$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Rio Othon Palace

4 stars
Av. Atlantica 3264, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22070-001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
50 reviews
Ocean view better than ocean front

We were placed in a ocean front room with a spectacular view but the most horrible furnishings. We... See full review

  • Chestwin
  • Apr 19, 2013
location location location

great time.....great location.. the hotel is right by the beach and has a area on the beach for all... See full review

  • leo perry
  • Nov 15, 2011
Facing Copacabana Beach, the Rio Othon Palace offers its guests far more than a privileged view of one of the world's loveliest and most famous shorelines. Nearby to famous symbols of the Marvelous city, such as the Sugar Loaf and the Statute of Christ the Redeemer at Corcovado peak, the Rio Othon Palace hotel is close to another famous beach: Ipanema, with its golden girls and eye catching fashions.

IMPORTANT: Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court, in case of travelling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them.

Hotel Map

-22.9777 -43.1889
Area served
Rio de Janeiro
Nearby airports
GIG - Galeao International Airport and SDU - Santos Dumont Airport
Area description
Located three miles from Santos Dumont Airport and fifteen miles from Galeao International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rio Othon Palace also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Rio Othon Palace Rooms

Studio
Rooms include one double bed, equipped with air conditioning, Cable TV, minibar and safe. Private bathroom includes amenities. Wi-Fi available with aditional cost.
Superior Premium Ocean Front
Ocean Front modern and renovated room. One double bed or two twin beds. Balcony. Located on floors 13-20. 35 square meters. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Cable TV. Minibar. Air conditioning. In-room safe. Working desk
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Rooms include one double or twin beds and are projected to satisfy you. All rooms are equipped with telephone with two lines and answering machine, remote control color TV with international channels, safe, mini bar, AM FM radio, air conditioning, 24 hour room service, hair dryer, laundry and dry cleaning.
Superior Premium Partial Ocean View
Modern and renovated room. One double bed or two twin beds. Balcony. Partial ocean view. Located on floors 13 to 20. 25 square meters (625 square feet). Multi line phone with voice mail. Cable TV. Minibar. Air conditioning. In room safe. Working desk

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.8 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 0.9 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.4 mi
  • Leme: 1.7 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.5 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.7 mi
  • Urca: 2.8 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3 mi
  • Flamengo: 3.1 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.5 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.8 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 0.9 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.4 mi
  • Leme: 1.7 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.5 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.7 mi
  • Urca: 2.8 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3 mi
  • Flamengo: 3.1 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.5 mi
  • Gavea: 3.6 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Lona Cultural: 4.2 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 4.4 mi
  • Passeio Público: 4.7 mi
  • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 4.8 mi
  • Quinta da Boa Vista: 5.1 mi
  • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Santa Teresa Tram: 5.3 mi
  • Maracana stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Central do Brasil: 5.4 mi
  • Avenida Rio Branco: 5.4 mi
  • Teatro carlos gomes: 7.7 mi
  • Botafogo praia shopping: 8 mi
  • Norte shopping: 8.4 mi
  • Shopping tijuca: 8.7 mi
  • Marina da gloria: 10.4 mi
  • Barra Shopping: 11 mi
  • Carioca shopping: 11.7 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 13.4 mi
  • Riocentro: 14.1 mi
  • Shopping grande rio: 16.9 mi
  • Shopping bangu: 18.5 mi
  • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 18.7 mi

Dining

Skylab Restaurant
On the 30th floor, hotel offers a real Gourmet Center, where you can try the international cuisine and a delicious feijoada, the typical Brazilian dish every Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Rio Othon Palace

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 50
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArialNV
Reno, NV
Oct 27, 2012

would stay here again!

Overall, really enjoyed the hotel. The staff was excellent and dealt with my very grumpy travelling companion quite well. The front desk area is a little confusing with regards as to which line you check-in at & which you check-out at, so try not to get frustrated. We had a standard room with 2 twin beds with an ocean view on the 19th floor. Room was small but nicely refurnished, bathroom was nice with good water pressure in the shower and the view was unbelievable! Breakfast was good, lots of fruit, breads and the standard eggs & potatoes. WIFI is available but it costs $30 Real per day ($15 US) for each gadget you use it on- so if you want to use the WIFI on your phone & laptop its $60 Real/day. Lots of security throughout the hotel and the police are outside pretty much all day long- feels very safe. Beach chairs & umbrellas are free through the hotel across the street. They have a limited number so if you get there and they're out just wait and when some open up the attendants will find you. I saw quite a few bad reviews for this hotel, I'm not sure what they expected but I thought this hotel was great. Clean, nicely redone, great location, wonderful staff. After checking out a couple of the other hotels along Ave. Atlantica, I don't think I'd want to stay somewhere else if I came back to Copacabana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

