Banff Ptarmigan Inn ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$63
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016
3.6 /5
Overall score
81%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Superior Room - View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Premium Room - Mountain View
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Room - Atrium View
  • Occupancy: 4

Overview

A two minute walk from downtown Banff, the Ptarmigan Inn is within walking distance of many Banff attractions. Features 134 cozy hotel rooms located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff, and includes indoor hot pools, sauna and steam room, The Meatball Pizza and Pasta restaurant, the Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size meetings/receptions, complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms, heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis) and complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. A hot and cold buffet breakfast including omelet station is now included, for all room types at the Ptarmigan Inn!

Dining

The Meatball Pizza & Pasta
The Meatball Pizza & Pasta delivers the fun experience that dining should be. The restaurant offers great Italian inspired food, attentive servers and moderate prices coupled with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Our open kitchen prepares flavourful pasta dishes, stone-hearth oven thin crust pizzas, tantalizing meat and vegetarian entrees and a variety of house made appetizers and delicious desserts!

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.4 / 5
$67

Inns of Banff

★★★
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$56
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$95
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$115
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$107
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$71

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Fitness center or spa

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant

Services

  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe

Internet

  • WiFi

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

3.6 /5 Overall score

81% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.6/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.1/5
  • Comfort: 3.5/5
  • Location: 4.6/5
  • Value: 3.7/5

Birthday trip

Would recommend Wed, Sep 30, 2015
We booked into a Superior Room, I would not like to have seen a standard room because ours was very basic. We thought there would have been a fridge and a safe and the mattresses were old with thin mattress toppers put on the top of them.

| aberdeen Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Sisters Mini Getaway

Would recommend Sun, Sep 6, 2015
The staff at this hotel were fantastic. Very accommodating and friendly. The location was very convenient to all the shops a restaurants. Walking distant. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Helpful Staff, Great Breakfast, Parking Issues

Would recommend Fri, Aug 7, 2015
Pros: 1. Friendly and helpful staff 2. Excellent complimentary breakfast 3. Clean room 4. Wonderful location 5. Great value overall Cons: 1. Horrendous parking situation (When I arrived, I was advised to park in the parking garage on the bottom level. Only after l went all the way to the ground floor, I found out that the garage was full. Both me and the car behind me had to exit the garage inclines in reverse due to the tight space. I had to park in a side lot with no main access to the hotel. There was access via a side door, which was both locked after a certain time, and required navigating a confusing maze-like path to the elevators.) 2. No AC in the room during a heat wave, only a fan

| Columbia Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great location in downtown banff.

Would recommend Wed, Jul 8, 2015
Bummer that there was no pool and WIFI is very weak in the rooms. Staff is very helpful and knowledgable of the area and things to do. Location is right in the downtown area which is very convenient to all shops and bus.

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good stay

Would recommend Tue, Jun 30, 2015
Overall good value and stay. Convenient location and good friendly staff.

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

First time in Banff

Would recommend Wed, Apr 1, 2015
Great value. Room was too close to the elevator and too noisy during the night. The best free breakfast ever. Courteous staff.

| fayetteville Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good place to crash

Would recommend Thu, Feb 19, 2015
Great location and friendly staff. Definitely get a lot of value for money. In terms of luxury it's about 3 stars. Only complaint we had was that there were a couple of dried blood stains on the new sheets they had out. It was quickly resolved.

| Calgary Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great experience!

Would recommend Fri, Jan 16, 2015
My friends and I just stayed for one night this week and were very pleased with this hotel. We didn't hear any noise in the hallways which was a plus. The windows did rattle while open due to the wind so we had to close them. The beds were super comfy but would have preferred a choice of pillows...the ones provided were very high! We would have liked a fridge and/or microwave in the room, but did appreciate a kettle and coffee pot. The hot breakfast was very good, especially having an omelette made to order! We would stay here again.

| N/A Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location but cleanliness an issue

Would recommend Thu, Sep 4, 2014
Great location, excellent amenities (including hot tub) but when we checked in the sheets had dried blood on them. Unacceptable even if the sheets were washed.

| Calgary, AB Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Over priced

Would not recommend Wed, Aug 6, 2014
Room is big but pretty old and a bit smelly. No a/c need to turn the fan and windows on 24/7 and even so still smell. Parking/lobby/room is not easy to navigate and signages are not too too clear, but once you know the floor plan and this becomes less of a problem. Internet service is just a joke! I tried in-room, lobby, restaurant, and .... extemely lousy. Breakfaxt is included and is good. Overall for ~$200 a night I expect something better. Pretty disappointed and my wife is upset for the overall quality this place has to offer.

| Montreal, Canada Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Banff National Park 26.8 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$63
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016