thin crust pizzas, tantalizing meat and vegetarian entrees and a variety of house made appetizers and delicious desserts!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackie2
Friends
Uk
Jul 9, 2012

Perfect for everyone

Lovely hotel,good value,great location,just would have been nice to have aircon as we was very hot in the night .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carissa A.
Single
Columbia
Aug 7, 2015

Helpful Staff, Great Breakfast, Parking Issues

Pros: 1. Friendly and helpful staff 2. Excellent complimentary breakfast 3. Clean room 4. Wonderful location 5. Great value overall Cons: 1. Horrendous parking situation (When I arrived, I was advised to park in the parking garage on the bottom level. Only after l went all the way to the ground floor, I found out that the garage was full. Both me and the car behind me had to exit the garage inclines in reverse due to the tight space. I had to park in a side lot with no main access to the hotel. There was access via a side door, which was both locked after a certain time, and required navigating a confusing maze-like path to the elevators.) 2. No AC in the room during a heat wave, only a fan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rams
Family
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Great location in downtown banff.

Bummer that there was no pool and WIFI is very weak in the rooms. Staff is very helpful and knowledgable of the area and things to do. Location is right in the downtown area which is very convenient to all shops and bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victor
Family
N/A
Jun 30, 2015

Good stay

Overall good value and stay. Convenient location and good friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joe c.
Couples
fayetteville
Apr 6, 2015

Great value

Great location. Our room was by the elevator and was noisy all night because of people coming and going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joe c.
Couples
fayetteville
Apr 1, 2015

First time in Banff

Great value. Room was too close to the elevator and too noisy during the night. The best free breakfast ever. Courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nitzomoe
Family
Calgary
Feb 19, 2015

Good place to crash

Great location and friendly staff. Definitely get a lot of value for money. In terms of luxury it's about 3 stars. Only complaint we had was that there were a couple of dried blood stains on the new sheets they had out. It was quickly resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doreen
Friends
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Great experience!

My friends and I just stayed for one night this week and were very pleased with this hotel. We didn't hear any noise in the hallways which was a plus. The windows did rattle while open due to the wind so we had to close them. The beds were super comfy but would have preferred a choice of pillows...the ones provided were very high! We would have liked a fridge and/or microwave in the room, but did appreciate a kettle and coffee pot. The hot breakfast was very good, especially having an omelette made to order! We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nitzomoe
Friends
Calgary, AB
Sep 4, 2014

Great location but cleanliness an issue

Great location, excellent amenities (including hot tub) but when we checked in the sheets had dried blood on them. Unacceptable even if the sheets were washed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller Cho
Couples
Montreal, Canada
Aug 6, 2014

Over priced

Room is big but pretty old and a bit smelly. No a/c need to turn the fan and windows on 24/7 and even so still smell. Parking/lobby/room is not easy to navigate and signages are not too too clear, but once you know the floor plan and this becomes less of a problem. Internet service is just a joke! I tried in-room, lobby, restaurant, and .... extemely lousy. Breakfaxt is included and is good. Overall for ~$200 a night I expect something better. Pretty disappointed and my wife is upset for the overall quality this place has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daddave
Family
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Jul 16, 2014

Banff Trip

Very nice hotel with amazing view of the mountains. Right smack dab in the middle of town! Would recommend to all my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top