You get your towel on the sub floor- 1S; and only 1 side of the elevators get to all of the floors including 1S and 30.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nadir Khan
Manchester, England
Jun 13, 2012

Amazing Holiday in Rio

The location of the hotel was perfect, rigth in the middle of all Copacabana, facing the Ocean. Short walk away from Ipanema and other beaches in Rio. The staff were very helpful and friendly, from our first day to the day we left. We had a room on the 27th Floor facing Sugar Loaf Mountain, which was amazing. The room service was very good and efficient. The security was excellent. The hotel offers excursions, but should you wish to use the local transport system for you excursions, they were very helpful. The concierge spoke good english and provided us with any information we needed, for shoping, public transport, nightlife etc. We would definately stay in this hotel again, and would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic seafood restaurant just around the corner from Rio Othon Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim J.
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Othon Palace - GREAT View!

We spent the extra dough for the ocean front and it was fabulous! The professional staff was great! The room was so so. Hot water was gone for a few hours and it was hard to get a straight answer as to why or when it would be restored. Watch out for wifi! They charge a daily arm and a leg for it. $20 US I think. Concierge was absolute TOPS! Location is a-ok too. Local service businesses surround the hotel including a fair currency exchange. Would we go back? The cost is pretty high and except for the view,concierge and location the hotel was average. Maybe so, maybe not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acceptable restaurants within three blocks any direction!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Japan
Mar 7, 2011

good location but...

good location to go to beach,people were kind. but there were a lots of ants in our room. we didnt open the door but everytime and everywhere. bathroom, bed, table, window.... a lil bit sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

and nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 25, 2010

Rio Othon Review (October 2010)

The location is great on Copacabana Beach, and I stayed there many times before, but on this last trip, I ran into a very disturbing problem. A friend came to visit and valeted the car. We called ahead to pick it up but when we did, there was a parking ticket. The valet parked it on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. When we raised the issue to the hotel manager, he admitted that it was their fault but they are refusing to take responsibility. When we pursued the matter further, they referred us to their lawyer. Now my friend either has to accept the driving points (penalty) or take the matter to court. I feel terrible. A bigger concern for anyone reading this review is that it appears this particular hotel won't take responsibility for their mistakes, so if you stay there, you better hope that everything is perfect. If a mistake of theirs causes a problem for you, don't expect them to take action to fix it. They will run to their lawyers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Forte Copacabana has excellent food with a nice view of the famous beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alexander the Gay Washingtonian
Washington, DC
Aug 31, 2009

Nice and Comfortable, But Costly

The Hotel is beautiful with comfortable rooms, in a great location, and the Staff are indeed friendly. However, I did feel as though the hotel was squeezing every dollar they could from me. For example, I enjoy dining out at nice restaurants requiring nice dress codes. Of course, I need an iron! The hotel offers laundry service and pressing, but I can certainly iron my own shirts and pants. The hotel does not provide an iron/board and requires you to use their services for which they charge. I went out and bought my own iron. Also, while vacationing I like to continue my workouts. The hotel charges for the fitness center and sauna which I believe to be rediculous. I ran along the beach instead. Other services that will cost you extra are local calls and use of their wireless internet. All of the above should be included with the price of this hotel stay. Like I said, "nice and comfortable, but costly." I would recommend this to a friend but only after making them aware of these things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a great dining experience, take a short taxi ride to Rua(Street) Dias Ferreira in the Leblon area about the 200 block. There are several great restaurants there including: Quadrucci and Sushi Leblon. I ate at both of these and absolutely loved it. Another great place is Satyricon in Ipanema. Just keep in mind these are higher end restaurants in Rio, but worth it! Have the Brazilian Chandon sparkling Rose to toast the evening =)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pkr
New York, NY
Jun 18, 2009

Beachfront luxury at a discount price

We got upgraded to a better room than we paid for --the higher floor are renovated. The staff is super-professional and friendly. Most speak good Spanish and English. Breakfast bar is fantastic. The restaurant on the 30th floor is top class. The only down side was that there didn't seem to be an air-condition --or else we just couldn't find it. It didn't matter as the winter (our summer) was pretty cool and breezy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from the beach and supply beach towels and umbrellas. The Umbrella guy will also key an eye on your stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search